We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Discovery”

The Black Pig Winebar
Ranked #3 of 73 Restaurants in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: McKennas' Guides Top 100 Restaurants in Ireland 2017; Georgina Campbell Best Wine Award Ireland 2014; Restaurant Association Awards Best Wine Experience Munster 2015 & Cork 2014. Set in an 18th century coach house with a cobble stoned back garden under the stars.Over 200 wines by the bottle, with over 100 by the glass and a wide selection of organic, biodynamic & natural wine. Serving the best in locally sourced artisan food.
Tralee, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful Discovery”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My husband and I ate here last week and we would have to say that we were so glad that we had. The food was exceptional. We choose a number of platters as that seems to be their thing. I was particularly fond of the cheese platter. You can tell that they really choose their ingredients carefully and are passionate about what they do. They have an extensive wine list and although I am teetotal my husband did enjoy his choice of wine. It is in a beautiful setting near a cliff wall and their use of the outdoor space was lovely. We can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rebeccalyons1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    76
    12
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“The Black Pig expericence!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Great atmosphere and setting, really friendly staff and absolutely delicious wine and food. The chorizo risotto special was incredible! Would highly recommend going here. We went out of our way to go on a recommendation from someone and we were not disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NikiKehoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Irish hospitality, heavenly wines, and great food!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We appeared on a drizzly evening without a reservation and were met with a gracious welcome and sincere sympathy that no tables were available. Our West Texas family of 6 were drawn to the empty patio, where a table for six sheltered by a vast umbrella was beaconing us. The locals could not relate to our desire to settle into the wet conditions, but the desert life does strange things to people. For the next 3 hours we were catered to, as the owners themselves and a very gracious server named Jill continuously brought us sumptuous plate after plate of perfectly prepared starters & main courses that we oohed and aahed as we shared. The wine list was extensive....to say the very least! Oh, my! Around 40-50 wines available by the glass! Need I say more? If I could repeat one night in Ireland....this would be it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AllieCatTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, UAE
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Spanish Tapa's in a place the Armada couldn't reach”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

A good friend who visits from the UK recently on business knows his wine. As a "local" I had not been to this fab place, but had seen the reviews and heard about it, we had a couple of pre-pints and headed over. What a great place. If you could bottle the atmos and sell it you'd make a fortune.

Pro's

- Atmosphere - relaxed, great lighting, comfortable and like minded people
- wine list...we both travel widely and really appreciate a good selection. Our waiter listened and suggested some cheaper options than those we were looking at, they worked extremely well.
- the food was very good....you'd have to be in some top spanish Tapa's locations to beat the quality
- service, at last.... the staff look up all the time, friendly and responsive, knowledgeable and just plain nice

Con's

For the first time in a review I can't think of one, and I'm certainly not going to make one up

Will be back

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank woodsterArabia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“High Quality Tapas”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I went to the restaurant two times. If you enjoy tapas I think this is the best restaurant in Kinsale. They have a fantastic wine list and the menu items are very top quality. The service was outstanding as well. The salami plate was outstanding as was the beef carpaccio. They have a backyard courtyard if the weather is nice. Reservations are mandatory as this place is extremely popular with locals. If you like to taste lots of different food and share it with others you will have a great time here.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank PSMCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Pig Winebar also viewed

Kinsale, County Cork
Kinsale, County Cork
 
Kinsale, County Cork
Kinsale, County Cork
 

Been to The Black Pig Winebar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing