We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new favourite cafe ever!”
Review of Poets Corner

Poets Corner
Ranked #5 of 72 Restaurants in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$17
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: The Reading Cafe and Book Exchange
Cawsand, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“My new favourite cafe ever!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

3 days in kinsale, 3 trips to poets corner! Clean, light, tranquil. Fantastic friendly staff, yum cakes, delicious food, brilliant high quality second hand books. I've always wanted a second hand book shop cafe and this is exactly how I picture it! Oh yes and best chai tea I have tasted!

Helpful?
Thank alphacitrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    69
    14
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
173 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“My favourite place to eat in Kinsale”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Every time I'm in Kinsale, I make a point to stop here for lunch. The staff are friendly, the food is always fantastic and the tea choice is extensive. It's part secondhand book shop, part cafe and it's absolutely not to be missed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aoife O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Consistently Excellent”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I lived in Kinsale for the past year & this wonderful, friendly, atmospheric coffee house never failed to delight me, whether for a simple coffee, great brownie, interesting herbal tea, terrific soup, really tasty salad or deliciously fresh well balanced & attractively presented sandwich. The staff are most accommodating, always smiling, no matter how busy and nothing is too much trouble. Being surrounded by books & having the option to buy or exchange books very cheaply or simply browse in an easy chair with no pressure to leave is an added bonus. Great free WIFI too. On balance, definitely the best coffee house in town. A big thanks to Simone & Ralph for making Kinsale so pleasurable, especially in Winter.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dolomf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“"I love this place...."”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

All I can say is "I love this place". Every time I visit Kinsale I take time to chill & have a coffee in the Poets Corner Cafe. Staff are fantastic & so friendly. A must....!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paddy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
358 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Cosy spot”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Love stopping here for coffee and cake. Great choice of cakes and its a lovely cosy spot. Also love the concept of swapping books. One of my favourite little places to go to.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LoveTravelVentures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Poets Corner also viewed

Kinsale, County Cork
 

Been to Poets Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing