We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent pub”
Review of The Greyhound

The Greyhound
Ranked #3 of 11 Nightlife in Kinsale
Attraction details
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent pub”
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Great atmosphere. Great Guinness. Small old traditional Irish pub in the heart of the town. Great outdoor area.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank YCostello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    11
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kyoto, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
“Cool Place Without Old People & Kids...”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Sorry to older people but most of the bars, pubs & lounges in Kinsale were full of oldies or families with children running around. Trust me, I walked around town several times and there was nothing else. A woman working in a big gift shop told me to try the Greyhound after I told her I was bored & all of the bars were playing the news or the Olympics with the sound turned on. Why wouldn't they MUTE the noise, keep the sports on & play music?! Well, that's exactly what the Greyhound was doing. They had the games on without sound & cool music was playing like a NORMAL bar/pub.

The two bartenders were friendly & chatted with me when they weren't busy helping other customers. Most of the people at the bar seemed to know each other so after a while, a few people struck up conversations with me & I never felt like I was an outsider who stumbled into an exclusive "locals pub."

The Greyhound is probably the best pub in Kinsale for a laid back place to hang out and to have have a few pints.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank kobekeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quirky and so relaxing...”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We dropped into this little bar one evening about 5pm. There are several snugs, the barman came to our little part of the lounge and lit a big log and coal fire and was so friendly. The guinness was wonderful and so reasonably priced. A little gem of a pub.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank maureen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Hipster pub in kinsale”
Reviewed 8 March 2011

kinsale is a rather posh town with attitudes to go with. The Greyhound is a 400 year old pub that is actually a cool place to drink with local people, not tarted up for tourists. Awesome music, a cast of characters and someone's friendly dog roaming around make this a fun place for a drink. If you are much over 40, it's probably not for you.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank lovewine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Greyhound also viewed

Kinsale, County Cork
Kinsale, County Cork
 
Kinsale, County Cork
 

Been to The Greyhound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing