We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint b&b”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Danabel Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #38 of 53 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Fort Collins, CO
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quaint b&b”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay at Danable. Good breakfast. Phil was a very accommodating host. Room was remodeled and very clean but quite small. No desk, just a chair in the corner. Bathroom reminded me of a cruise ship but worked well.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SandbergPhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    30
    20
    12
    4
See reviews for
9
52
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oberursel (Taunus), Germany
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We have just finished a two week tour of Ireland staying in 8 different B&B’s, all priced between 60€ to 80€ / night. I want to start by saying that every single accommodation was more than adequate and I would certainly not put any of them below a 3 rating. One important point is that on-site parking was an essential requirement as we had a rental car. However they were certainly not all equal. I am rating them using the following categories?
Location: short walk down a steep pathway into town, limited parking (really only room for 2 cars)
Room comfort: small room but bed was comfortable
Host: Phil was a bit brusque and the least friendly hostess we had in all of Ireland. She answered all our questions, but we never got the warm sense of pleasure in our visiting Ireland that we got at all the other B&B's
Breakfast: good

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrbi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
716 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

75/euro night for 2 in Kinsale is good deal! We stayed Sunday to Tuesday.

PROS
-Easy to find and easy parking
-Very clean room and bathroom
-Very quiet at night
-Good breakfast
-Easy quick downhill walk into town.

CONS
- Uphill quick walk from town back to the B&B
-Low pressure shower with a bizzare heating mechanism. Though it worked.
-Small room

Pro Tip1: I booked directly via email. I think it saved me 5-10 Euro/night compared to booking through a website. Cutting out the middle man saves money for everyone!

Pro Tip2: American couples, like us, may want to book twin beds instead of a double bed...an Irish double is smaller than an American full.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Pros-
Was walking distance to main shopping area (although next time I'd stay right in town at Blue Haven or various other B&Bs).
Bigger shower than most of the B&Bs we've stayed at.
Cons-
Emailed several times back and fourth to owners about early check in and we arrived at 10:30am w/no one around. Had to leave bags sitting out in doorway until they were available to check us in at 4pm! There should be a safe place just to leave your bags.
At top of a big hill, if u take bus into town it's quite a walk to hotel from bus stop.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kerri2tj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We needed a room off season with kids close to town, and Phil was very nice to us. We were in the triple room and we fit ok. The breakfast was just grand. Wifi worked ok. Walk to town is short and downhill. Even though we booked online using a credit card, they required cash payment and we didn't know this until part way in to our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillipsrhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Very clean rooms will not fault that but very small. Location is good as a short walk to the town but down a very steep hill or lots of steps. Could hear the people talking in the room next to us!!! Asked when we first checked in about breakfast, we said we would let them know later that evening. We didn't see anyone until we checked out. DIfferent people checking us in and out and everything was very vague and impolite.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aoife_Doll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed here one night while in Kinsale. We had a wonderful stay with delicious food. There is a short walk to town -- but with a downhill, slick slope into town and uphill on the way back! Being a bit out of the main area means it is nice and quiet though!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eur0pe2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
4.9 mi away
Glebe Country House
Glebe Country House
#1 of 2 in Bandon
41 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tierneys Guesthouse
Tierneys Guesthouse
#40 of 53 in Kinsale
173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#12 of 53 in Kinsale
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dempsey's Hostel
Dempsey's Hostel
#3 of 6 in Kinsale
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Bank House
Old Bank House
#14 of 53 in Kinsale
332 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Lady Hotel
White Lady Hotel
#19 of 53 in Kinsale
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danabel Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danabel Bed & Breakfast

Property: Danabel Bed & Breakfast
Address: Danabel 16 Featherbed Lane | Sleaveen, Kinsale, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Danabel Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Danabel Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing