We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The breakfast saved my life...twice”
Review of Ciuin House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ciuin House
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I stayed in Ciuin house in March this year and cannot say enough nice things about this place! From the owner's chats/helpful advice and taxi-ringing services, to the comfiest beds I've ever stayed in in Ireland Ciuin House wins best bed-and-breakfast in the country hands down. It was like a swanky hotel but like a hotel you live in and feel totally at home in.
12 marks out of 10 go to the breakfast: cereal, an array of juices, yoghurt, fruit, muffins and croissants, toast, tea and coffee and this is all before your custom-designed fry arrives out!
I was there on a girls' weekend and will definitely go back. We were given run of the lounge/drinking area and provided with anything we wanted, whenever we wanted (more ice, multiple glasses for various drinks, shot glasses while we waited for the taxi). Had great chats with the extremely sound ow

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete-Schamprish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiuinHouse, Manager at Ciuin House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you very much for your great review. You seem to have stayed here before we took over in May this year, however, the breakfast and facilities are just as good. Glad you enjoyed it and hopefully you will come visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

My partner and I stayed here with our toddler and it was excellent. As per the description it is a luxury guesthouse. We were visiting family stayed for one night. It is spacious, modern, clean, comfortable and quiet. I was so impressed. Breakfast was included, simple but nice. Would suggest maybe a bigger selection on the continental breakfast but other than that would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ring and ask if you have family that is, our baby was starting to crawl so the double guest room hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DKNY2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiuinHouse, Manager at Ciuin House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you very much for this lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you with us. We appreciate any feedback given to us as it allows us to correct or address any issues that a guest may have had so that it does not happen again in the future. Our guests experience is most important and we want each and every one of our guests to have a good one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

stayed at ciuin house for a stags party, i thought a stag party wouldnt last long in a hotel, but the staff were bloody brilliant, they had the craic with us the whole time, although we were loud and partying till 7/8 in the morning at times they put up with us for 2 nights, the food was beautiful and the beers went down sweet, thanks for the deadly weekend, delighted we chose to stay there.

Room Tip: just talk 2 kathy Early shes mad sound and can sort anything out
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bren f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiuinHouse, Manager at Ciuin House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for this positive review. Carrick on Shannon is the hen & stag party capital at the moment so Ciuin House is not so 'Ciuin' on some of our Saturday nights. With that in mind we can accommodate both the party goers and the non party goers and we will always let people know in advance if there is a large group booking, this is why Ciuin House works so well. It's great to hear that you had such a great weekend with us, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us and hopefully we will see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

Our experience has been that small hotel owners always try to make you comfortable but Cathy who just took over running the House in July 2013, went over and above.

Aside from the incredible hospitality the House just felt comfortable. A great find!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RUStillmoving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiuinHouse, Manager at Ciuin House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you very much for this lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I hope you will return to us again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Just returned from a brilliant stay here with 16 girls on a hen night, the staff were so helpful and friendly, nothing was to much trouble, the rooms were clean and comfortable and the food was fantastic, would definitely recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicolamacrory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiuinHouse, Manager at Ciuin House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

On behalf of the team here at Ciuin House we would like to say Thank you to this reviewer for the positive review. We strive to deliver excellent customer service, to greet everyone warmly and in a friendly manner to help them enjoy their break away. We were delighted to have you stay with us and we hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

we have just spent two nights at the ciuin house and we cant recommend it enough .The rooms were spacious and spotless and not too expensive. Set in a beautiful part of Ireland , two things made it stand out. Firstly the staff were excellent. Nothing was too much trouble and they made you feel very welcome. The second thing was the restuarant . Just recently opened it caters for guests and non guests . The food was as good as we have had in a long time and the waitering staff were first class. I couldent recommend it enough. One word of warning. At the weekend Carrick on shannon is the stag and hen party centre of Ireland so go during the week if you are looking for a quiet break

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eundoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiuinHouse, Manager at Ciuin House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

On behalf of all of us here at Ciuin House, we would like to say thank you for your excellent review of our property. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will return to stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

13 stags stayed in ciuin house over paddys weekend and we couldn't say enough about the place. Firstly the place was spotless. The rooms were spacious and would rival any hotel. The owner was very friendly and cooked a superb breakfast in the morning. I have no doubt will will return to carrick on shannon in future and we will definately be booking this guesthouse again. Top marks, superb guesthouse.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fr_Caseys_GAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carrick-on-Shannon hotels
1.5 mi away
Carrick Plaza Suites
Carrick Plaza Suites
#4 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
158 reviews
0.5 mi away
Leitrim Inn Lodge
Leitrim Inn Lodge
#14 of 21 in Carrick-on-Shannon
74 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#6 of 21 in Carrick-on-Shannon
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Leitrim Marina Hotel
Leitrim Marina Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leitrim
258 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bush Hotel
Bush Hotel
#1 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
452 reviews
1.6 mi away
Landmark Hotel
Landmark Hotel
#3 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ciuin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciuin House

Address: Hartley, Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Leitrim > Carrick-on-Shannon
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Carrick-on-Shannon
Price Range: £78 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ciuin House is a high quality low cost B&B facilitating group accommodation. Ciuin House can accommodate 42 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ciuin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing