We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Clenahoo House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carrick-on-Shannon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clenahoo House
Certificate of Excellence
Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

I referred two American visitors to this wonderful Guest House and they reported it was "perfect in every way", particularly the interaction with the owners who "couldn't do enough for us". It is only a few minutes' walk from the centre of Carrick-on-Shannon, in a lovely area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCD61049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
61
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Outstanding! Noel and Deirdre were wonderful hosts and it genuinely felt as though we were visiting long-time family friends. Big bedroom, spotless bathroom, excellent breakfast and great chat! All this for €80 per night...

If you'e staying in this neck of the woods, look NO further...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank banjaxed5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

If you need accomadation in Carrick On Shannon then book here. Our party of 8 stayed here for a special weekend visit 20/21 July, Noel & Deirdre could not be more welcoming and friendly, they really make you feel at home and go the extra mile, hoteliers should stay here to give them a bench mark to attempt to achieve.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damo777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

You saved us Noel and Deirdre ... arriving late after a big day on our end to end cycle in the heatwave. Clenahoo was like an oasis. Fantastic welcome, enjoyed the chat and the breakfast was sublime equivalent to any 5 star hotel. Only problem was the restless night - nothing whatsoever to do with bedroom but this was the hottest and most humid night Ireland has had in some time. Highly recommend this quality B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mahestephane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

The bedroom and bathroom were better than a luxury hotel and the bed was blissfully comfortable. We had a great breakfast and an introduction to local history from Noel. Greatly recommended. There is lots to see in the surrounding area and lots to read: David Thompson's Woodbrook and everything by John McGahern.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Cannot rate this place highly, fabulous homely spacious rooms. Spotlessly clean, breakfast was another fantastic experience & 2 very lovely hosts, you wouldn't get this treatment in a five star hotel. Highly recommended & thank you again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, beautiful house , and Noel and Deirdre went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Noel even dropped us in to town. We were offered a drink on arrival, and there was bottled water in our room. Breakfast the next morning was Georgous, with a selection of breads , and hot croissants ! If in the area don't hesitate to stay as Clenahoo house is superb!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKELLY1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrick-on-Shannon
2.3 mi away
Leitrim Marina Hotel
Leitrim Marina Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leitrim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bush Hotel
Bush Hotel
#2 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
1.0 mi away
Carrick Plaza Suites
Carrick Plaza Suites
#4 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Landmark Hotel
Landmark Hotel
#1 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
6.9 mi away
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Drumshanbo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aisleigh Guest House
Aisleigh Guest House
#4 of 22 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clenahoo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clenahoo House

Property: Clenahoo House
Address: Leitrim Road | Ballynamony, Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Leitrim > Carrick-on-Shannon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Carrick-on-Shannon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open seasonally from Easter to the end of September, Clenahoo House offers friendly and luxurious accommodations, approved to the highest national standard, on a private 1 ½ acres of well kept lawns with rolling hills as a backdrop. Guests can enjoy the peaceful surroundings with the hustle and bustle of Main Street only a short walk away. A perfect destination for both local and international travelers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing