We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge rooms!”
Review of Friar's Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Friar's Lodge
Ranked #17 of 53 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with my family of 4 and the room was huge. The rooms were a bit dated, but clean. Had a good, quiet nights sleep. The hot water ran very cold in my shower, after 2 of us showered, but the hotel discounted my charge bc of this. The hot breakfast was good, but the buffet options were lower quality. It was a good price for what was offered.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
There are newer reviews for Friar's Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed here in early July as part of a group of ten girls on a hen weekend. We weren't sure what to expect, but we were pleasantly surprised. The rooms are large and very comfortable. The bathrooms are clean and even though we were central it was very quiet so perfect if you want a relaxing stay. The guest house is a perfect base for exploring the many bars and restaurants and the staff were very friendly and happy to accommodate our requirements. Great breakfasts too, perfect for setting you up for a day of exploring!

Room Tip: Room 109 was lovely and huge!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed here for one night recently. Close to main attractions, off street parking, spacious, clean and comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. Free Wi-Fi @ reception , very relaxed athmosphere. Would recommend it.

Room Tip: Not cheap, but location very good. Breakfast very good and fresh.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank galwaybay17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I go to kinsale often, and when i do i stay at Friars lodge, they make me feel so comfortable it feels like home. the rooms are excellent the breakfast is great, and its close to everything in Kinsale,and a great price it suits me

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thetasmaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed for two nights on a recent Rick Steves tour. The place was quirky and had some pleasant features but overall a bit dreary.

The Room:
-The room was very large and appeared clean with a decent bed. The furnishings were dark and worn and the linens and towels scratchy and cheap feeling. The bathroom had one of those boxy hair dryers from early 80s hotel stock that had a broken hose that was patched with duct tape and kept falling out of its holder when it was accidently brushed. There was also strangely no counter space for a toilet kit in the entire bathroom. There appeared to be no thought about functionality in the design. The presence of a 'pillow menu' was incongruous with the amenities offered. Keep your down pillow and let me just have a little Wi-Fi in the room...

The Public Areas:
The lobby looked like a cluttered sitting room your granny might have had. Kind of charming with free Sherry on offer at all times. We also appreciated the computer situated in the lobby on a first come first serve basis since we could not get a working signal for Wi-Fi in our room. I kind of liked the tchotchkes littering every windowsill and nook and cranny of the hallways and public areas but understand that it would not be every guest's cup of tea. The over decorated public areas just made the room seem that much more barren.

Breakfast:
Our breakfast experience was positive, with decent quality and offerings of hot and cold dishes by lovely Irish ladies in the charming breakfast room.

Overall, the place was clean and mostly comfortable, but just that. Would we stay here again? No way.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkOrmondBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed at the Friars lodge the first weekend in June. I was so impressed that we booked for the same weekend next year. 2015. Firstly we were upgraded to a larger room which was just lovely. The bathroom was large and immaculately clean. There was lovely tea and coffee which was perfect after shopping all day. The breakfast was one of the nicest we have had in a guest house/hotel. Pancakes were a real treat... I actually don't have a single complaint, I usually have at least one...lol... I would highly recommend a weekend away in Kinsale and especially at Friars Lodge.

Room Tip: I'm pretty sure all the rooms are nice. Friends stayed in a smaller room and it was just as love...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suecathrynpow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were pretty disappointed by this place for a number of reasons, not the least of which was a desk clerk that insulted us. Rooms are spartan and on the seedy side, with outdated baths (remember the square dryers with a hose?) and poor electrical capacity (we blew a fuse by using a fan and space heater since running clothes have a tough time drying in an Irish harbor town). Breakfast was ok, but the flies were a bit disconcerting. After being offered fresh berries for my porridge, the waitress had to retract since they were out of berries. To her credit, she did offer Bailey's, which got a laugh from us. The reception area furniture was well-worn with books and magazines everywhere that just went over the line of homey to messy. Wifi was only available in the reception area and breakfast room, which wasn't always open. Not sure why Rick Steves has this on his list of recommended places since our group without exception thought at best it was a 3-star hotel. It's also very difficult to find in this tiny medieval city. Kinsale is worth to stop, but find another place to stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PattyWm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
2.7 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
696 reviews
0.4 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
0.2 mi away
Pier House Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 53 in Kinsale
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friar's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friar's Lodge

Address: Friar Street, Kinsale, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Hotel Class:5 star — Friar's Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Friar`s Hotel Kinsale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing