We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I didn't want to leave!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Landmark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Landmark Hotel
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I didn't want to leave!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed here for two nights last week, the decor and build quality of the hotel and its rooms is superb. Very different to anything we have stayed in before. The bed (and my God, the pillows!) were the best we've ever had, including those from 5 Star Hotels!I didn't want to leave. (I wish checkout was 5 pm instead of 11 am!) Wifi was superfast. Fantastic location for everything in Carrick on Shannon, excellent service, friendliest staff and great decor! Hope to stay there again soon. By far my favourite place to stay in the northwest. def is the "best budget luxury" hotel. Free movies, a huge bedroom and a relaxing mood light bathroom. The downstairs bar will have you drooling over the designer chairs and lighting decor – wishing your home could look this cool.

Room Tip: book 2/3 weeks in advance for a better value as the hotel is always very busy for weedings in weeken...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank josh7519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandmarkHotelCarrick, Director of Sales at Landmark Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear josh7519,

What lovely heartfelt words, thank you so much for taking the time to provide such a positive and descriptive review. We are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us; your compliments have been passed on to all departments. We take great pride in our work and in the décor of the hotel, dinning areas, bar and bedrooms. We believe in delivering quality in everything we do and it is always wonderful to hear that guests recognise our attention to quality so again thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Landmark Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Aoife McCormack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    112
    64
    21
    14
See reviews for
96
132
23
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dareton Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Excellent accommodation overlooking Shannon River. Easy walking distance to town centre. Staff very friendly & helpful. Breakfast excellent - breakfast room staff very friendly & happy. Rooms a good size with opening windows.

Room Tip: Ask for room over looking the Shannon - tranquil water views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenny31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandmarkHotelCarrick, Director of Sales at Landmark Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Glenny31,

Thank you for the review, we appreciate you taking the time to write and we are glad to hear how you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pride in our food and facilities; we have passed your compliments onto all departments. Again thank you, we appreciate your review.

Kind Regards,
Aoife McCormack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitegate, Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

I visited this hotel for a 2 night stay with B&B and evening meal. I really don't know where to start. The staff at this hotel have to be one of their most valuable assets. From the Receptionists, to the housekeeping staff, the waiters, waitresses, attendants, bar staff and night club staff, you could not ask to meet a more pleasant and helpful group of people. Morning, noon or night they had a smile and a pleasant word for everyone, nothing was too much bother and always had a minute to chat. The breakfasts were wonderful with an excellent range of choice and served to the table. Our evening meal was included in our price and wow! It was just delicious. The dining room was full, there was also a wedding on in the hotel and still our food was served promptly and piping hot. The starter of Salmon & Cream Cheese Terrine was to die for, compliments to the chef. The steaks were beautifully cooked and the brandy sauce was fab. Water at the table was replenished constantly and even though Amanda was really busy she kept us well looked after. The hotel itself is spotless, well maintained and the bedrooms are very comfortable. I believe they have weddings every Friday and Saturday and I can see why - fabulous food, wonderful staff, plenty of parking and great location looking out onto the river. Even the nightclub staff on a busy Saturday night had time to make eye contact when serving and do so with a smile, not something one always experiences, would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and will certainly be back when next in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joannoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandmarkHotelCarrick, Director of Sales at Landmark Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear joannoel,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your experience with The Landmark Hotel, we have passed your many compliments along to our team. We love to hear from our customers and to receive such positive feedback is a testament to all of our hard working team. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Landmark again some day.

Kind Regards,

Aoife McCormack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Went here for a meal on the recommendation of a friend. Great food, bar was busy but the hostess managed to find us seats which were perfect. Our wait was very attentive, we had some special orders and he was accommodating and happy to help. Food was excellent when it arrived, all piping hot and fresh. We stayed for a few drinks in the lovely bar, very modern with plenty of space. It was so good we returned for breakfast the following day which was also excellent. We had a very helpful waitress and there was no problem ordering extra coffee and toast. Would love to stay in the hotel in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandmarkHotelCarrick, Director of Sales at Landmark Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Colin C,

We are so happy that you enjoyed your meal in the Boardwalk Café, so much in fact that you returned the next morning for breakfast. We aim to please all of our guests and our best asset is of course our hard working staff. It is wonderful to receive such positive feedback, we are so grateful to you for sharing your experience and letting us know that all of your needs were met by The Landmark, thank you for taking the time. We look forward to the day you return to stay with us.

Kind Regards,
Aoife McCormack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbliss, Monaghan, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Spent a week-end in June. When we arrived were met by a very pleasant girl called Fiona who went out of her way to make us feel at home straight away. She booked us into a front room overlooking the Marina. Everything about our stay was great, food excellent, breakfast was lovely and our main meal in the evening was fantastic. We also met a girl called Finnola(not sure of the spelling) who was so chatty and spent some time with us talking and also made us feel at home. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our time there. Thanks to all the staff and not forgetting Ashling who checked us out, very pleasant. We look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandmarkHotelCarrick, Director of Sales at Landmark Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Heather D,

Thank you for the lovely review, we have passed your compliments on to Fiona, Finola and Ailish. It is always great to hear our guests say that our staff have been friendly, warm and professional. We constantly strive to deliver service excellence and of course a warm friendly welcome. Again - thank you for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Aoife McCormack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westmeath
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

It was my first time in Carrick on Shannon and this place was recommened by friends.Wow how right they were. what a fab little gem..We had lunch which was beautiful , service was first class.will defo be back

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank hotmammaWestmeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandmarkHotelCarrick, Director of Sales at Landmark Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear hotmammaWestmeath,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Carrick-on-Shannon; it really is a lovely town that always offers a warm welcome to visitors. Here at the Landmark we work hard to deliver service excellence and we were delighted to learn that you found our food and service to be first class. Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to write the review.

Warm Regards,
Aoife McCormack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

i recently stayed in the landmark hotel ,when i arrived it was very busy myself and my wife were met by a lovely lady on reception who has exceptional knowledge of the area ,where to go and what to see was no problem to her which made our sight seeing very easy on our 3 day stay she seemed to be there all the time and was so plesent and helpfull what a gem for any hotel to have.we had the most lovely food that we never considered eating any where else,only on the last night stay we noticed a manager i think northen we didnt like her bad attitude towards staff .
the bedroom was lovely very clean ,decor needs to be updated but looked after very well.
breakfast was yummy and a lovely girl rachel served us.
we had the most relaxing stay ,we cant understand where you got the last bad review

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pygmy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandmarkHotelCarrick, Director of Sales at Landmark Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear pygmy27,

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay in The Landmark. Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review and for complimenting our food, our team and the service that you received. We work hard to ensure that we achieve excellence across the board, one of the ways we measure this is through customer feedback both positive and negative. As always we have passed your feedback onto our team. Once again – thank you for the review and we look forward to welcoming both you and your wife to The Landmark again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Aoife McCormack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrick-on-Shannon
0.1 mi away
Bush Hotel
Bush Hotel
#2 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carrick Plaza Suites
Carrick Plaza Suites
#4 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
3.4 mi away
Leitrim Marina Hotel
Leitrim Marina Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leitrim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Drumshanbo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
22.4 mi away
Castle Dargan
Castle Dargan
#1 of 1 in Ballygawley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
9.0 mi away
Kilronan Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landmark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landmark Hotel

Property: Landmark Hotel
Address: Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Leitrim > Carrick-on-Shannon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Carrick-on-Shannon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Landmark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landmark Hotel Carrick On Shannon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing