We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class B & B”
Review of Clenahoo House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carrick-on-Shannon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clenahoo House
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First class B & B”
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

If you need accomadation in Carrick On Shannon then book here. Our party of 8 stayed here for a special weekend visit 20/21 July, Noel & Deirdre could not be more welcoming and friendly, they really make you feel at home and go the extra mile, hoteliers should stay here to give them a bench mark to attempt to achieve.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damo777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
61
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

You saved us Noel and Deirdre ... arriving late after a big day on our end to end cycle in the heatwave. Clenahoo was like an oasis. Fantastic welcome, enjoyed the chat and the breakfast was sublime equivalent to any 5 star hotel. Only problem was the restless night - nothing whatsoever to do with bedroom but this was the hottest and most humid night Ireland has had in some time. Highly recommend this quality B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mahestephane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The bedroom and bathroom were better than a luxury hotel and the bed was blissfully comfortable. We had a great breakfast and an introduction to local history from Noel. Greatly recommended. There is lots to see in the surrounding area and lots to read: David Thompson's Woodbrook and everything by John McGahern.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Cannot rate this place highly, fabulous homely spacious rooms. Spotlessly clean, breakfast was another fantastic experience & 2 very lovely hosts, you wouldn't get this treatment in a five star hotel. Highly recommended & thank you again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, beautiful house , and Noel and Deirdre went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Noel even dropped us in to town. We were offered a drink on arrival, and there was bottled water in our room. Breakfast the next morning was Georgous, with a selection of breads , and hot croissants ! If in the area don't hesitate to stay as Clenahoo house is superb!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKELLY1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Chester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

After experiencing Clenahoo House, we really wonder why someone would choose to stay anywhere else in Carrick, or Ireland for that matter! The house and hosts, Noel and Deirdre, went above and beyond to ensure a relaxing and refreshing stay as we met with relations in the area as well as took in the local sights. We were traveling with our young children, ages 7 and 1 years-old, and the accommodations were very kid-friendly. In fact, Noel and Deirdre provided us with suggestions of day trips for the kids including Forest Park, the local swimming pool, a nearby jungle gym, the Moon River cruise (where Noel entertains a couple of days weekly we found out, and had everyone revved up with music and laughter), and various sightings that were highlights to our trip. Their help allowed for us as parents to relax all the more.
As for the house itself, Clenahoo is beautifully maintained and Deirdre takes great pride to make it feel like new for guests. The rooms were stocked with anything and everything we needed, and after making an odd request for a couple of things, Deirdre and Noel did what they could to make it happen. Also, the location of the house is only a short distance out from the town center, which was something that we liked given how the town and noise pick up during the weekend. There were multiple breakfast selections that suited the varied tastes of my family. My wife is a picky eater who was able to find a couple of items she liked, my older daughter was in heaven with the French toast, and I ended up with the full Irish breakfast on more mornings than I planned, but it was difficult to pass up. Regardless of what was ordered, each dish was brought out nicely laid with flourishes you'd find at a fine restaurant.
For our first vacation in a few years, and our first time traveling with two young children, our stay at Clenahoo House gave us all the comforts we could have wanted. We couldn't have asked for a more perfect or memorable stay starting upon our greeting at arrival to our final breakfast prior to departing. Noel and Deirdre exemplify the generous and welcoming characteristics that make the Irish beloved worldwide.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Our family made the trip to Carrick-on-Shannon to investigate our irish roots! Our hosts, Deirdre and Noel were so helpful with suggestions that lead to some wonderful discoveries. We reserved two different rooms with connecting bathrooms and both were very comfortable. The welcome we received upon our arrival was lovely---tea, yummies and good conversation! Everyday my morning began with hard decisions--what to choose from Deirdre's breakfast choices. EVERYTHING was SO GOOD! I just wanted to keep eating and eating. We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Carrick-on-Shannon and will be back to continue our journey. Clenahoo House will be our "home base" choice again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrick-on-Shannon
2.3 mi away
Leitrim Marina Hotel
Leitrim Marina Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leitrim
233 reviews
6.9 mi away
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Drumshanbo
846 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bush Hotel
Bush Hotel
#1 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Carrick Plaza Suites
Carrick Plaza Suites
#4 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
154 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aisleigh Guest House
Aisleigh Guest House
#4 of 22 in Carrick-on-Shannon
79 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#8 of 22 in Carrick-on-Shannon
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clenahoo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clenahoo House

Property: Clenahoo House
Address: Leitrim Road | Ballynamony, Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Leitrim > Carrick-on-Shannon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Carrick-on-Shannon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open seasonally from Easter to the end of September, Clenahoo House offers friendly and luxurious accommodations, approved to the highest national standard, on a private 1 ½ acres of well kept lawns with rolling hills as a backdrop. Guests can enjoy the peaceful surroundings with the hustle and bustle of Main Street only a short walk away. A perfect destination for both local and international travelers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing