We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No early check in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Danabel Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #36 of 53 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Pros-
Was walking distance to main shopping area (although next time I'd stay right in town at Blue Haven or various other B&Bs).
Bigger shower than most of the B&Bs we've stayed at.
Cons-
Emailed several times back and fourth to owners about early check in and we arrived at 10:30am w/no one around. Had to leave bags sitting out in doorway until they were available to check us in at 4pm! There should be a safe place just to leave your bags.
At top of a big hill, if u take bus into town it's quite a walk to hotel from bus stop.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Kerri2tj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

We needed a room off season with kids close to town, and Phil was very nice to us. We were in the triple room and we fit ok. The breakfast was just grand. Wifi worked ok. Walk to town is short and downhill. Even though we booked online using a credit card, they required cash payment and we didn't know this until part way in to our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phillipsrhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Very clean rooms will not fault that but very small. Location is good as a short walk to the town but down a very steep hill or lots of steps. Could hear the people talking in the room next to us!!! Asked when we first checked in about breakfast, we said we would let them know later that evening. We didn't see anyone until we checked out. DIfferent people checking us in and out and everything was very vague and impolite.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aoife_Doll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed here one night while in Kinsale. We had a wonderful stay with delicious food. There is a short walk to town -- but with a downhill, slick slope into town and uphill on the way back! Being a bit out of the main area means it is nice and quiet though!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eur0pe2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Phil is such a gracious host.Nothing is too much trouble for her. Danabel is so lovely and clean and nicely appointed. Breakfast was delicious. The walk to town, the harbour and wonderful rstaurants was quick and easy.

Room Tip: A very easy and quick walk to town and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yogi13_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Well, this place has all you would expect from a B&B. Clean rooms, comfortable bed, hot shower and a home cooked Irish breakfast. The location is great, just a short 4 min walk into the center, however, if traveling alone, pay attention to the rather dark path leading to the center, can be a bit uncomfortable at night. Phil is a good host and will be happy the share recommendations on places to visit in the city.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Yoav G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This B&B had one of the most comfortable beds we had for our trip in Ireland. The room was small but the hardwood floors and crisp white sheets gave it a really clean and modern feeling. The electric shower was not new to us, having seen it in other B&Bs before we arrived - very easy, just pull the string to on before hopping in the shower and pull it again to turn it off afterwards. I think we forget in north america how lucky and modern our plumbing systems are sometimes!! Breakfast was small but tasty in a cozy room where we sat with 2 men from Boston - sitting at the same table was kind of nice to meet some fellow travellers. Phil the owner was a little quiet and reserved but not unfriendly - she brightened up when I mentioned the person who had recommended her hotel to me and made sure she took his name and website details in order to get in touch. She gave some great restaurant recommendations. Only thing was CASH only - she said it was specified in her booking info but I didn't see it. Good thing we still had cash on us at this point in the trip!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tkemp111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
2.4 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Tierneys Guesthouse
Tierneys Guesthouse
#40 of 53 in Kinsale
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Bank House
Old Bank House
#15 of 53 in Kinsale
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 53 in Kinsale
355 reviews
0.3 mi away
The K Kinsale
The K Kinsale
#46 of 53 in Kinsale
152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danabel Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danabel Bed & Breakfast

Address: Danabel 16 Featherbed Lane | Sleaveen, Kinsale, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range: £69 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Danabel Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Danabel Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing