We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute came up trumps”
Review of Blindgate House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blindgate House
Ranked #5 of 53 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Great location a short walk from town down the hill. Great rooms with large and comfortable beds .
Everything worked well but need to upgrade to flat screen tv's after all is 2014.
Very pleasant host helpful and accommodating
Has a very comfortable guest lounge for a quiet read
Plenty of parking

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed for three nights in mid-June. The room and hospitality were excellent...comfortable, quiet, excellent breakfast. Maeve is spectacular...it was quite warm so she found a fan for our room. We asked for ice the first night, and found some every night when we arrived back. And she provided excellent advice on local attractions. If we return to Kinsale, and we'd love to, we will stay at Blindgate again. (We enjoyed that the hotel was a bit away from the town center and enjoyed the walk back each night.)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ed150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This B & B is well worth finding and like a previous reviewer, I was directionally challenged getting there. In desperation I called Maeve and she came straight out to find us! What a wonderful service. The house is spotless and in a quiet area above the town of Kinsale. It is a easy walk to all the wonderful cafes, pubs, restaurants and shops. The breakfast is above and beyond what I expected of a small b & b. There is a wide array of fruits, juices, yogurt, & home made bread to start you off, followed by a choice of cooked breakfast. Beautifully prepared and presented. We certainly didn't need any lunch!
Maeve and her staff made us feel very welcome. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Louisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We absolutely loved the two nights that we stayed with Maeve Coakley at her wonderful Blindgate House. Maeve pays attention to detail and we loved getting to know her on our stay. The rooms are amazingly large, very accommodating. Quiet and clean. What can I say? We will definitely recommend everyone to stay at Blindgate House. The building and rooms and reception, sitting area and dining room looks like it was built this year. A must stay! Only down side is if you are directionally challenged, such as me, then you will want to make sure that you get specific driving directions to her place the first day that you check in with Maeve. Thank you Maeve.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darlenehixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The hotel feels like an intimate bed and breakfast.
It's just a short nice walk to the village.
Our room was very large and quiet. The king bed was perfect, the bedding lovely, the down pillows devine!
Maeve the owner and innkeeper prepares the morning breakfast, which was delicious!
She was driving into town and even gave us a ride down the steep hill!
AND she made our dinner reservation at Fishy Fishy, which I'm sure is the best restaurant in town.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Myra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Blindgate House. The room was large, and the bathroom was ample and clean. Great shower. Breakfast was great, and the service was polite. Be warned! It is a difficult climb from the city center. My husband and I are in our 30s, and it made our legs burn going up that initial hill.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Half-Irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Blindgate House is attractive, with new, smallish rooms (compared to the other lodging we had on this trip). There is a good-sized parking lot. Breakfast was very nice. Be aware that Kinsale is VERY hilly, and Blindgate was way up the hill from the city center, where the restaurants and pubs are located. You'll get your exercise, since it isn't practical to drive.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KansanRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
2.6 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
713 reviews
0.2 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
0.2 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 53 in Kinsale
355 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pier House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blindgate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blindgate House

Address: Blind Gate House Blind Gate, Kinsale, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range: £95 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Blindgate House Hotel Kinsale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing