We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful spiritual space”
Review of St Multose Church

St Multose Church
Book In Advance
More Info
US$96.47*
and up
Surf Lesson for Couples in Kinsale
Ranked #7 of 32 things to do in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Midlands, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Peaceful spiritual space”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

On a short visit from the midlands, we enjoyed a Sunday service in this wonderful Church of Ireland church with a warm welcome from our fellow worshippers. I haven't before seen wheelchair accessible pews which seemed to be well laid out and a very practical feature. The stained glass windows and altar layout were interesting. We would hope to return when we next get an opportunity.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank FeatherB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    45
    20
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, VA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Palm Sunday in Kinsale”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Taking an early morning walk in Kinsale, we walked by St. Multose Church. This is an ancient church with a beautiful cemetery. The church was open and we walked in to look at the stained glass. The organist (who was the minister's wife) was practicing the organ. She invited us in and gave us a short history of St. Multose. Unfortunately our bus was coming and we could not stop for services. I would have loved to do this.
The minister's wife (I would love to know her name) gave us palms, and showed us her beautiful palm sunday display (picture uploaded). After talking with her and seeing the cemetery, I felt like I had been to church.
I wished I would have stayed longer than 2 days in Kinsale. We took public transportation throughout Ireland and bus service is limited on Sunday. I think anyone planning a trip (who is not renting a car) should make plans that don't involve bus travel on Sunday. Buses left hourly from Kinsale, but our connection was limited to only one bus going to Dingle.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank quiltessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Oasis of peace & calm”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Ancient church of kinsale, quiet & peaceful with integrating stained glass, monuments and an ancient graveyard to explore.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 955maryo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
172 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Worthwhile stop”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

It doesn't take long to take it in, but make sure to stop in and view this old church. There are many old headstones outside. The inside has some interesting features. Anglican Church and it shows that character. You will enjoy seeing the stone baptismal font.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelpastor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York Beach, Maine
Level Contributor
127 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Old Anglican!! Church”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The church was locked up so we couldn't see the stained glass windows on the inside. So we walked around the church looking at the old gravestones. We were surprised that it was an anglican church, a rarity in Ireland

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trolleyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St Multose Church also viewed

Kinsale, County Cork
Kinsale, County Cork
 

Been to St Multose Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing