We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highly recommended”
Review of Woodlands House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Woodlands House
Ranked #16 of 53 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“highly recommended”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We cold called into this beautiful B & B and were made welcome with an offer of tea. The suite was beautiful with a wonderful view, The breakfast fruit plate was a work of art. An excellent find with very reasonable rates.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lahana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    43
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
52
95
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harbour Island Bahamas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

A beautiful home with cozy comfortable rooms located a 10 minute walk from some of the best restaurants. That's downhill. Uphill is a 5E cab ride for the challenged. valeries breakfasts are noghing but spectacular.

Room Tip: There are rooms that must have beautiful views. We had not asked so did not have one. The house was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charles m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburgh, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

You may have trouble finding Valerie & Brian up the hill but they will help you just call! It was, of the 5 B&B's we stayed in, the very best! The hosts, food, guests, advice, room, ambiance, overall experience was number one! I will be certain to return.

Room Tip: gound floor room all the way to the back (I think #4) looks out to gardens & birdfeeders and jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We were welcomed very warmly by our hosts. Settled in our rooms; one on the top floor overlooking Kinsale Bay, the other on the main floor. Our family of six walked down to Fishy Fishy Cafe for a late lunch. The walk from Woodlands House to city centre is about 15 minutes - downhill on the way there, uphill on the way back - be prepared for a nice workout! Cooked to order breakfast in the morning was outstanding! The hosts were easy to talk to, informative, and very accommodating to our family. The beds are incredibly comfortable, and the rooms was extremely spacious - which was a rare find on our 14 day trip in Ireland. Woodlands House was an incredible value in my opinion. I would highly recommend this B&B for families with children, couples, or even groups of friends traveling together. Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anjyway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We flew into Cork for our 2 week Irish trip so decided to spend our first and last nights in Kinsale, a beautiful little town just a few miles from Cork airport. Couldn't have made a better choice than the Woodlands! We arrived around noon after an overnight flight from Canada and Brian welcomed us for an early check-in and ensured we had a lovely quiet room so we could have a nap without being disturbed. We were welcomed with tea, coffee & those wonderful cookies. Our room was very spacious, nicely decorated and overlooked the water in the distance. The area is quiet with no road noise.

Breakfast was really good with lots of choices. I especially liked the eggs with smoked salmon. It was perfect size meal and presented very nicely. DH had the Irish breakfast that would keep you going most of the day.

We felt very welcome and perfectly at home. Brian even helped us with our rental car and aided me when I had an unfortunate little fall. Certainly won't forget their hospitality any time soon.

It is possible to walk down into town, however we drove & parked in a free parking lot while we found a couple of nice places to eat & explored this pretty little town right on the water.

All in all, couldn't have found a better place for our first and last nights in Ireland.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjay3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

good place for a family of 4. clean and quiet. good irish breakfast. moderately close to town but hard to find for the newcomer. very quiet. btw, was not happy with the restaurant the B and B recommended- Crackpots- really loud ( a hen party of 12!) and extremely fragmented and slow service despite good food. they did comp the wine though.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savvyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

My husband hates B&B's but loved this experience. Valerie & Brian were wonderful hosts, breakfasts were freshly prepared, and the location was convenient, yet quiet. The walk from the Woodland House to central Kinsale was the perfect "after dinner" stroll. Kinsale is a grand place to visit.

Brian set up the TV in the parlor so we could watch the US Open; he also provided a drying place for our wet golf clothes and clubs.

All very special and memorable!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
3.0 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
894 reviews
0.9 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Rivermount House B&B
Rivermount House B&B
#11 of 53 in Kinsale
452 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pier House Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 53 in Kinsale
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands House

Property: Woodlands House
Address: Cappagh | Bandon Road, Kinsale, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlands House is a luxury, four star approved B&B a mere seven-minute walk from the harbour town of Kinsale in County Cork. Comfort is guaranteed as visitors are treated to ensuite bathrooms and king size beds. Breakfasts are home cooked and offer a wide selection of dishes. An array of in-room facilities are also available to guests, including free Wi-Fi Internet, tea and coffee making facilities, TV, hairdryer, direct dial telephone and ironing facilities. The large garden provides a quiet, relaxed atmosphere, while private parking guarantees peace of mind. The harbour town of Kinsale offers visitors a selection of gourmet restaurants, sailing, deep sea angling and golf. Kinsale is an Irish Heritage Town and has benefited from a rich and interesting past, which has resulted in a plethora of historical remnants being sprinkled around the town. Among the highlights are the 17th century Charles Fort, the Church of Ireland church built in 1190 and a 16th century Tower House. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing