We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish I Could've Stayed Longer”
Review of Clenahoo House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carrick-on-Shannon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clenahoo House
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wish I Could've Stayed Longer”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

From the moment i arrived I was made feel welcome like an old friend. I'm not sure what i can add to the other reviews: Clenahoo was easy to find in a nice quite spot outside Carrick-on-Shannon, but close enough to be only a 5 or 10 min walk from the town centre. Cannot fault my room in anyway-spacious, comfortable, clean and everything was catered for. You will not leave this B&B hungry as the breakfast was fit for a king. Noel and Deirdre were wonderful hosts and cannot recommend this B&B highly enough if you are staying in this area. Top marks all round!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agent_meister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
61
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sulimanayah iraq
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

myself and my father went there and stayed the weekend.
he was booked in, i was planning to stay elsewhere
i explained i needed a room and the lady of the house was more than willing to help
the price was super
the room was 5 stars
the breakfast was cooked to perfection
they can not do enough to help us
if im ever back in the area 100% i will be staying again

richard and andy

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richardandandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorestown, NJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed with Deirdre & Noel for 2 nights at Clenahoo House after a week on an organized tour. It was a perfect location to relax and we felt as though we were visiting with long lost relatives, they made us feel so welcome. We were a group of 7 and they instantly offered us ice tea (so refreshing during the Irish heat wave) and great conversation around their kitchen table.

The breakfasts were the best we encountered on our entire trip and the accommodations were spotless and comfortable. Our first night, there was a football match going on in Carrick-on-Shannon which created an overwhelming amount of traffic, but we had no problem getting a cab to take us in to town for dinner and the stroll back afterwards was very pleasant.

I would return to Clenahoo House in a heartbeat and would highly recommend it to those looking to stay near Carrick-on-Shannon.

Room Tip: All the rooms have private baths, are spacious and comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grahamslaterfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I referred two American visitors to this wonderful Guest House and they reported it was "perfect in every way", particularly the interaction with the owners who "couldn't do enough for us". It is only a few minutes' walk from the centre of Carrick-on-Shannon, in a lovely area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCD61049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Outstanding! Noel and Deirdre were wonderful hosts and it genuinely felt as though we were visiting long-time family friends. Big bedroom, spotless bathroom, excellent breakfast and great chat! All this for €80 per night...

If you'e staying in this neck of the woods, look NO further...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank banjaxed5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

If you need accomadation in Carrick On Shannon then book here. Our party of 8 stayed here for a special weekend visit 20/21 July, Noel & Deirdre could not be more welcoming and friendly, they really make you feel at home and go the extra mile, hoteliers should stay here to give them a bench mark to attempt to achieve.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damo777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

You saved us Noel and Deirdre ... arriving late after a big day on our end to end cycle in the heatwave. Clenahoo was like an oasis. Fantastic welcome, enjoyed the chat and the breakfast was sublime equivalent to any 5 star hotel. Only problem was the restless night - nothing whatsoever to do with bedroom but this was the hottest and most humid night Ireland has had in some time. Highly recommend this quality B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mahestephane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrick-on-Shannon
2.3 mi away
Leitrim Marina Hotel
Leitrim Marina Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leitrim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bush Hotel
Bush Hotel
#2 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
1.0 mi away
Carrick Plaza Suites
Carrick Plaza Suites
#4 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Landmark Hotel
Landmark Hotel
#1 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
6.9 mi away
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Drumshanbo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aisleigh Guest House
Aisleigh Guest House
#4 of 21 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clenahoo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clenahoo House

Property: Clenahoo House
Address: Leitrim Road | Ballynamony, Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Leitrim > Carrick-on-Shannon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Carrick-on-Shannon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open seasonally from Easter to the end of September, Clenahoo House offers friendly and luxurious accommodations, approved to the highest national standard, on a private 1 ½ acres of well kept lawns with rolling hills as a backdrop. Guests can enjoy the peaceful surroundings with the hustle and bustle of Main Street only a short walk away. A perfect destination for both local and international travelers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing