We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely family hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cryan's Quay Side Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carrick-on-Shannon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cryan's Quay Side Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely family hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013 via mobile

I stay here regularly and would recommend them to most people. The breakfast isn't great and hasn't changed over the years...still get bread and toast, even if you don't ask for it. Plus it's deep fried food. But the hotel is great value and clean and staff are great.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank anon186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    36
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
36
38
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
132 miles west of Dublin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

I stayed in this small hotel for two night on business recently and I found it excellent. The staff in reception and in the dining room for breakfast were very friendly and attentive. The bedroom was as expected and clean. This was my second time staying there and it was still excellent value for money. The car park at the rear is quite small but there is plenty of free on street parking nearby,

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Herondancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
288 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

I recently visited Carrick-On-Shannon on business and booked into Cryans Hotel overlooking the river Shannon. It is a small family-run hotel, simple and functional. Rooms were clean and well appointed and breakfast was adequate with little choice apart from the usual Irish breakfast, a feature that is very common in this country. The staff were courteous, very friendly and helpful. And it was very good value for money. It is a very popular venue for dining out and the locals I met always had nothing but good to say about the restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Shannon River
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gretry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

I recently attended a family party in Cryans. It was the night-after- wedding celebration. The restaurant provided an evening buffet/carvery for all the guest. The steak sandwich was delicious and v popular indeed! The choice and quality of the food was excellent.
Frances the owner was overseeing on the night. She was both homely and welcoming. I observed her going around to all guests offering extra helpings and more tea/coffee. All staff were very helpful and friendly on the night. A great night here!!

Do not pass through Carrick without stopping here for a truly warm Leitrim welcome, superb service and excellent food!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Killyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

I dined in Cryan's over the Halloween weekend. There were four of us and we all found the meal great. Not only was there an A La Carte menu, but a Halloween menu and dinner specials. The waitress was very helpful, offering us a choice of starter from both menus. Food was excellent and staff knowledgable and friendly. There was a large family group of 20+ as well as smaller tables, but it did not faze the staff. Portions were generous and tasty, especially the duck.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EllieKIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swords,co dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

having stayed in cryans in july this year with my parents &family ,we had an amazing stay,food was excelent,rooms immaculate & the staff could not have been any more helpful.we will definetly be returning.

Ger clarke ,swords

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Had dinner here last Saturday with my husband and father - meal was fabulous and the staff could not have been more helpful - they gave us extra everything on top of what we had ordered and nothing was too much trouble. Michael was a delight and we had friends in common which we did not know about - he was attentive and hands on and could not have done more - we left having had a great meal without any complaints. Saturday is probably not a great night to go with all the hen and stag parties around and it might be prudent of the management to ask participants to leave large phallic symbols outside the restuarant, as it was obvious that families with small children were shocked and annoyed with the loud and jocular commentary from the girls who were seated at the bar - apart from that, and having no small kids in tow, a lovely culinary experience. Will definitely be back - maybe not on a Saturday though!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GalwayGirlAtHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrick-on-Shannon
0.1 mi away
Landmark Hotel
Landmark Hotel
#1 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bush Hotel
Bush Hotel
#2 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carrick Plaza Suites
Carrick Plaza Suites
#4 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Leitrim Marina Hotel
Leitrim Marina Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leitrim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
7.7 mi away
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Drumshanbo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aisleigh Guest House
Aisleigh Guest House
#4 of 22 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cryan's Quay Side Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cryan's Quay Side Hotel

Property: Cryan's Quay Side Hotel
Address: Bridge Street, Carrick-on-Shannon NA, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Leitrim > Carrick-on-Shannon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Carrick-on-Shannon
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cryans Hotel in Carrick-on-Shannon, Leitrim, has retained its old world charm seldom seen in modern Ireland. Nestled right in the heart of Carrick on Shannon, this Leitrim hotel situated on the banks of the River Shannon is the perfect getaway to relax and soak up some genuine Irish hospitality. At the same time, you’re less than a minute away from the hustle and bustle of all the local pubs, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Cryans Quay Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing