We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Golden Gate House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Golden Gate House
Ranked #23 of 53 Kinsale B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

The Golden Gate came recommended by another B&B owner a few blocks away and it ended up being the best thing that could happen. We had two rooms for one night and they were perfect. Very clean/spacious and the beds were the most comfortable of our 7day trip in Ireland. Carol was very accommodating when I called and told her we were running late with car trouble. She welcomed the four of us and understood we were hungry and quickly gave us great restaurant recommendations. Kinsale is a beautiful town with colorful small buildings and narrow cobbled stoned roads. The Golden Gate was perfectly located up a hill, about 2 blocks from the middle of town center and had a spacious driveway for parking. Breakfast was presented beautifully and was very satisfying. Carol and her husband were very personable which helped the conversation flow natural. They even went out of their way to find us when we left a few items behind - Carol contacting me via email and her husband driving around the town looking for us. I wish we could have stayed longer.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Naishaquiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
bronxville,ny
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I really enjoyed our stay at the Golden Gate House in Kinsale. Carol was the sweetest host anyone could ask for and her husband was also very catering and informative. We were a group of four Latinas driving through the countryside and decided to stay there for our one night stay in Kinsale. The house was very clean and was centrally located for access to the town. All of the rooms had their own bathroom and the beds were very comfortable. It was located up a hill which provided a great view of the town. It also provided onsight parking instead of street side which we definitely appreciated. The breakfast was YUMMY!!!! I would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting Kinsale

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank savg1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The owners are so so nice. They were charming, informative and helpful in every way. We asked for a room for the 3 of us, but since she had an open room while we were there, they let us spread out at no extra charge. Their rooms are modern and so clean. I would say spotless!

Some reviews said this location was a ways from the town center, but we found it to be a very short and easy walk so this is a great location. I actually loved the location!

My only slightly negative comment is that we heard their family stirring around quite a bit after midnight one night which was strange since otherwise it was very peaceful here. If some minor late night noise bothers you, you might not like this place. However, I'm sure it is much more quiet and peaceful than other places in the center of town,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 9Susan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My wife and I stayed only one night....would have loved to have stayed longer. A very warm and friendly B & B. Carol was a delightful hostess and made us feel so welcome. Clean, comfortable and the breakfast was just superb. Parking in Kinsale is difficult at the best of times, so having a car parking area was a bonus. And its only a short walk to the town centre. If you are staying in Kinsale, we would highly recommend this B & B for couples or families.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Golden Gate B&B in late August of 2013 and I would definitely stay there again. We stayed in the front room which was clean, comfortable and had its own bathroom. The B&B has ample parking, is located on a quiet street and is only a five minute walk to downtown. Carol was very friendly and welcoming, prepared an excellent breakfast and gave us some great tips on what to see in the area.

We spent two relaxing nights in Kinsale after a fun but busy weekend in Dublin. We really enjoyed the Scilly Walk around the bay on our way to Charles Fort. It’s a bit of a hike so I would recommend lunch at the Bulman which is close to the fort. Favourite restaurant in Kinsale was the Shanghai Express.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim_BarrieOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

my wife and myself stayed in the Golden Gate B&B for one night on our 25th wedding annv weekend.Carol and Michael were very welcoming and friendly hosts.The room was adequately spacious for us and the bed was very comfortable.The house is less than 10 mins walk from Kinsale town and very quite through the night which makes for great sleeps.The choice of breakfasts provided by Carol was excellent in very pleasant surroundings. When in the Kinsale area again we will definitely stay at The Golden Gate B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eddie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Greeted nicely with standard accommodations but nothing special. Hosts were nice, especially Carol. Shower drain was a bit backed up, beds were not comfortable, and its a 7 min walk from the city centre. No toiletries so be sure to bring your own (towels and liquid hand soap are provided). Clean place and excellent breakfast!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvinlife520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
0.7 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
981 reviews
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#13 of 53 in Kinsale
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Joy's Accommodation
Joy's Accommodation
#48 of 53 in Kinsale
31 reviews
0.6 mi away
White Lady Hotel
White Lady Hotel
#19 of 53 in Kinsale
176 reviews
1.8 mi away
Harbour Hill Farm
Harbour Hill Farm
#10 of 53 in Kinsale
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Gate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Gate House

Property: Golden Gate House
Address: Golden Gate House Barrack Street | Kinsale, Co. Cork, Kinsale, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing