We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet B & B , Treated like family”
Review of The Olde Bakery

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Olde Bakery
Ranked #10 of 53 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stonewall, Louisiana, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sweet B & B , Treated like family”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Loved staying in this homey B & B, with the sweet host and hostess Chrissie and Tom!!! They provide safe, lovely rooms and prepared the best Irish breakfast with love and Irish hospitality!!! If we are able to return to the beautiful town of Kinsale, Ireland, we will definitely stay here!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ammer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    48
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
43
152
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The Olde Bakery was recommended to us and it was adorable! Chrissy and Tom were probably the nicest people we met on our trip to Ireland and we stayed at breakfast far longer than planned just to chat. Chrissy really loves her guests and learning all about the people who stay with her. The twin/double room itself was very cute and somewhat separated out from the rest of the house so we felt like we really had our own space. The bathroom shower was a bit old fashioned but very clean. We would stay here again in a second; it was lovely and we could hang out with Chrissy forever!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Make sure you speak to Chrissie before you pay for parking. Tom and Chrissie are charming and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The Full Irish breakfast was fantastic. Don't forget to try Tom's delicious honey. Our room was clean, comfortable and quite. We would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

If you're looking for an authentic, cozy, friendly, Irish, great value, great hosts - it doesn't get better than this.
The hosts are the friendliest people, so lovely and helpful, the bedrooms are spacious, clean and wait until you sink into one of their beds! What a bliss :)
The best part of our stay - the breakfast around the big kitchen table - plenty of food, plenty of chats and banter with the hosts and other guests.
If you want to experience the Irish hospitality at its best, do yourself a favor and stay here for at least one night :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My wife, myself and 2 other adults stayed at the Olde Bakery B & B in Kinsale last fall. We really enjoyed our stay. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. It happened to be the season finale of the hurling game while we were there and within minutes of our arrival we were invited to sit in the common living room to watch the end of the game and learn how the game of hurling works:) The B & B is in a great location within easy walking distance of everything in Kinsale. The owner provided us with plenty of recommendations for places to eat and go out. The rooms were comfortable with plenty of space. The breakfast was super delicious!!! It was so nice to sit in the kitchen and converse with the owners and other guests - added to the homey feel of the place. The owners were very cute and friendly....we also loved their little dog! Thanks for the great stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mash460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Tom and Chris are as nice and Irish as they come. The rooms were fine but what made is special was the playful banter back and forth. To begin with Chris makes an effort to learn a little about every visitor, when you have breakfast they introduce you with more than just a name. They make an effort to make everybody feel welcome, and once they get to know you they will challenge you with their wit and sarcasm. They make you feel like family. ( in a positive way)
The food is great and they are helpful with any plans you might have. Tom is a little hard of hearing, the only problem is they fill up quickly so plan ahead.

Room Tip: If you are staying on Saturday, expect to hear some partying late at night on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arthurkHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vallejo, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We love Tom and Chrissie! Hands down our favorite hosts on our Irish honeymoon adventure. So happy that we were able to stay with them. Felt very at home both nights that we were there and had our pick of rooms since it was October. Breakfast was delicious and I wish I could have the porridge every morning. :)

P.S. I am leaving my long hair curly more often just for you Chrissie!

Thank you,
Megan & Justin from CA

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMegHaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
0.1 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
930 reviews
2.4 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
685 reviews
0.2 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#13 of 53 in Kinsale
49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 53 in Kinsale
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olde Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olde Bakery

Property: The Olde Bakery
Address: Kinsale, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Olde Bakery Hotel Kinsale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing