We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Scones; avoid stodgy, over-priced bland sandwiches.”
Review of Janey Mac - CLOSED

Janey Mac
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: A small cafe in an old building on Main Street, baking fresh on site every morning. Specialising in scones and cakes with gluten free cake options every day. Finalist in "Goodall's" Best Scone in Ireland competition 2014
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Scones; avoid stodgy, over-priced bland sandwiches.”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Excellent coffee & wonderful scones in this attractive, quirky though not always the friendliest bakehouse / coffee house. Pear & almond scones gorgeous though coffee rather overpriced. Avoid the most unattractive, bland & stodgy sandwiches. If in Kinsale, eat scones in Janey Macs & go to much friendlier Poets Corner up the street for wonderful salads, soups, tasty & lighter sandwiches, terrific brownies & great coffee too. Last Saturday in Janey Macs our sourdough doorstep sandwiches were too big to bite into & looked most unappetising but as we were really hungry we proceeded to eat with knives & forks. Dough was chewy, chicken absolutely tasteless & mozarella also tasteless & leathery & no comment was passed when my plate was removed with 2/3rds of the sandwich remaining."

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dolomf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    11
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Want good pastries while in Kinsale, Ireland?”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The scones, the jams, the lemon drizzle cake, the peppermint tea were great. The owner is the baker and she has a very friendly personality. Went there two days in a row.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MargieDell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
514 reviews
320 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“What a Gem of a Coffee Shop”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Situated in Main Street, Kinsale this sweet cute coffee shop is world famous for it's bakes, particularly it's scones.

Such a lovely spot for a stop off " far from the madding crowd"......the staff are welcoming & pleasant; the atmosphere is totally relaxing; the home baking is out of this world; browsing & staying around is encouraged by the large table of magazines & various other publications......

Yes, Kinsale at it's best, in Janey Macs.......

See ya there.....

Helpful?
Thank Marguerite W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great coffee & fab sausage rolls”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I was in Kinsale for a few days with my husband, we stumbled upon Janey Macs on our first day. We ended up going back every morning for gorgeous coffee & a treat. I loved their lemon drizzle cake & my husband is still talking about the sausage rolls!

I loved the atmosphere in Janey Macs & will definitely be paying them a visit on my next trip to Kinsale.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daphne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely little Cafe in Kinsale with very yummy treats.”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Janey Mac Cafe is a really cute little cafe in Kinsale. It's shabby chic interior along with it's friendly staff is all very welcoming. It serves some of the yummiest cakes (some gluten free options which is Fab) and scones that you will taste anywhere. But the yummiest of all for me were the sausage and black pudding rolls and because they were so good I ordered more and brought a bag of them back to Dublin where they were equally enjoyed by friends and family. I would highly recommend this cafe to anybody visiting Kinsale as it's friendly chilled out atmosphere guarantees you a very enjoyable time even if it is only for a cup of coffee - you come out of there with a smile on your face. The bonus for me is that Janey Mac my favourite Kinsale Cafe is right beside my Favourite Kinsale Italian Restaurant Bruno's. So if you are looking for the cutest little cafe in Kinsale and looking to treat yourself then Janey Macs is where you need to go. Everybody needs a Janey Mac hour in their day.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Janey Mac also viewed

Kinsale, County Cork
 
Kinsale, County Cork
Kinsale, County Cork
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing