We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Woodlands House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Woodlands House
Ranked #16 of 55 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

Immaculate and pleasant owners! Big rugby game was on, they welcomed us into the front living room with a roaring fire (dreary day) and tea to get our rugby fix. We loved the breakfast bread so much they shared the recipe. Stayed twice and continue to recommend to friends.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    42
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
51
94
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

I recently organized a trip for my parents, mother-in-law, sister, brother-in-law, husband and myself. This was a lovely bed and breakfast. The owners were very accommodating. They were able to make dietary arrangements for my sister with a gluten allergy and my feather allergy. It was clean and a pleasant walk to the town.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

My family and I stayed at Woodlands House for one night while traveling in Ireland. The hosts were wonderful and welcoming taking such a good care of us. We were offered tea and cookies upon arrival and breakfast was excellent. Our room was spacious and clean. We asked for a travel cot when booking and it was kindly provided for our little one. We very highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

My husband came to Kinsale for a night and arrived after 8pm to Woodland's house. The hosts were warm and welcoming and had a lovely bed and breakfast. The room was comfortable and clean and the breakfast had many options and was delicious. We were able to walk into town from this location. It was cozy, comfortable and beautiful. We would stay again!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderlustfullife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed in Ireland for two weeks on our holiday and stayed in 4 B&Bs. This was the most beautiful. We were warmly greeted by the owner who offered us tea and showed us around. The grounds were perfectly manicured with lovely flowers. Plenty of free parking. Our room was spacious, open airy, sunny with flowers right out the window. The owner loaned us her electrical appliance converter for my tablet computer recharge. The breakfast was delicious. This was just like being home while on holiday.

Room Tip: Parking in Kinsale was limited, but the owner told us to park across from the Church. The lot was co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stargazerfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
169 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

This was the 2nd stop on our Ireland trip. We spent two nights and found Woodlands House to cozy and comfortable, as well as being clean and beautifully decorated. It was also the perfect distance from town (a 15 minute walk down the hill), which allowed us to leave the car and explore on foot, but it was close enough that it was easy to walk back for a nice rest before heading out again in the evening. The room was very nice and had all amenities we could want, including a hair dryer and coffee/tea service. The bathroom was a trifle small in that there wasn't much room to lay out one's toiletries, but it really was just fine for us. The bed was a bit hard, but we found that to be the case at all the B&B's we stayed in (the Irish must like their beds hard!) We did notice a bit of noise from the room next door (I think their bed was against the same wall as ours), but it wasn't enough to keep us awake. We didn't hear anything other than that. Breakfast was really lovely and made to order. We found both Valerie and Brian to be extremely helpful and welcoming. Brian also helped us to map out our route, traveling up to Kenmare when we left, so that we might enjoy the most scenic drive. All in all, a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karrie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

We stayed in this b&b for 2 nights back in June and had a lovely stay. We had a warm welcome with tea and biscuits on arrival. The b&b is out of town and up a hill but it wasn't a problem for us. On a nice day the walk is lovely and if need be a taxi will pick you up and drop you into town for about 5-8 euro which we did 1 evening due to the inclement weather. There was a great selection for breakfast not just the usual cereal, fruit and full irish but also other options such as french toast and smoked salmon! Our room was spacious and clean. Would definitely stay here again if we go back to Kinsale!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emsharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
3.0 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Rivermount House B&B
Rivermount House B&B
#10 of 55 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.6 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 55 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rocklands House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands House

Property: Woodlands House
Address: Cappagh | Bandon Road, Kinsale, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlands House is a luxury, four star approved B&B a mere seven-minute walk from the harbour town of Kinsale in County Cork. Comfort is guaranteed as visitors are treated to ensuite bathrooms and king size beds. Breakfasts are home cooked and offer a wide selection of dishes. An array of in-room facilities are also available to guests, including free Wi-Fi Internet, tea and coffee making facilities, TV, hairdryer, direct dial telephone and ironing facilities. The large garden provides a quiet, relaxed atmosphere, while private parking guarantees peace of mind. The harbour town of Kinsale offers visitors a selection of gourmet restaurants, sailing, deep sea angling and golf. Kinsale is an Irish Heritage Town and has benefited from a rich and interesting past, which has resulted in a plethora of historical remnants being sprinkled around the town. Among the highlights are the 17th century Charles Fort, the Church of Ireland church built in 1190 and a 16th century Tower House. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing