We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected respect”

Ringfinnan Garden of Remembrance
Ranked #7 of 34 things to do in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This garden is located in the townland of Ringfinnan, Kinsale, County Cork in the south of Ireland and is dedicated to the memory of the 343 firefighters who lost their live in the 9/11 terrorist attacks in New York. This garden of Remembrance was established by Kathleen Murphy in November 2001. Kathleen grew up in Ringfinnan, Kinsale, County Cork which is located in the south of Ireland. Following her training as a nurse in England she moved to New York where she worked as a staff nurse for 40 years in Lennox Hill Hospital. Kathleen always admired the brave and courageous work of firefighters. Following the 9/11 attacks she decided to establish the garden of remembrance in memory to the 343 firefighters who lost their lives on September 11th 2001. Kathleen passed away in March 2011 in New York following a battle with cancer and is buried less than 2 miles from the garden.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unexpected respect”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Our tour guide, Jim Good, brought us to this amazing place. In the middle of nowhere, this memorial of planted trees brings a solemnity and respect for the 9/11 heroes that we lost. As many first responders of NYC have a great deal of lineage to Ireland, it was fitting that a wonderful woman would see fit to plant this memorial. Highly impactful. If in Kinsale, don't miss it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank skwagman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    6
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakhurst, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful tribute to the heroes of 9-11”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I have visited this place several times and was just there last month and was happy to see how well the Murphy family is maintaining this wonderful tribute to the fallen firefighters. Everyone in my group was so impressed with the beauty of the place and a couple people were very happy to find trees dedicated to firemen that they had known who died on 9-11. Each tree now has an American flag placed next to it. It is a peaceful yet haunting place to visit--a must for every American who visits Kinsale. It is only 5 minutes outside the center of Kinsale. If you want to learn more about it, there is a page on Facebook dedicated to the Garden: Ringfinnan Garden of Remembrance. I will return every time I visit Kinsale to pay my respects for their sacrifice.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank shamrock547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
139 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL TRIBUTE TO FALLEN AMERICANS”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Interesting concept to plant a forest in Ireland to honour the firemen and others who died on 9/11 in New York. It was done by an Irish woman who worked as a nurse in NYC on her home property in Ireland just outside of Kinsale.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SUSANCROUCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmetsburg, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A beautiful place to remember!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The magnificent vista is worth the journey of any tourist but your heart will forever be affected by the trees planted for the 9/11 Firemen. On 9/11 the terroristic act felt so personal and so 'American'. Yet, years later, far across the sea, I see that 'our' pain was the world's pain too. The gesture of brotherhood is nearly unspeakable for lack of words to adequately express the warmth and love of this incredible act! Please go see this!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Cecilia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Special”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My husband is a firefighter and we were so glad we took the time to visit this special place. They have done a beautiful job honoring the fallen firefighters in New York from 9/11 and the Chaplin that she was friends with. If you have time put this on your list.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank 1toppump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ringfinnan Garden of Remembrance also viewed

Kinsale, County Cork
Kinsale, County Cork
 

Been to Ringfinnan Garden of Remembrance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing