We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ireland hospitality at it's finest”

The Black Pig Winebar
Ranked #3 of 73 Restaurants in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: McKennas' Guides Top 100 Restaurants in Ireland 2017; Georgina Campbell Best Wine Award Ireland 2014; Restaurant Association Awards Best Wine Experience Munster 2015 & Cork 2014. Set in an 18th century coach house with a cobble stoned back garden under the stars.Over 200 wines by the bottle, with over 100 by the glass and a wide selection of organic, biodynamic & natural wine. Serving the best in locally sourced artisan food.
Woodridge, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ireland hospitality at it's finest”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Dined here in August, walked in after an exhausting travel day...and the kitchen was closed. Gavin took one look at our faces and stated " his mother would never forgive him if he turned away a hungry family" What a delight! A fabulous bottle of wine, two platters of happy pig & very happy pig( have gavin explain that), olives, cheese and crusty bread with olive oil. Don't miss this gem if you are in the area. Thank you Gavin.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thegallagher5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    76
    12
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kenmare, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Joyous yet civilised.”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Tucked away in a quiet corner of Kinsale, but easy walking distance from centre, sits the Black Pig. Its limited space is well thought out making it look bigger than it actually is. The decoration is clever and attractive but not expensive. The food and wine is stored in top of the range equipment that is well fitted and does not obtrude. Owners and Staff are well versed in product range which is extensive; and excel at customer service; these are not 'brain surgeons' temping as table waiters - these are people with a dedicated service ethic - so nice in this day and age.

The wine list is well thought out, providing most palate with something to excite - there is no premium for purchasing by single glasses - just the cost of the bottle divided by 5.

The Tapas are generously sized and a couple wishing to have a mix of these plus a few glasses of wine may have a light meal in pleasant surroundings without breaking the bank.

There was one 'mains' dish on offer the evening we were there.
Pan Fried Monkfish with a leek risotto.
+
Beef carpaccio with rocket salad.
Mozzarella (from W. Cork - where else) with sundried tomatoes.
accompanied at various stages by Merlot, Kim Crawford Pinot Noit, and a Chilean. - excellent slurps.
Go there, relax, and enjoy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Westcork10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
635 reviews
322 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,001 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The Black Pig is one of those finds that you all too seldom come across now and again.

We were staying at The White Lady up the road and each time we passed The Black Pig was buzzing. Never one to miss the action me and my gorgeous young GF had to see what the buzz was about.

Are we glad we did. Fabulous atmosphere with an authentic feel of a true wine bar and a truly super selection of well thought out wines, great quality foods to snack on and all served by lovely, warm, smiling, friendly owners....who ran one of Dublin's original and best wine bars. I love to have good wines by the glass as you experience so much more than sharing a bottle. I think we drank 3-4 different s wines between us....all excellent.

It is a tapas bar and as we are just back from that Mecca of Tapas bars, Barcelona, we are well up on tapas. We love tapas as you nibble and munch on what you want, when you want until you are full! What better way to while away a night ?

Well done! A definite stop when you are in Kinsale and for sure it is for us. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harleyclarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great little Gem in Kinsale”
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

I've reviewed several places in Kinsale and all have been a delight, as was this.

We popped in here on Easter Sunday as it was open for food, even though most places serving alcohol are closed for the religious holiday. They explained that the local Guarda was OK providing we were eating which we did, and in fact the local constabulary checked in to make sure all were behaving. Felt like I was in a soap opera!

Anyway, we were warming welcomed and found a corner by the window. Six of us came in and we ordered olives and items from the Charcuterie, all of which were bloody delicious; in fact my mouth is still watering. We chose a Pinot Noir which was also delightful and we sat and put the world right in a wonderful atmosphere. It wasn't too busy, probably because of the holiday, but the locals were also very friendly so we felt right at home. The stag would check on us periodically to make sure everyone was happy without being intrusive and next time I'm in Kinsale I will definitely come back.

I stayed at the Olde Bakery B&B which is a 100 yard stroll from here, which reminds me; there's another great watering hole 100 yards in the other direction which we also loved so I must find that and review it too!!

The only disappointing episode while in Kinsale was a boat trip but other than that, delightful place and delightful people!! A must visit and make sure you call in here when you come!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best of the best!”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Ate here twice on a 4 night stay. Had a vegan with us and she was happy!
Awesome small dishes to share like tapas, and great wines to try!
Definitely one of my best meals ever!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GLewis53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Pig Winebar also viewed

Kinsale, County Cork
Kinsale, County Cork
 
Kinsale, County Cork
Kinsale, County Cork
 

Been to The Black Pig Winebar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing