We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tierneys Guesthouse
Ranked #39 of 52 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 August 2013

What a fantastic place to stay , we will definitely be back. The staff went above and beyond , breakfast was yummy , rooms were very clean and cosy , would definitely pick over the big hotels , perfect location :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrlaandIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed one night at Tierneys over the Bank Holiday weekend. The staff could not have been more helpful with everything including the best place to park where to eat best night music places and what to do. The was small but is what we expected. The location could not be better. We had a back room and had no real problem with noise but a front room could be a problem because of its great location. The breakfast was a bit confusing with the continental or cooked only option. We would recommend this to anyone visiting Kinsale.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed here for two nights with friends. The lady who booked us in was brilliant, very polite and helpful. We arrived when it was very hot and the rooms were quite stuffy. The bedrooms are small but adequate and were clean. They have a small bathroom with shower but are very acceptable. Our friends' room faced the road which has some very good pubs etc. on it but it can be quite noisey late at night, especially if you have to leave the windows open due to the heat. On the whole the B&B was o.k. The only negative was breakfast. On the first morning the non-Irish staff, although forgetful, were pleasant and efficient, but on the second morning the Irish staff were less hospitable. I asked for a basic breakfast but requested a sausage. I was told by the waitress, whose customer skills had gone out with the tide, that I could not have one unless I paid a supplement. I decided to have a full Irish breakfast with black and white pudding but there was no offer of a rebate!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArtyOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

After a recent stay we were met a friendly lady who was happy to show us to our room we were pleasantly surprised at our room as it was a budget break. The location is fantastic right in the center of town of town,, The breakfast was a real treat LOVELY,
All in all it was a very surprising and lovely time

Gary & Sylvia

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed in Tierneys when in Kinsale. Perfectly located on the Main Street and central to all activities in the town. The room wasn't overly big but perfect as we didn't spend much time in the room anyway and had all that was required. We were on the second floor and luckly didn't have much luggage as there is no lift. There is no sitting area to relax in if you were staying for a few nights. Breakfast was served in the Lemon Leaf Cafe which is part of the building and was lovely very well cooked. Just slightly early as last breakfast is 10am! Checkout is 11.30am. A really great place to stay and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: A room to the back of the building would be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enniscorthy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Clean room, comfy bed, next to great music venues. This is great if you want to be in the thick of Kinsale with music and pubs surrounding. The staff is friendly and helpful; the atmosphere is laid back, and this delivers great value for money with breakfast included. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeresaOnTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Dirty, LOUD, and the smallest room I have ever seen! The "desk" staff (in an odd room) was not very helpful when we asked about dinner, we made a go of it on our own. We had to move rooms as we were first placed in a room facing the street that had an awkward slant that meant we could not stand up in most of it. And the NOISE, wow. For such a charming town, we missed the boat, should have stayed in a B&B, the town is tiny and easy to walk around so even a "far-away" accommodation would have worked for our needs.

Room Tip: Away from the street, views of the backyard are quite pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrelandorBust14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
725 reviews
0.1 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#14 of 52 in Kinsale
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rocklands House Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
White Lady Hotel
White Lady Hotel
#20 of 52 in Kinsale
178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Joy's Accommodation
Joy's Accommodation
#49 of 52 in Kinsale
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierneys Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierneys Guesthouse

Address: 70 Main Street, Kinsale, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range: £57 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tierneys Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, HostelWorld, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Tierneys Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierneys Guesthouse Hotel Kinsale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing