We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Blue Horizon Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Trident Hotel Kinsale(Kinsale)
US$172
US$137
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
US$161
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa(Kinsale)(Great Value!)
US$128
US$124
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtmacsherry Hotel(Courtmacsherry)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Munster Arms(Bandon)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cork Airport Hotel(Cork)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$113
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
139
39
9
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
39
9
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspeckled doorocean viewfilled with localsb bcliff topgreat hostspink elephantkinsale areashort drivespacious roomfabulous locationgood sizeirish breakfastthree nightsfishy fishygreat breakfastfull irish
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Host was very nice. Breakfast was good. The Blue Horizon is outside Kinsale quite a ways. The town of Kinsale is a zoo. Flooded with tourists. My room at the Blue Horizon was above a party of 100+ people with a disc jockey that went past midnight. Not only was the noise overwhelming, but the Internet was so overloaded by the party goers iphones it was virtually non-operational until the party ended and the partygoers left. The party definitely tainted my view of our one night stay.The hotel is more like a motel than a B&B. Had to drive quite a distance for dinner that night. Make sure they are not hosting large parties before making a reservation.

Room Tip: Get a room on the backside away from the noise of the bar and patio.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebluehorizon, Owner at The Blue Horizon Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

It saddens me that you did not enjoy your stay at The Blue Horizon.
Our bar is a single story building with no bedrooms overhead. The two bedrooms at the front,
people have said that seeing the sun rise up out of the ocean more than makes up any disturbance.
It is very rarely we have parties at the bar but on the night of your stay we had a special party for a local girl who intended to launch a currach (traditional irish boat) the following day, this boat she built herself; amazing feat.
The remainder of our bed rooms are away from the bar facing the setting sun.
Sorry the wifi was not up to speed but this is the price we pay to live with the view of “the blue horizon”
Places with low population in Ireland rarely have high speed broadband.
This is our home which is a B&B with a bar, we are 2 miles from the nearest restaurants and 7 miles from Kinsale; this we cannot alter.
If you decide to come back and stay with us in the future please request a bedroom where you can see the sunset and sleep to the sound of the ocean.
Kind regards from the owners Jimmy and Mary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed at the Blue Horizon while visiting Kinsale. It won our "Best Location" award for our recent trip. The inn sits up on a hill with spectacular views of beach, ocean, farms, and the Old Head. Golfers, note that the beautiful course at Old Head is about a ten-minute drive from the B&B--very convenient. It is an easy fifteen-minute drive into Kinsale town. The rooms aren't super fancy, but they are very clean and quiet. We enjoyed going out to eat, then being able to come back and have a nightcap in the on-premises pub, which is also a local gathering spot. There is a nice restaurant called the Speckled Door down at the other end of the road that runs along the beach, in case you arrive in the evening, which we did. Jimmy and Mary are great hosts! We enjoyed staying at their B&B and recommend it highly.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sue Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Fabulous setting and clean and comfortable rooms with fantastic sea views!
We were travelling with a 7 month old baby but nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel so very welcome.
Breakfast superb and relaxed atmosphere with friendly locals in the bar made the visit most enjoyable!
If we get the chance, we will definitely be back. Thank you.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Lynlin63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Spent three nights at the Blue Horizon and could not happier with our choice. Jimmy and Mary were wonderful hosts, and the attached pub was wonderful to be able to have a pint and visit and then just walk to our room! Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. We highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dineen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed one night at the Blue Horizon and wish it had been a longer stay. We had a lovely ocean view from our room. Jimmy and Mary are delightful hosts. The on-site pub was great and very welcome after a long drive. Dinner at the Spotted Door just down the road was very good. We would certainly return to the Blue Horizon if we travel to Ireland again

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hana2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews