We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visit the oldest church in Ireland”
Review of St Multose Church

St Multose Church
Book In Advance
More Info
US$93.60*
and up
Surf Lesson for Couples in Kinsale
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
509 reviews
153 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Visit the oldest church in Ireland”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Dating from the 12th century & per dating the Reformation by some 400 years St Multose is believed to be the oldest church in continuous use in the whole of Ireland.

Under the care of the Church of Ireland (Anglican) there are regular Sunday Services - visitors are very welcome.

The building is an original stone building which was built "back in the day" without cement or mortar......the bricks fit together perfectly.

St Multose is well worth a visit......adequate car parking close by & plenty of refreshment stops also close by.

Helpful?
2 Thank Marguerite W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    43
    18
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Picturesque and Historic”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Just walking around Kinsale to get a feel for the place, we happened onto the grounds of St. Multose. The burial grounds were full of old tombstones, some bearing inscriptions of historic significance (such as the memorial to two victims of the "Lusitania outrage"), but many totally unreadable due to age and weathering (notice the lichen growth on some of them). We visited at dusk, and the place was deserted; don't even know if the church was open, and we didn't go inside. If we had had longer to visit, I would have gone back again. Maybe next time?

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank hypatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
1,838 reviews
1,038 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,230 helpful votes
“Interesting old church”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

This is an old 1190 Protestant church originally built by the Normans. St Multose is the Patron Saint of Kinsale. It is actually one of the oldest surviving churches in Ireland. Inside it looks rather simple but does have a number of artifacts like old epitaphs, memorials, tombstones. The stain glass windows are beautiful. One can take a self guided tour of the church with the help of a brochure available. Around the church there is an old cemetery also worth looking at and visiting.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank podrozniczka60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Peaceful spiritual space”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

On a short visit from the midlands, we enjoyed a Sunday service in this wonderful Church of Ireland church with a warm welcome from our fellow worshippers. I haven't before seen wheelchair accessible pews which seemed to be well laid out and a very practical feature. The stained glass windows and altar layout were interesting. We would hope to return when we next get an opportunity.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank FeatherB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, VA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Palm Sunday in Kinsale”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Taking an early morning walk in Kinsale, we walked by St. Multose Church. This is an ancient church with a beautiful cemetery. The church was open and we walked in to look at the stained glass. The organist (who was the minister's wife) was practicing the organ. She invited us in and gave us a short history of St. Multose. Unfortunately our bus was coming and we could not stop for services. I would have loved to do this.
The minister's wife (I would love to know her name) gave us palms, and showed us her beautiful palm sunday display (picture uploaded). After talking with her and seeing the cemetery, I felt like I had been to church.
I wished I would have stayed longer than 2 days in Kinsale. We took public transportation throughout Ireland and bus service is limited on Sunday. I think anyone planning a trip (who is not renting a car) should make plans that don't involve bus travel on Sunday. Buses left hourly from Kinsale, but our connection was limited to only one bus going to Dingle.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank quiltessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St Multose Church also viewed

 

Been to St Multose Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing