We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Want To Go Back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Blue Horizon Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 53 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I Want To Go Back!”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Of all the places we stayed in Ireland, this was by far our favorite! Such a beautiful location, magnificent views, outstanding service and friendly management! This is one location that will be sure to be on any future return trips to Ireland. Our room had a stunning view of the ocean and provided great cooling breezes during the night. The bed was extremely comfortable, and everything was neat and clean. Really enjoyed chatting with the owner while enjoying a pint in their pub during the evening, and I could tell she is one who quickly makes fast friends of many of her guests. Put this place on your itinerary!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    37
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
37
95
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The location of this lovely little B&B is unbeatable. The rooms are very clean and spacious, and I was lucky enough to have one that had a direct view of the ocean. There is a lounge area, and a bar, tended by Jimmy and Mary who were very sweet, helpful, and accommodating hosts. Jimmy cooked a very good breakfast, too! I would highly recommend this great B&B if you plan on visiting Kinsale (and you should!).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmashB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We booked The Blue Horizon based on the reviews on Tripadvisor and we certainly weren't disappointed. We had stayed in a hotel in Cork before this and The Blue Horizon was superior to this in every way. The rooms are beautiful and of a really high standard. The location is superb. Our room opened out on to a little patio where we had an amazing view of the sea. In the evening we sat at the front of the B&B with a glass of wine looking out over the sea- amazing. Mary and Jimmy are fantasic hosts. The breakfast was gorgeous and of a much higher standard to many we have had in hotels. A first class experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Many people have said it before me but this really is a wonderful B&B. it is spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. We had a problem with our car but the owners made sure we were given a lift to a restaurant and then the next day to Kinsale. You might think this was a one off but I heard the landlady say to a couple the next day that she would come and pick them up if they were to go for a walk and it was too far. I loved the cat as well!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The Blue Horizon was our favorite bed and breakfast from our recent Ireland vacation in which we stayed at many great hotels and b and b's. Absolutely gorgeous location and beautiful accommodations. You could not ask for more lovely hosts than Jimmy and Mary. Mary assisted one of my companions in providing a space for him to have a phone interview with good wifi. Jimmy was genuinely a great host and was spot on with all of his restaurant suggestions. He befriended us as soon as we got there, and we absolutely enjoyed every minute talking with him! There are so many great areas to sit in and outside of this place and the bar is first rate! Biggest mistake of the trip was not spending more than a night with these lovely people at their bed and breakfast!!! Thank you Jimmy and Mary for such an amazing time!!! We will definitely see you again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Jimmy and Mary were very welcoming and charming hosts. Spotlessly clean, breathtaking views and great breakfast. Great facilities which included guests lounge and eating area with fridge and freezer as well as a cosy bar. Wished we had booked for a longer stay!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We arrived to the Blue Horizon late at night, were welcomed by Mary who was very kind and helpful, and then went to sleep in our giant white comfortable bed. When we awoke we couldn't believe our eyes! All you could see out of giant window were lush green rolling hills dotted with grazing cows and then the endless blue horizon! It was spectacular. The breakfast was great, the rooms were great, and it's just a 15 minute drive from Kinsale! (The narrow Irish roads can be difficult, but just think of it as an adventure). Be sure to take a walk to the right along the cliffs by the B&B, it was absolutely magical.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank positivelyhannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
6.2 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
4.7 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
981 reviews
4.8 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
685 reviews
4.9 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#12 of 53 in Kinsale
49 reviews
4.9 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 53 in Kinsale
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Horizon Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Horizon Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Blue Horizon Bed & Breakfast
Address: Garrettstown, Kinsale, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your The Blue Horizon Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing