We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Irish bar experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White House

The White House
Ranked #11 of 73 Restaurants in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Seafood, European, Pub, Soups, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Banting, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Irish bar experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

The beer and food was first class.
We arrived to find a very busy bar with restaurant where the staff made us very welcome and slotted us into the restaurant as soon as they were able, less than a two pint wait.
Service was surprisingly fast given how busy the place was, good food and value for money.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Twitchyjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    192
    43
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We had been here 20 yrs ago and wanted to return for nostalgic reasons. We were seated in what seemed to be overflow room. No one else in it but the 2 of us. No music. Offered a drink which we ordered and then are waiter came back again and repeated the offer again..at this point we had our drinks in our hand brought by another server.Brought out my chowder. But forgot my spoon. Monk fish I got was tasty. But very small portion and our potato and veg a bit old looking. Not overly impressed with entire experience.

Helpful?
Thank kellysbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“seafood lovers unite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Easy to locate look for the gypsy wagon - expensive, however service and quality was very good. we had a table in a lovely location - on a platform - felt like a private room

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ag021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

After picking out the White House from many other places in Kinsale we enjoyed a lovely meal. Huge bowl of Mussels for me and Lamb Stew for the OH. Side of home cut chips rounded it off. Oh and excellent local beer too

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Beduffshirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We tried another Hotel when we were in Kinsale,but I have to say,The white house was by far the best.Service was terrific.plus the fact it was very reasonable

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Doreen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White House also viewed

 
Kinsale, County Cork
Kinsale, County Cork
 

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing