We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hosts & Great Scones”
Review of Golden Gate House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Golden Gate House
Ranked #22 of 53 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We recently traveled with a party of 8, of family and friends. We stayed in a different B&B every night for 10 days, so we do have a lot of experience when it comes to comparing all of the B&B's. One B&B that really stands out is the Golden Gate House. We were warmly welcomed by our host, Carol and made to feel comfortable immediately. House was lovely and very clean. We all recommend this wonderful place for you to stay when you visit Kinsale, County Cork, Ireland. We all hope to return to Ireland again in the future and will definitely stay at the Golden Gate House.
Before I end, I have to let you know that Carol's scones were the best we ate during our trip through Ireland. Delicious!! Thanks, Carol and family. The Knight-Healy party.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
There are newer reviews for Golden Gate House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2013

This is one of the BEST B&Bs I have stayed at in Ireland - it's a close walk from the Desmond castle and church. This perfect B&B is close to some of the over priced recommended B&B on Lonely Planet but by far the better option !! The hosts are so friendly and go out of their way to help you in any way possible. The rooms are clean and very comfortable, all furniture and finishes are brand new. Breakfast is fantastic - try the waffles and scones - they are AMAZING !!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Marcello S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We stayed at this superb B&B in Kinsale for four nights and used it as a base to travel Cork county. Situated a mere three minute walk from the town centre, this B&B is centrally located, yet much more reasonably priced than the other B&Bs further along the same road. The pristine bedroom with ensuite bathroom was newly furnished and very spacious. Our hosts were so friendly and welcoming, and they gave us great tips on activities, walks in the area, and restaurant recommendations. Breakfast was scrumptious - Carol's homebaked scones and waffles were out of this world! We would've stayed longer if we had the time!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank FallonMcCann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

The owner of Olde Bakery recommended Golden Gate House to us and we had a wonderful time. The owners are warm,friendly, and very helpful.Our airline had lost our luggage and Carole helped us get our luggage. They also made wonderful recommendations for food and entertainment.The golden Gate house is about 10 minute walk from town. Our room was very neat and clean. The bed is comfortable.The food was wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LynnK28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

The owner of Olde Bakery recommended Golden Gate House to us and we had a wonderful time. The owners are very warm, friendly, and extremely helpful. Our airline had lost our luggage (over the Easter holiday no less) and Carole helped us get it immediately by working with the delivery driver. Also, they were filled with great recommendations for restaurants and pubs. Their house is by Desmond Castle, just a short (probably 5-10 min) walk to Kinsale center. The breakfasts were delicious, and there were multiple options beyond just the traditional irish breakfast. I would recommend Golden Gate House to anyone staying in Kinsale!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LauraRemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

This B7B was recommended by the owner of the Olde Bakery B & B, she kindly helped us as we were knocking on an empty building late in the day, tired, cold and looking for a B& B with rooms available. The owner came down and we followed her to the Golden Gate which is set up above the town but in easy walking distance to the town center. Very accomodating, and gracious hosts. The room was quiet and beds were comfortable. Good breakfast. The scones were wonderful!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Cédric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenGateHouse, Owner at Golden Gate House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Landfall House Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
White Lady Hotel
White Lady Hotel
#20 of 53 in Kinsale
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Old Bank House
Old Bank House
#14 of 53 in Kinsale
341 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pier House Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#12 of 53 in Kinsale
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Gate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Gate House

Address: Golden Gate House Barrack Street | Kinsale, Co. Cork, Kinsale, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing