We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely service; some rooms a bit worse for wear”
Review of Adare Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Adare Manor
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay to celebrate a wedding. The hotel is majestic, service is excellent and grounds stunning. The wedding was great with really high quality food and service.
However we were in one of the more average and run down rooms down near the pool. While the room didn't dampen our overall experience, it really was not 5 star. Old TV, dungeon like light, no coffee maker or mini bar. The area near the pool also spells quite damp, the dowside of staying in a castle :)
Still a great trip and the wonderful staff compensate for the shoddy accommodation.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Lee_Harrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

620 - 626 of 1,371 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

I took my wife here for her 50th Birthday and what a lovely surprise it was,

You arrive at the main gates and enter through the security barrier, drive down the long driveway through the extensive grounds past the villas and turn a corner and there is the Manor, a very inspiring first sight.

We entered through the traditional heavy wooden doors into the porch area where there is a little shop. On through the arch way into the main reception area. They had the Christmas decorations up due to a wedding on the weekend at the request of the bride. It was lovely and warming with the log fire burning and made you feel welcomed. The welcome from the staff was genuine and friendly. We were offered a orientation tour of the hotel which we declined as I had booked afternoon tea (which stops at 5 and it was now 4.30). We were shown up to our room and WOW (room 301 a stateroom). You open the room door only to find that you are in a small entrance hall, to your right you enter into the bedroom, a really spacious room with a four poster and plenty of seating. Into the bathroom OMG a extremely spacious area, a roll top bath in the bay window, his and hers sinks in the dressing area and then a separate shower room as well. All the amenities of a five star hotel are there, bath robes, slippers etc.

Down to our afternoon tea, a very warm welcome from the staff here as well greeting us by our names and we were escorted to our reserved table. After over eating all the lovely food the waiter brought over another slice of cake with a candle in it and wished my wife Happy Birthday.
Dinner that night was first class in the candle lit dinning room, very romantic, The service was fantastic.

Come back to the room to find the bed had been turned down and a couple of hand made fudges were left on the pillow. Also the room had been cleaned.

Breakfast next morning, the cold buffet and cereals on offer are OK, but the cooked selection is very good indeed. If you order the pancakes make sure you are hungry, as they are very good and very very filling.

In the morning we decided to go down to the Adare village, they will drive you down to a side gate and drop you off, there is a phone to call them up and they will come and pick you up again if you wish, but in truth its not that far to walk about 10 -15 mins each way.
After a very light lunch in the village (as still full from breakfast) we headed back to the hotel for a Spa treatment (all part of the package that I had booked). We were allocated two hours each and were able to choose any treatment. I opted only to have a 1 hr massage (which was very good and very relaxing) and gave my wife the other hour and so she had a massage, facial and manicure. She said she felt thoroughly pampered afterwards. Upon arrival back to our room we had a bottle of champagne and chocolate dipped strawberries (also part of the package booked).

That night we had a eight coarse tasting menu dinner and opted for the wine paring to go with it. Each coarse came and we were given a detailed explanation of the meal and the wine to go with it. I could not fault the cooking every thing was beautiful, the flavours were outstanding, well done to all the kitchen staff. At the end of the meal they brought out a birthday cake for my wife, the only issue was that we were too full to try it that night. They did however box it up for us to take home.

On the last morning we decided to do some clay pigeon shooting, this is not run by the Hotel but by someone local. He comes to meet you at the Hotel and then you follow him approx 11km. He was very good and very informative. He talked you through each step. You don't pay for the time but for the shells that you use 35 euro per box.

The cleanliness of the hotel was brilliant and all the staff were outstanding, so helpful. Thanks for such a lovely time and looking forward to staying with you again.

Room Tip: If you can stay in one of the staterooms as they are in the main part of the hotel and are nice and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

So my present wife and I got a deal for 3 nights at Adare Manor. The room was huge and beautiful with a stunning view over the Maigue river and the golf course. The breakfast was a feast of great Irish food but the outstanding aspect of our stay was the staff! The friendliness and pride with which they carried out their jobs was simply the best I have ever encountered -anywhere. From reception and concierge, the waiting, kitchen and restaurant staff - we felt that they were a family willing to make our stay memorable! The succeeded! Cannot recommend more highly!

Room Tip: We were in the "new" wing looking out on a fantastic view! Would recommend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paddy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed at the Adare Manor in November. Hotel is beautiful, service is excellent, and location is wonderful.
Rooms are very large in the new section. I would recommend a room facing the river.
The village of Adare is close enough to walk but the hotel will also supply a car to take you to the edge of the property which is next to downtown Adare Village.
Golf course is across the river from the Manor. Beautiful course.

Room Tip: Request a river view. Can't beat it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We arrived at Adare Manor to find there had been a small mix up in the booking so we were treated to a complimentary tea/coffee while we waited for them to find out what had happened, turned out to be a misspelling on the booking, no problem, thanks for the free coffee!

Once we were brought to our room, the concierge explained the map of the grounds and showed us how to use the various features in the room.

The room (deluxe) was beautiful, the turn down service was just as impressive with homemade fudge on the pillow and a general clean up around the room. Every time room cleaning came around it was as if we had just arrived, the cleaning service is impeccable.

The breakfast lacked for nothing and nothing we asked for was refused. Breakfast consisted of a variety of croissants and pastries, a selection of fruit, creamy natural yogurt, a range of cereals available as well as a full selection of cheeses and meats, you could want for nothing. The hot food menu included french toast, omelettes, pancakes, smoked haddock and of course, the full Irish breakfast.

We booked a trip to Bunratty castle through the concierge, who was happy to help with any questions or help we needed. Room service menu is very comprehensive with a full selection of sandwiches all through the night, salmon, ham, egg mayonnaise? "No problem Madam/Sir" :)

We will definitely stay here again.

Also, we had tried to book online but we weren't able to avail of the 3 nights for the price of 2 offer. This offer was given when I made the call to book, and the option to upgrade our room from classic to deluxe was also offered on booking too. We were able to book a deluxe room (B&B) for 3 nights (for the price of 2) by calling the hotel, this would have been the same price to book 3 nights (room only) for a classic room (not as lovely) for the same price online. It's worth ringing to book!!

The only downside to our trip was that the hotel does not have a jacuzzi. There is a swimming pool in the hotel and it is very clean and well maintained, changing rooms offer lockers for your valuables and clean towels. A steam room is also available, but no sauna.

The spa is separate to the hotel itself, but only a 3 minutes walk through the grounds, which is a beautiful walk. The spa does not have a jacuzzi or sauna either but offers a full range of spa treatments.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view, as far as I could tell. The rooms are on the river side of the hotel, or look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmmaBop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We were traveling with two other couples and stayed in the Adare Manor Villas. You are assigned a concierge, who has an office set up in one of the Villas and is available during the day for help with anything you might need. We were so happy with the accommodations. They were spotlessly clean, everything was in good condition, and the villa was more spacious than we had anticipated. There is separate den with a couch and desk in it, a laundry room (not just a closet with washer and dryer), a full bath, sun room, and living room/dining room/kitchen area. These are all on the first floor. Upstairs are the 3 bedrooms and 3 full baths. Hot water was plentiful, paper towels, dishwasher detergent and dishwashing detergent were provided plus two tablets for the washing machine. (The washer and dryer both take a long time to complete cycles, so don't plan on doing extensive laundry.) The grounds are beautiful and we enjoyed doing the Falconry activity. Quite a unique experience and we are all still talking about it. We ate dinner at the Carriage House twice. Food there was average, but service was great and very friendly. We ate breakfast in the villa each day. Pubs were good in town, especially Sean Collins. We hired a driver two different days to take us to the Dingle Peninsula and to the Cliffs of Moher area. Mike Morrissey's "Phone a Cab" did a great job and was a delight to get to know. He tries to take you to areas "that the tour buses don't go". He had a 6 and 9 seater car, so it would work for most people. He will also transport you to the airport. We liked having our own car also to get to dinners, groceries, and close attractions. One of our party played golf with rented clubs and had a great time. Local members of Adare club invited him to join them for the round and even for a Guinness or two after!! Do not hesitate to stay here at the Villas. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All villas seem to be equally placed with golf or field views. Not sure if summer sun on the patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tnmjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We had an incredible experience here in October. The grounds are tended with great care, and are gorgeous. Room was huge and beautifully appointed, with very comfortable beds and had all the five star extras, such as turn down service, robes and slippers, etc.! The bath was marble everywhere, and was also huge.Service at this resort is superb in every area...restaurants (both at hotel and golf club), housekeeping, concierge and front desk. Everyone was so warm and accommodating!The golf course is wonderful! This resort is a great starting point for tours to Cliffs of Moher, Killarney, Limerick, and both Dingle Peninsula and Ring of Kerry on Ireland's west coast. First class all the way! We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adare
16.9 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,523 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dunraven Arms Hotel
1.0 mi away
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,483 reviews
9.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
10.0 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adare Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adare Manor

Address: Adare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Adare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Price Range: £273 - £1,211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adare Manor is a neo-Gothic architectural masterpiece, once the family seat of the Earls of Dunraven. Today it is cherished as a warm and welcoming 5 star luxury resort, defined by its spectacular setting, authentic historic character, and the impeccable service of its world-class staff. Situated in the beautiful village of Adare and just 25 minutes from Shannon airport. The 104 guest rooms are air conditioned and lavishly appointed with original art, Georgian-style furnishings, luscious textiles and marble bathrooms. Guests may design a bespoke itinerary of activities in and around the sweeping 840 acre estate of formal gardens, peaceful forests and rolling parklands. Golf, falconry, archery, fishing, La Mer spa treatments and more are all conducted on site, with further adventures such as horseback riding and shooting available within a short drive. Fine dining and world-class libations across the resort’s many restaurants, lounges and bars offer something to tempt every palate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Adare Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adare Manor Hotel And Golf Resort
Adare Manor Hotel & Golf Adare
Adare Manor Resort
Adare Manor Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing