We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Party”
Review of Bush Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bush Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We chose the Bush Hotel for my fathers 60th Birthday party last weekend. We had a party of 21 and the staff at the hotel were great. The food was lovely and the service was fantastic. A good night was had by all. I would recommend the hotel for family get togethers and parties

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Ciara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

I stayed for a weekend in October. The service and location was great, it was right in the middle of the town. I went down to see a few old friends from school and they told me to stay here.
The room was really spacious and warm. I had a great sleep and there was no noise that disrupted my sleep either.
The breakfast was brilliant there was loads of variety. The service on the hotel during my stay was great too everyone there went out of there way to make my stay really good.
There was also loads to see in the town of carrick-on-Shannon. When I get a chance again and some I am definitely going to stay there again.
Really enjoyed
Thanks to all the staff at The Bush Hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidSmall94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel last weekend and I was shocked at how bad the room was. I & 2 others shared a triple room (no. 51). There was damp on the walls and roof, the bases for the beds were dirty and broken which led to a terrible nights sleep. The bathroom was disgracefully dirty with a shower which had you dancing around trying to catch the few drops which fell out of it. There was a doorway in the room which sparked curiosity. When we opened it there was a stairs which led to a plasterboard wall. I dread to think what was behind it!!
Ours was not the only room which was substandard. Other members of our party also had major complaints.
Words cannot describe how this hotel can get away with the standard of room we were given. This hotel needs to take a serious look at itself. I for one will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

But...it falls down on a few things...first off, booking was easy, checking in was easy...but d lift didn't work, the bar doesn't open this time of year!!!! Poor menu choice...tv only had 2 stations..breakfast was poor..Oj was awful, cooked breakfast overdone...I think I'll try somewhere else next time

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Carraiglodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I was in Carrick for my brothers stag party. The hotel is nice, clean and modern enough. Decent bar and the Wifi was alright depending on what room you had. Its a "Stag and Hen friendly" hotel so they are well use to people falling in the door drunk in the wee hours. Only stayed the one night but it suited our needs perfectly.
Breakfast was decent too.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gavin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed two nights. Room, staff were just what we were hoping for as simple Irish Americans there to find ancestors. Room was clean and well appointed. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We were loaned a telephone book for the day to help my wife find names and locales for her late grandmother's family, and given much advice regarding the surrounding countryside.
Breakfast was served by polite waitstaff and was ample. My wife preferred porridge while I overdid it with "traditional" breakfasts.

Our only complaint was that a group of very loud, boisterous young men and women became our neighbors on our second night. The men yelled, the women cried, and they banged on the doors and walls for a while. Then they settled down, only to start up again in the very early morning.
Yes, we we're upset, but in fairness to the staff we didn't complain when we checked out. Our fault. We were in a hurry to drive to Cobh and see/learn more about our family.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDR0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

i am just back from a hen wend in the bush hotel, from the minute we walked in we were looked after by collette and all the staff, rooms were spotless, breakfast was great , and its in a perfect location, staff were extremely friendly, and helpfull, and we even got rounds of fabulous sandwhiches in the middle of our drinking session, i cannot praise the hotel enough & would definately reccommend it for a hen night, well done to the management & staff on a fantastic job:-)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrick-on-Shannon
0.2 mi away
Carrick Plaza Suites
Carrick Plaza Suites
#4 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
166 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Landmark Hotel
The Landmark Hotel
#2 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
547 reviews
3.2 mi away
Leitrim Marina Hotel
Leitrim Marina Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leitrim
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#1 of 3 in Roscommon
710 reviews
24.2 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
20.4 mi away
Viewmount House
Viewmount House
#1 of 2 in Longford
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bush Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bush Hotel

Address: Main Street, Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Leitrim > Carrick-on-Shannon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Carrick-on-Shannon
Price Range: £81 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bush Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bush Hotel, Carrick on Shannon is a charming award winning boutique Hotel with open fires, themed lounges and bars, coffee shop and restaurant, chic bedrooms along with extensive and flexible conferencing and banqueting facilities seamlessly blending modern day living with old world charm. The Bush Hotel is steeped in history, charm and character with many memorabilia from the past. Ideal location in the town centre of Carrick on Shannon just off the main Dublin to Sligo Road (N4) close to all amenities with the River Shannon just a short stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bush Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bush Hotel Carrick On Shannon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing