We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returning to Adare”
Review of Adare Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Adare Manor
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Returning to Adare”
Reviewed 16 September 2008

Since 1985, I have had the privilege of escorting golf groups to England, Ireland and Scotland - traveling to Ireland on seven separate occasions. Adare was included on five of these visits.
This year's stay at Adare Manor included golf and our farewell banquet, and turned out to be the finest of any of our outings.

The charm of Adare Manor, excellent food and service of the friendly staff, coupled with the improvement of the Adare Golf Course and its facilities, since our first visit in 1995, has made Adare Manor one of my favorite destinations.

Bruce Cudd
Holiday Travel Service
Portland, Oregon - USA

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Check-in / front desk
Helpful?
Thank bcecxix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,060
    197
    64
    29
    12
See reviews for
358
576
11
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
boston, ma
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2008

We had the most exceptional stay at The Adare Manor Hotel and Golf Resort. We celebrated our anniversary by staying in an absolutely beautiful room with a view fit for royalty. Our dinner in the Oak Room was delicious and our table was perfectly situated for an intimate meal. The dessert plate with Happy Anniversary was a special touch that left us smiling ear to ear and your wait staff was terrific. My husband thoroughly enjoyed his round of golf on the fabulously groomed golf course. We have had the most wonderful time at The Adare Manor and look forward to our return trip.
Warm regards,
Sarah Murphy and Thomas Kelleher
Marblehead, Massachusetts USA

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank spcm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2008

Just back from a wonderful stay at Adare Manor. We were on the Sceptre Tours Summer Luxury Package which included airfare, six nights in a three bedroom four bath luxury villa, automatic full size rental car with GPS (easy to program and very handy to have) as well as passes to various local attractions. The villa surpassed our expectations and was extremely large and comfortable for just the two of us. The kitchen is state of the art with electrolux appliances, granite counters, etc. and the bathrooms were spotless, large and never without a full supply of hot water. There were flat screen TVs in all the bedrooms as well as a large one in the living room. There was a lovely patio overlooking the 7th hole of the golf course on which to enjoy an evening glass of wine after a day of touring as well as a conservatory with the same view when the weather wasn't conducive to sitting outdoors. There was also a gas fireplace which added a cozy feeling to a cool, rainy night. The staff couldn't have been nicer. Upon arrival, they let you know that rides to the village for groceries, pubs and restaurants are always available by calling the front desk. After a short nap, we decided to test this out and asked for a ride to the grocery store to pick up supplies. Not only did this lovely young gal, Rosie, come to get us and wait while we shopped---she offered to take our groceries back to our villa and put them away so that we could further tour the village and visit a pub!!!! That was fantastic service!!! We found everyone there to be genuinely kind and friendly---not phony or surface friendly because they work at a five star hotel and have to be. The heritage tour given by Maura, the special events coordinator, was very interesting with a lot of great facts and history about the property and my husband loved the golf course even with the four seasons of weather experienced in one afternoon. What we really liked was the proximity of the property to the village---a 20 min. walk from the villas or a three minute car ride to the village itself or to the pedestrian gate where you can easily park and have access without worrying about finding a public parking spot. There are three great restaurants right outside the pedestrian gate---The Wild Geese; White Sage and Blue Door. We ate at the Wild Geese and Blue Door and found both to be excellent and very casual for dress. Four pubs call the village of Adare home and our favorite was The Collins Pub on the far end of the main street from the Manor. There are also many shops to be found along the Main St. of Adare along with a garden and cultural center. We thoroughly enjoyed having the option of leaving the property with things to do so close. We did tour Dromoland Castle as well (friends stayed here last year for their honeymoon and loved it) and it was lovely but a bit too isolated for our taste. In short, we loved our time at Adare Manor and would urge anyone considering one of the Sceptre Tours or Aer Lingus packages to do it---you won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — Luxury appointments of villas, proximity to village and transportation to and from village
  • Disliked — No Kleenex
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank skygoddess46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2008

We had booked one of the 4BR 4BA villas on the grounds of the Adare Manor in conjunction with an Aer Lingus vacation package, so we stayed there for a week total and used it as our first 'base' to explore western & southern Ireland. Being 7 gals in total - the 4 bathrooms really sold us!
The villas were built in 2007, so all is in decent, working order. Very clean, very well appointed, and well stocked in the kitchen for all we needed. Beds were very comfortable with down comforters and pillows. Showers were amazing and it was great to have a washer/dryer as well. All detergent was supplied.
The grounds (over 600 acres) are phenominal - walking and exploring them was a real treat - when we were there! The villas are set back and away from the Manor and all else, so it was very quiet.
You can walk into the town of Adare, which is very quaint and charming. For the most part, we drove to our destinations with a rented mini-bus, putting over 1000 miles on it!
Did not use the golf facilities, however they looked beautiful. Definitely a 5 star resort, so along with that are the higher prices for the restaurants and spa on the grounds - neither of which we utilized.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank sjp241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2008

How I wish I would have read the May 25, 2008 review from bluegoldhighlander before I booked a stay for our family.
I was completely underwhelmed with our experience at Adare Manor. I decided to bring my family here instead of Dromoland Castle (which I absolutely love) and realized I had made a huge mistake about 15 minutes after we arrived.

Yes, the outside of the manor is beautiful and the grounds and golf course are fantastic. (The golfing was really the only thing that didn't make the experience a complete waste.) But bluegoldhighlander's review was right on the mark - the hotel has a strangely American feel to it and not in a good way. We were surrounded by American tourists (golfers and their somewhat obnoxious wives) which was not at all the experience I had imagined at an Irish manor. Finding out the hotel is American owned explained a lot, as it is really lacking in 'authentic' charm. Don't even get me started on the rooms. I felt like I was at a condo in Florida. Just knowing how much money we spent for the disappointment it turned out to be makes me feel a tad sick, as this was to be our truly 'decadent' stay while on our trek thru Ireland.

I would highly recommend checking out Dromoland Castle before you book here - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrippinLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2008

Repetitive raves about the grounds and manor aside...from the warm welcome by doorman, Jim, and reception host, Bridget, to the dear, friendly advice of bartender Lisa... (and bartender Gary, management-trainee Seamus, and several others whose names escape me at the moment, ) the Adare Manor was perfect! We stayed twice during this trip to Ireland, canceling reservations in Shannon to return to Adare, and were delighted with not only the gorgeous grounds, grand manor, and huge, sumptuous accommodations, but by the genuine spirit of the staff.

We were in Adare to research family roots just south in Dromcollogher, and Lisa was extraordinarily encouraging, knowledgeable, and generous in taking time to explain what we might encounter there as well as giving us advice on how best to approach residents. Thanks to her, that search was an epic adventure that included wonderful, personal acquaintances and experiences. Lisa helped make our trip, truly.

Cheers to Gary, for a perfectly shaken martini, to Seamus who ought to have a future in Adare management, in our opinion.

The only complaint we had-- and it was rather significant-- was the usually slow dining room service. Are you reading this, Adare? We sometimes had to go looking for a server for morning coffee, and even then they wouldn't show at our table. We loved it anyway, and enjoyed delicious dinners there with gorgeous views to the gardens.

Can't wait to return!!!

  • Liked — The STAFF
  • Disliked — Often slow dining room service...
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank aLITTLESpoiled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
150 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2008

The manor for sure is absolutely beautiful. We had a lovely room with a great view over the gardens.
In the afternoon we went for a swim and when we returned to the room it had rained in from a leak in the roof! We had to change rooms at 9pm which was sort of a pain.
The hotel is very impressive and has great views. We had tea and ate in the carriage house and food was always very good. Breakfast is served in a great old room and is delicious.

The only thing I didn´t like is that it was very americanized and I felt like I was somewhere in the States.
Also the bathrooms and for sure the pool area need renovation.

  • Liked — beautiful building
  • Disliked — pool
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank anit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adare
1.0 mi away
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
1.0 mi away
Dunraven Arms Hotel
16.9 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
10.4 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,912 reviews
9.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adare Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adare Manor

Property: Adare Manor
Address: Adare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Adare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the lush heartlands of County Limerick, Adare Manor is one of Ireland's most evocative and spellbinding castle hotels. Steeped in exotic history and surrounded by medieval ruins, its 840-acre demesne is home to beautiful parklands, superb trout fishing on the river Maigue, and a renowned 18 hole championship golf course. Unique and individual accommodation, the best of contemporary Irish food in an incomparable setting, and the highest standards of modern hospitality are hallmarks of the Manor experience. Adare Manor is a 25 minute drive from Shannon International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Adare Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adare Manor Hotel And Golf Resort
Adare Manor Hotel & Golf Adare
Adare Manor Resort
Adare Manor Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing