We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner Delight”
Review of Man Friday

Man Friday
Ranked #12 of 73 Restaurants in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dinner Delight”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Man Friday Restaurant is a hidden gem. It sits on a bluff overlooking the Kinsale harbor. We ate there based upon the recommendation of a local business owner we stopped to ask as he was locking up for the night. He said it was his and his wife's favorite restaurant for special occasions. We were the only tourists dining there that evening. The staff was exceptionally pleasant and genuinely concerned about providing great service. The food was also delicious; served at the proper temperature, seasoned to perfection and cooked as requested. Outstanding food, hospitality and service. Reflecting back after a two week vacation in Ireland, this was absolutely the best meal we enjoyed while in Ireland and there were many great dining experiences during our visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    464
    169
    67
    24
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rumson, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“View and Food Wonderful”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great service and food. We all loved our entrees - one was not up to par and the waitress noticed it wasn't eaten. Owners came over and apologized and then credited from our bill - very classy! Make sure you dine here - you won't regret it !!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Lamb chops-YUM!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

What a lovely setting and nicely decorated restaurant. The proprietors could not have been nicer about accommodating our large (13) group - reservation made. I started with the stuffed mushrooms which were excellent - filled with seasoned chopped mushrooms and very little breadcrumbs, perfect! I had he lamb chops, well-seasoned and good quality meat. Tasted the mussels, great. We shared desserts, my favorite was the meringue, crunchy but not dried it. All in all a lovely evening and worth a stop if you are staying in Kinsale.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nange25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top quality”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Had one of the best meals ever here Thai monkfish for main, It was unreal. Was about a year ago, all I can remembered is I loved everything I tried on the menu. Really fresh and tasty food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Simple and great”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Its not hard but not every restaurant can do it. Just take really good fresh food cook it just a enough and don't drown it in sauce. Man Friday's in Kinsale Ireland can do just that. Great staff, great food and great brown bread.

Thank you all I will be back.

C

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dublinboy911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Man Friday also viewed

 
Kinsale, County Cork
Kinsale, County Cork
 
Kinsale, County Cork
 

Been to Man Friday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing