We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cloisters Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 53 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Our hosts Orla and Aileen could not have been nicer.
We were welcomed like friends. The rooms were very high standard. The food was exceptional they went out of their way to accommodate my dietary requirements (which are tricky).
The location is perfect within walking distance of everywhere.
I can't wait to go back see you soon Orla and Aileen. Thank you for making our stay perfect, Vicki

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed for the aternate jazz festival in Kinsale. Absolutely wonderful welcome when we arrived - I felt like I had gone to stay with friends.

Food to a high standard; rooms spotlessly clean.

I will definitely stay there again as I do intend to go back for the festival (friends permitting).

Orla and Aileen -thank you so much.


Joan

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

First of all, let me say that I mistakenly booked our stay for the wrong month! My wife and I were on our honeymoon and driving across Ireland. We arrived at Cloisters to find out that I had actually booked our stay for August instead of July... this could have been a big problem, but Aileen and Orla made some changes to accommodate us. We went from being very stressed to being delighted with this bed and breakfast, the town, and most of all, the people. The room was the best, brightest, and nicest we stayed in during our whole trip. The location was perfect and within walking distance of every major attraction. The food was tremendous. But as I said, what really made it stand apart was the hospitality and helpfulness of Aileen and Orla. When we first arrived they outlined everything that would be fun to do in Kinsale, made great recommendations for restaurants, bars, nightlife, tours, and everything else. They were by far the nicest owners that we came across in our trip, and that is saying something because everyone was very nice.

To conclude, if you are staying in the beautiful town of Kinsale, you must stay at at Cloisters!

-Michael and Liz

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mpb103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The Cloisters B&B offered us a great stay. The location is perfect; easy walking distance to all the shops, restaurants, pubs, yet just off the main street where it is a little more quite. Our room was nicely decorated, extremely clean and comfortable. We slept very well and appreciated the plush towels provided for our shower. The owners were very warm and friendly and offered us great recommendations for the area. Breakfast was very good and I especially loved the tea brack! Truly a lovely B&B. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shanti_seeker8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This is a beautiful place, clean and inviting, and a convenient walk to everything we wanted to see. Aileen and Orla were wonderful hosts. They took such good care of us with suggestions for places to eat as well as places to see as we headed out of town. This included calling ahead to the next town where we planned to go and making reservations for us at a B&B there, and even offering to help us with a flat tire on our rental car. The breakfast was fantastic.After a sleepless night on a trans-Atlantic flight, and driving from Dublin that day, it was heavenly to settle in to their cozy rooms and comfortable beds and get a much needed good night's sleep. I couldn't recommend the Cloisters more highly and hope to return some day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay. The location is close to everything and yet a block or so
Off the main streets so it is a quiet night sleep. The owners are most helpful and whip
Up an amazing breakfast. They also gave us great pub suggestions. Beds were very comfortable and clean. What more could one want?

Room Tip: There is no pool, I could not uncheck the above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Cloisters is situated in a fantastic area of Kinsale within walking distance to shops, cafes, pubs and restaurants and there is ample parking next door.
Orla and Ailene were very friendly and helpful with advice on the area, restaurants and what route to take on our following journey around Ireland.
Our room was very clean, spacious and airy with lovely decor, it had a comfortable queen bed in it as well as a single in it. There is also free wifi in all the rooms.
The bathroom was a step down and was also large, very clean with a good sized shower.
Breakfast was excellent the smoked salmon scrambled eggs were delicious.
Cloisters was a lovely experience in beautiful Kinsale.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindadownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
2.6 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
713 reviews
0.6 mi away
Landfall House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 53 in Kinsale
355 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rocklands House Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Pier House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloisters Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloisters Bed & Breakfast

Address: The Cloisters 2 Friars Street, Kinsale, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range: £62 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Cloisters Hotel Kinsale
Cloisters Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing