We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, but pricey and a few minor problems” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pier House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pier House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 55 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great place, but pricey and a few minor problems”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Pros:

Firstly, the staff was so genuinely nice! Always makin sure we were alright!

The whole house very cute, our room was decorated nicely and reminded me of a beach room! And our bed was soooo comfy! Also the room had lots of space! Bathroom not huge, but fine for Ireland.

We had a balcony and view if marina!

The location is literally right downtown, in the heart of Kinsale.


Cons:

The internet didn't work anywhere we found; not in our room and not in the breakfast room either.

The drains in both the bathroom sink and shower drained extremely slow. So it would accumulate water quickly.

Parking is across the street in a public lot that you have to pay for between the hours of 10am-6pm. So you have to load money during the day. However if you take a day trip somewhere the host offered to keep our meter running throughout the day if we left her money, very nice of her!!

Lastly, the price was steep compared to our other B&Bs throughout our trip.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    61
    14
    6
    6
See reviews for
39
128
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

After reading the many glowing reviews on Tripadvisor, we were more than a little disappointed when we arrived at the Pier House. While our room and our sons' room were decorated very stylishly, the beds were rock hard and the duvet was comically heavy ("is it filled with gold ingots?" I joked). It was warm in the room, however, we could not leave the window open as our room opened to the street and it was loud with traffic and pedestrians. The internet connection was so spotty with the only constant connection in the small library room/common area. The building is charming with hallways going this way and then that, and the garden was kept nice and was pretty. Parking was difficult to say the least, but I think that is common in Ireland. However, the other B&Bs we stayed at provided parking with your reservation. The breakfast was good, though not as good as at other places we had stayed on our Ireland road trip. There was only pump soap in our bathroom--no shampoo, no conditioner, no bar soap, no wash cloths. Luckily I had brought my own. I feel bad for saying anything negative because Ann was so generous in allowing us to cancel our second night at the Pier House due to a change in our itinerary. But honestly, this cost more than our extremely deluxe lodgings in Drogheda and Galway and was not nearly as nice. The location was very good but there are literally 30 B&Bs in that same area. We listened to wonderful trad Irish music just a few streets over, which was a highlight of our stay in Kinsale. Be sure to drive out to Charle's Fort---amazing views at this historical landmark.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, Vermont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Great location within walking distance to restaurants and shops. Friendly and welcoming. Nice porch and internet/reading room. Breakfast was awesome. Best fruit crepes I have ever had! Good recommendations for restaurants and local music. Would stay again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SCalabreseVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Great B&B in Kinsale! Ann the owner is fantastic and a great help! Perfect location in the middle of a cute seaside town in Ireland. The room was great, clean. Tiny bathrooms, but which ones are not in Europe. A little reading nook, wine room, and patio. Breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loryn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Clean, modern art on wall, quiet. Thoughtful owner. Great location, walking distance to stores & restaurants. Our room had small balcony that was nice. Would like to go back. Breakfast included. Free, safe parking across street. Short drive to Cork yet on water/harbor .

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Great location for exploring Irish, south coast town. Free parking. Hardworking owner provided clean & friendly setting for our adult family, along with great Irish breakfast. We hiked to both forts in Kinsale which takes about 45 minutes walk each way.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I stayed here for two nights with two girlfriends. Ann was just wonderful - very welcoming and her little Westie Toby was also a friendly greeter. Ann helped us carry our luggage up the stairs and then recommended restaurants and entertainment to us before leaving us for the evening. She knew exactly what she was talking about!

Our room ended up being up a flight of stairs, down a hallway and then down a flight of stairs. It wasn't the typical bed and breakfast for this reason. It felt a little more like a hotel, but much friendlier. There was a small patio outside our room and she has cozy little rooms and patios for other guests to enjoy. The inn is very close to everything so you can walk to restaurants and not worry about driving or reparking the car.

I can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatAlex11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
0.1 mi away
Actons Hotel
Actons Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#7 of 55 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#17 of 55 in Kinsale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Pier House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Pier Road, Kinsale, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Pier House b&b
Pier House Hotel Kinsale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing