We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Position”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tierneys Guesthouse
Ranked #37 of 53 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Trafalgar, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Position”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

As I have said in the title this B and B is in a great position being right in the middle of the town but this does come with a down side. Music from a business near by went on until about 1am so if you want a good nights sleep maybe go elsewhere. We were not too concerned about it and slept well after the music finished. The rooms are small and the cleanliness of them could have been a bit better. Breakfast was the best I've had for most of our UK trip. They actually cooked the bacon and not just boiled it! So not a bad place to stay but I think it's over priced for what you get.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marcbar1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    51
    40
    21
    15
See reviews for
22
96
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Within walking distance to the many shops & restaurants Kinsale has to offer. This Guesthouse is centrally located within town. The breakfast is served at the cafe next door and was delicious. WiFi was free with a strong, consistent signal. I would highly recommend this Guesthouse for your visit to Kinsale.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

I would highly recommend this B&B. The price is very reasonable for Kinsale. The staff go out of their say to make their guests feel welcome. The location is ideal, everything is within walking distance. A car would just be a nuisance here. Our twin room was tiny but had everything that we needed and was very clean. The breakfast was served in the lovely bright cafe next door where the staff are also very welcoming and pleasant. The food was well made and served attractively. Kinsale is a lovely town well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicquilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Kinsale. The guesthouse staff were hands down the best thing about this accommodation. They were super sweet and helpful at every turn. The breakfast was fantastic in the cafe next door. Awesome staff there as well. I will allow that being in the midst of cobbled streets and bustling nightlife does make for a vibrant sleep experience. Make sure to ask for quiter rooms in the back if you're a light sleeper!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here on April 21, 2014. Room was small but perfect for two people for one night. Great location too and staff very helpful with giving us restaurant recommendations and a map of the town. We had a room that faced the back of the building so it was quiet. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieTravelstheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

An absolute gem in the centre of Kinsale. Perfectly located, friendly staff, terrific food and ideal for our visit. Would recommend it to anyone wishing to see Kinsale. Great jam and delicious coffee! This is the third time I've stayed here!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Andyc8713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Mary is the standout feature of this B and B. She is extremely helpful to guests, from finding a lost earring to looking up bus timetables to Cork. Mary's wit, warmth, dedication to the comfort of her guests and sense of humor made my stay much more pleasant than it would have been otherwise. The location is perfect, walkable to all of Kinsale's attractions.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
0.1 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
675 reviews
0.1 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#15 of 53 in Kinsale
47 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Bank House
Old Bank House
#14 of 53 in Kinsale
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pier House Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
White Lady Hotel
White Lady Hotel
#19 of 53 in Kinsale
175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Danabel Bed & Breakfast
Danabel Bed & Breakfast
#32 of 53 in Kinsale
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierneys Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierneys Guesthouse

Property: Tierneys Guesthouse
Address: 70 Main Street, Kinsale, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tierneys Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Tierneys Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierneys Guesthouse Hotel Kinsale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing