We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rivermount House B&B
Ranked #10 of 50 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome place to stay!”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Loved the view and location. The rooms were beautifully updated and the facilties beautiful. The husband and wife team were a joy to visit with. Its centrally located to many great tourists stops. Also kinsale offers some great food. We will definitely visit here again and stay longer.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jmelfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    64
    26
    9
    7
See reviews for
124
186
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This is a truly lovely place to stay when you are visiting Kinsale. As some have already mentioned it is indeed not in town but when you have a car, you'll get there in under 10 mins (it's 5 km). The owners were very friendly and helpful about where to park and what to see and breakfast is just great. Rooms are very spacious and nicely decorated. The only things I think needs changing is the ease with which to find it. Some signs on the road would be really useful. I would definitely recommend this to everyone traveling to Kinsale and looking for something a bit more personal than a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sacha1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed two nights in this nice B&B a little way out of Kinsale. Everywhere was clean and well-furnished and it was clear the owner took a pride in her business. There was a lovely view from the front of the house and we enjoyed a welcome cup of tea sitting outside admiring the view and meeting the family's dog. Tea, coffee and cake were always available in the public area and there were tea making facilities in the bedroom. We had a fairly small bedroom and ensuite shower room which looked out over fields at the back of the property. Breakfasts were very good and were served in a very pleasant dining room (the only complaint being that the chairs were rather low for the tables). The owner was very friendly and helpful. On our first night she not only gave us recommendations of where to eat in Kinsale she gave us a lift down to the town so we only had to get a taxi back. We enjoyed our stay and would be happy to stay again - we might ask for a room on the front though.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front would have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amazeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeFuniak Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This was our first stop on our 17 day excursion through Ireland. This B&B is on the outskirts of Kinsale, but well worth the drive. We were welcomed by Martin who showed us to our rooms. The only reason for not giving it excellent is the lack of bathtub rails and slick tile floor with a very difficult stepdown. I fell twice, in the shower and again while stepping out on to the floor. They were extremely helpful in supplying ice for ice packs; however, nearly a year later I continue to feel the effects of the fall(s). I hope they have made additional security provisions for these issues. Other than this the food was incredible, the house was warm and inviting, the beds extremely comfortable and the proprietors (Claire and Martin) were warm and inviting.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This was my first and one of my best B&B experience in all of Ireland. Clare and Martin (the owners) are wonderful people, very friendly and accommodating. This house is stunning on the inside and out. Great Style. The view is absolutely amazing. The breakfast was absolutely delicious. I would recommend the maple pancakes. I will definitely stay here when I go back to Ireland. Kinsale is a very cute and quaint town.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megatalkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I have stayed at 3 other places in Kinsale (1 hotel and 2 other B&Bs) and this is head and shoulders above those other places! 8 of us women from the U.S. on a 2-week jaunt around Ireland spent 2 nights here in August, and each and every one of us wished we were staying here longer! It's just a short 5-minute drive away from the traffic-choked heart of Kinsale, and the setting is truly beautiful and serene, overlooking the Bandon River. Claire and her husband Martin are the quintessential hosts, and their wonderful dog, Charlie, remains at Rivermount House only because he wouldn't fit in my suitcase! Their daughter was sleeping over at a neighbor's so we didn't get to meet her. The house has been recently redecorated and is truly stylish and welcoming. Can't say enough good things about this B&B and am very anxious to return.

The en suite (with power showers) bedrooms are beautifully appointed, very comfortable and immaculate. Breakfast is excellent with a number of tempting choices.

Complimentary wi-fi is a plus, and there is ample parking. There is seating on the lovely patio area in front of the home with a panoramic view of the river and surrounding countryside -- very peaceful and welcoming. In the words of Gen. McArthur, "I shall return!"

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suetvlnut2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My dad and I just spent the October Bank Holiday weekend (3 nights) in the Rivermount House in Kinsale. From the moment I picked up the phone to make the booking to Claire to the moment we left after our 3 day stay I almost felt like a member of the family. Firstly our welcome was very warm, in fact it was Claire's mother Theresa, who welcomed us like long lost family and we started chatting immediately. The room was spacious and overlooked the river, well worth the extra spend. Our daily breakfast was sumptuous and delicious, and the service excellent. There is plenty of space to sit in the hall overlooking the river and a spacious living room with an open lit fireplace which we used one night. We were given plenty of advice of where to go and book for dinner and they were so helpful, nothing was too much. We go to a lot of B&Bs around Ireland, but this visit was so special that we'll do our best to return soon again, in particular also because Kinsale is simply a GEM of a place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
4.2 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
2.1 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
2.2 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 50 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
2.2 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#14 of 50 in Kinsale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivermount House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivermount House B&B

Property: Rivermount House B&B
Address: Rivermount House Barrells Cross, Kinsale, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the scenic river, Rivermount House completed a total upgrade and refurbishment in 2008. It offers four-star quality at affordable rates. We feature classic mahogany furniture, heavily embossed wall coverings and exquisite soft furnishings, which have all resulted in creating an ambiance of luxury comfort and style. With a classy polished marble foyer, this accommodation feels more like a boutique hotel but with the personal attention and traditional warmth of a B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rivermount House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivermount House Hotel Kinsale
Rivermount House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing