We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beside the banks of the majestic River Shannon!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carrick-on-Shannon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cryan's Quay Side Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beside the banks of the majestic River Shannon!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This family run hotel is both cosy and modern, good value for money too. A warm welcome greeted us upon arrival. Rooms are tastefully decorated and have all amenities, tea/coffee maker, superb toiletries etc. Beds are very comfortable! Breakfast was very good. A great stop off point to explore the village of Carrick-on-Shannon and boat on the Shannon. Some great boutique shops also on Quay front "the Boarwalk" shops....

Room Tip: If it's weekend ask for back rooms to avoid noise, although it was not too bad!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surfbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    38
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
37
38
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Roscommon, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently as we were attending a wedding in The Landmark Hotel.
Rooms very comefortable.
Breakfast following morning, good choice of cereals, tesco every day value yoghurts served. Surely for the price we paid it should have been yoplait?! My breakfast plate arrived food looked lovely until I saw a very badly chipped plate. No chef should send that out to a customer.
Stayed around all day, carvery lunch very tasty. Until later whilst ordering a drink at the bar I saw the lady who was serving carvery pick up a dirty cloth with gloves on, proceeded to wash cloth out dry her hands with gloves on and handle the food again!
Shocked to say the least.
All in all, invest in new plates, gloves don't cost the earth!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank noodles30_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I recently visited with my husband, baby daughter and in-laws. As the in-laws were paying we chose food off the early bird menu. I would normally choose off the Á la carte even if it is early (with a 17 month old we only ever go out early anymore) so i am willing to give Cryan's the benefit of the doubt that our poor quality food was down to the fact we were paying slightly less. However the food we did receive was less than a joke. My Peppered chicken breast was burnt brown and not wanting to complain i asked for more sauce only to find that the sauce also tasted burnt and had hardly any pepper in it. I Hardly touched mine and the staff noticed at the end of the meal and were good enough to not charge. However my husband ordered the curry and found it less than satisfactory. His comment was "It's slightly better than that curry with tin of fruit salad in it I got the hospital!!" My advice is that if your ordering anything here make it the roast beef (that the in-law's enjoyed) or anything that isn't supposed to have flavor. Or do what we are going to do and don't risk having a disappointing night by not going there ever again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Room 109 - the room was quiet, clean and well apportioned (almost directly above the bar/reception). The bed was comfortable and I slept well.

There is a small car park around the rear of the hotel with direct access into building. Internet access was provided but other than just checking emails, I didn't test drive it too much.

Food service stopped at 9pm, and although the menu was fairly short, what I had was freshly prepared, well presented and most tasty (fish and chips!)

Hot breakfast was cooked to order and delivered piping hot, there was a buffet of cereals and fruits - absolutely no complaints, but next time I will ask for extra bacon!

Checkout was smooth and efficient with a cheery smile.

Will definately have this place on my shortlist next time in Carrick-onShannon

Room Tip: You may wish to be on the 2nd floor if there is a function taking place
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I have stayed at Cryans on numerous occasions with my family the rooms staff and food is fantastic these people fall over themselves to help you I wouldn't,t stay any were else in that part of Ireland only Cryans. Thanks Paul quinn

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Paulquinn65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We went here for a Sunday lunchtime meal and I have to say it was a great fulsome meal. It was the usual roast chicken, lamb & beef with all the trimmings followed by a banoffee pie. My only gripe was it was a bit of a free for all when it came to getting a table .... there wasn't any system. It was literally wait for someone to finish and grab the seat. You could always go the restaurant but that would mean you would have to book and this was a bit of a last minute thing. People have previously described this as a bustling hotel and I wouldn't disagree based on our Sunday lunchtime visit.

Room Tip: Book a table in the restaurant if you have time
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkButty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed here overnight for wedding locally. Rooms were spotless, breakfast was good, staff was friendly, location perfect. I would prefer it than big hotel. Would go back if i was up that direction again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dun885394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrick-on-Shannon
0.1 mi away
Carrick Plaza Suites
Carrick Plaza Suites
#4 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bush Hotel
Bush Hotel
#1 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Landmark Hotel
Landmark Hotel
#2 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Leitrim Marina Hotel
Leitrim Marina Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leitrim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
7.9 mi away
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Drumshanbo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aisleigh Guest House
Aisleigh Guest House
#4 of 21 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cryan's Quay Side Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cryan's Quay Side Hotel

Property: Cryan's Quay Side Hotel
Address: Bridge Street, Carrick-on-Shannon NA, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Leitrim > Carrick-on-Shannon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Carrick-on-Shannon
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cryans Hotel in Carrick-on-Shannon, Leitrim, has retained its old world charm seldom seen in modern Ireland. Nestled right in the heart of Carrick on Shannon, this Leitrim hotel situated on the banks of the River Shannon is the perfect getaway to relax and soak up some genuine Irish hospitality. At the same time, you’re less than a minute away from the hustle and bustle of all the local pubs, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Cryans Quay Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing