We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hosts and terrific service”
Review of Clenahoo House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carrick-on-Shannon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clenahoo House
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Friendly hosts and terrific service”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We were a group of cyclists in need of a good nights rest. We found it here. Warmly welcomed by our friendly hosts Noel and Deidre for whom nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was amazing - great choice and all excellent. Again our hosts made a point of seeing us off on our onward journey.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank helen07Plano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
61
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Letterkenny, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I stayed here for two nights in March with my Boyfriend, and it is by far the best stay I've had anywhere Deirdre and Noel are just the most lovely couple you could meet they made us feel right at home when we first walked through their door and were so helpful with everything, the rooms are really nice and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and there is sooo much of it you definitely wouldn't have to go looking for more. The location is ideal just minutes from the town centre of Carrick on Shannon and from Leitrim village. I would definitely recommend anyone thinking on visiting Carrick or Leitrim to stay here it is an absolutely Fantastic Stay :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieGib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed with Deirdre and Noel at Easter 2013. It was wonderful. We had my 86 year old mother who is disabled, two children and my husband and I. We all loved our stay. It was really relaxing and welcoming and our hosts kindly facilitated the Easter Bunny in the garden! THe house and rooms were fabulous and the breakfast was delicious. I couldnt recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Lovely downstairs room downstairs for disabled travellers
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mai M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My wife, brother and sister-in-law were traveling around Ireland, seeing the sites and visiting relatives, and decided to spend the night in Carrick-on-Shannon. A nice village along the shore of the River Shannon. My sister-in-law had an Irish B&B guide and found Clenahoo House listed. She called the owners -- Noel & Dierdre Mulhern -- and they said they had space available. Imagine our surprise when we drove up to a beautiful two-story mini-mansion sitting on gorgeous property! Noel greeted us at the door with a big smile on his face and welcomed us home. The home inside is as beautiful as it is from the outside. We were given a room which would serve as a master bedroom in most homes in the US -- large, spacious and modern, with wonderful touches throughout. Noel & Dierdre were very friendly throughout our visit and always willing to chat. The breakfast the next morning was very lovely -- Dierdre is a wonderful cook and does a great job of presentation. Oh, and Noel is quite the man-servant! We will absolutely keep this B&B on our list of places to visit again ... and the readers of this review will find the same, should they have an opportunity to stop in Carrick-on-Shannon.

Room Tip: Ask for the front room on the main level -- fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Britain, Connecticut
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I stayed there for one night in October 2013. The hosts, Noel and Dierdre were wonderful and very hepful with travel, genealogy research and restaurant advice. Lovely, very nice, and well kept B&B. One of the nicest B&Bs I have stayed. Easy to find and good location for Carrick-on-Shannon/ Co Leitrim visits.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuMurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

A wonderful stay in this beautiful B&B, it's more like home from home than a B&B. Luxury and comforting rooms, I would definitely recommend anyone visiting Carrick on Shannon to stay here. Owners Noel & Deirdre are fantastic hosts and went out of their way to make you feel comfortable, offered to pick us up from train station and drop us back into town. 5* without question. Thankyou for a lovely weekend.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleMiss1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed in Carrick while we visited with family around the area. Deirdre and Noel were wonderful hosts, warm and welcoming. Clenahoo House is the most lovely B&B we have stayed in and would have stayed longer if our travel plans permitted. The room are luxurious, the breakfast superb, the location ideal and there was parking, not always available in other B&B's. I would recommend it to anyone as a highlight of Ireland. My husband, sister and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the fireside chats at the end of each day and thank Deidre and Noel for such a fabulous stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrick-on-Shannon
2.3 mi away
Leitrim Marina Hotel
Leitrim Marina Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leitrim
223 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bush Hotel
Bush Hotel
#1 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
424 reviews
6.9 mi away
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Drumshanbo
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Carrick Plaza Suites
Carrick Plaza Suites
#4 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
150 reviews
1.1 mi away
Landmark Hotel
Landmark Hotel
#2 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
487 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aisleigh Guest House
Aisleigh Guest House
#4 of 21 in Carrick-on-Shannon
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clenahoo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clenahoo House

Property: Clenahoo House
Address: Leitrim Road | Ballynamony, Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Leitrim > Carrick-on-Shannon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Carrick-on-Shannon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open seasonally from Easter to the end of September, Clenahoo House offers friendly and luxurious accommodations, approved to the highest national standard, on a private 1 ½ acres of well kept lawns with rolling hills as a backdrop. Guests can enjoy the peaceful surroundings with the hustle and bustle of Main Street only a short walk away. A perfect destination for both local and international travelers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing