We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pampered”
Review of Clenahoo House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carrick-on-Shannon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clenahoo House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2013

One of the most beautiful, comfortable B&B ever encountered.
We felt totally spoilt in sheer elegance . Close to the Shannon, peaceful & quiet.
Our hosts Deidre & Noel most gracious. Breakfast delightfully presented. The experience a highlight of 6 weeks of travel around Ireland.

Room Tip: A must to simple relax and soak in the ambience .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed for one night with my Mum & sisters as we were attending a family event nearby. Deirdre & Noel were the perfect hosts, right from the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were lovely and clean and the breakfast was amazing, try the pancakes and fresh berries - fab!! Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orla65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Near the end of our trip through Ireland in July, my husband and I stayed at Clenahoo House. We
had had wonderful experiences throughout with our B a B's and couldn't imagine topping them. We think we did with Deirdre and Noel's lovely accommodations. We were welcomed in with a cool drink and a lovely chat and we felt at home. What a charming and interesting couple. It was hard to head off to town to sight see. They gave us a great recommendation for dinner and Deirdre's breakfast was excellent. The room was lovely and I loved the bathroom and jacuzzi tub!
It was the conversation that we loved the most. People asked why we traveled through the middle of the country and our answer was so we could meet two of the nicest people in Ireland.

Room Tip: The deluxe double was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My Wife and I and family stayed at Cleanahoo House from 23rd August
to 26th August Noel and Deirdre the owners were a very friendly couple'
The breakfast every morning was excellent, with a large selection of lovely things to eat. Our room was en suite with a lovely shower,
a TV and was spotlessly clean. I have stayed in many 5x hotels in
the past ,and Cleanahoo house would definitely give any of them a run
for their money.
there is no doubt in my mind that Cleanahoo House is a
fantastic place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank remote2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

From the moment i arrived I was made feel welcome like an old friend. I'm not sure what i can add to the other reviews: Clenahoo was easy to find in a nice quite spot outside Carrick-on-Shannon, but close enough to be only a 5 or 10 min walk from the town centre. Cannot fault my room in anyway-spacious, comfortable, clean and everything was catered for. You will not leave this B&B hungry as the breakfast was fit for a king. Noel and Deirdre were wonderful hosts and cannot recommend this B&B highly enough if you are staying in this area. Top marks all round!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agent_meister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

myself and my father went there and stayed the weekend.
he was booked in, i was planning to stay elsewhere
i explained i needed a room and the lady of the house was more than willing to help
the price was super
the room was 5 stars
the breakfast was cooked to perfection
they can not do enough to help us
if im ever back in the area 100% i will be staying again

richard and andy

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richardandandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed with Deirdre & Noel for 2 nights at Clenahoo House after a week on an organized tour. It was a perfect location to relax and we felt as though we were visiting with long lost relatives, they made us feel so welcome. We were a group of 7 and they instantly offered us ice tea (so refreshing during the Irish heat wave) and great conversation around their kitchen table.

The breakfasts were the best we encountered on our entire trip and the accommodations were spotless and comfortable. Our first night, there was a football match going on in Carrick-on-Shannon which created an overwhelming amount of traffic, but we had no problem getting a cab to take us in to town for dinner and the stroll back afterwards was very pleasant.

I would return to Clenahoo House in a heartbeat and would highly recommend it to those looking to stay near Carrick-on-Shannon.

Room Tip: All the rooms have private baths, are spacious and comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grahamslaterfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carrick-on-Shannon hotels
1 mi away
Carrick Plaza Suites
Carrick Plaza Suites
#4 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
162 reviews
2.3 mi away
Leitrim Marina Hotel
Leitrim Marina Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leitrim
260 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bush Hotel
Bush Hotel
#1 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Landmark Hotel
Landmark Hotel
#2 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
542 reviews
0.8 mi away
Leitrim Inn Lodge
Leitrim Inn Lodge
#13 of 21 in Carrick-on-Shannon
75 reviews
1 mi away
B-Side Hostel
B-Side Hostel
#8 of 11 in Carrick-on-Shannon
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clenahoo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clenahoo House

Address: Leitrim Road | Ballynamony, Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Leitrim > Carrick-on-Shannon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Carrick-on-Shannon
Price Range: £22 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open seasonally from Easter to the end of September, Clenahoo House offers friendly and luxurious accommodations, approved to the highest national standard, on a private 1 ½ acres of well kept lawns with rolling hills as a backdrop. Guests can enjoy the peaceful surroundings with the hustle and bustle of Main Street only a short walk away. A perfect destination for both local and international travelers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing