We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I miss Villa 15!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adare Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adare Manor
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
1 review
“I miss Villa 15!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2009

I cannot say enough about Adare Manor, the staff, the grounds and the adjacent Villas. The Manor was beautiful, well preserved and excellently maintained. The staff was always courteous, knowledgeable about the area, helpful with additional information and friendly. The grounds and golf course were amazing. And staying at the Villas gave the feeling of actually living in Adare. Simply amazing.

There is no doubt, I will return.

  • Liked — The scenery and the staff
  • Disliked — It snowed in Ireland while we were there... brrrrrr
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CLenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,321
    249
    73
    31
    14
See reviews for
515
645
12
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grantham UK
Level Contributor
152 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2009

Impressive drive up to the Manor House, with fantastic open spaces, Mature trees etc. We arrived after dark , but as we turned the last corner driving towards hotel, what a wonderful sight greeted us! The setting of the Manor House is awesome and very romantic, which was very appropriate as we were attending a friend's wedding there.
We were greeted at the entrance and then by name at reception. Check in was swift and easy. Staff very friendly and informative. We were shown to our room (211) immediately. First impression of the room was, it was Huge! But it was baking hot, the first thing we did was switch off both radiators and open the window! Bathroom was big but I felt it was a little dated, although it was in keeping with the style of the hotel. The bed was huge and very comfortable, extra pillows were available if required. The only bad points were that there were no tea/coffee making facilities, the TV was a little small for the size of the room and there was no mini bar.
Breakfast - reasonable choice but found quality a little disappointing . The sausages were supermarket type sausages, not what you would expect. Also the french toast tasted like it had been fried in oil instead of butter. Service was fine and friendly.
Swimming pool & gym - good size for a hotel. Small steam room which was not great - not much steam. Gym was a little on the small side, with no air conditioning and windows don't open. 3 running machines, 1 cycle and 1 stepper.
Restaurants - We ate there twice, one of which was the Wedding Breakfast. Food was fantastic, especially as they were catering for 130 people! Beef was cooked to perfection! Nothing was too much trouble. They cooked a special meal for the little page boy sat on our table. The other meal was lunch the next day, very nice but very expensive for what it was, but that is only to be expected in a hotel of that standard,
Bar - Drinks VERY expensive! Wasn't a problem for us to start with as the drinks were free flowing for wedding guests, but eventually we had to pay for them. Two G&T's & a pint of Guinness was 27 euros! Tack room down in the basement was a great area. We moved down to the bar after the wedding finished. They stay open until the last guests leave! Or so we thought . We called it a day at 3am, but alot of the other guests stayed on until asked to leave a 5.30am! ( Fair enough!) The next night was much the same as several people stayed on after the wedding, they eventually went to bed at 7.30am the next morning!! Good old Irish weddings!!
We ate out the rest of the time. Three different places in Adare Village. ( There is a pedestrian entrance opposite the Dunraven Arms Hotel. It is possible to drive down to this , leave the car there , as it is a bit of a walk to the village from the Manor House, this means that you can have a little to drink and not have to worry too much. Just remember to ask for the code to get back in, otherwise it will be a bit of a walk!)
The first night we ate in the Dunraven Arms. Food okay. We had a set meal as there were 25 people in our group. Some other people who we met later also ate there and said the food was really good. Our third evening in Adare was spent in Auntie Leena's on the main road. Food was really good, Irish Stew in particular. As it was Friday night there was an Irish band playing, which added to the atmosphere! The final evening we ate in The White Sage restaurant, just opposite the Dunraven Arms. We hadn't booked but there wasn't a problem. Service was great and very friendly. Food was fabulous and reasonably priced although we felt the wine was a little over priced.

Overall we enjoyed ourselves very much. Would like to return in the summer, as it is a stunning setting, just a little too cold to spend too much time outside!

  • Liked — Setting
  • Disliked — Cost
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SaffyDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, CO
Level Contributor
129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2009

WE booked a 2 bedroom townhouse at this estate. They upgraded us to a 3 bedroom townhouse. It was huge! It was gorgeous. The staff is fabulous. The golf course is magnificent and the spa is top notch! Overall this is one of the best places I have stayed with my family. I would highly recommend it! It is just breathtaking!

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank Gail3207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2008

After finding an unbelievable deal for a week at Adare Manor through the Travel Zoo website, 5 members of my family and 4 friends all booked our stay for late July. The package included rt airfare from Chicago, 6 day rental car and a 4 bedroom, 4 bath villa on the grounds of Adare Manor for $999 per person. (We ended up with 2 villas and 2 cars for 9 people) From start to finish everything about the trip was flawless, no problems with the flight (Aer Lingus), the rental car (upgraded to a small van), the drive from Shannon Airport to Adare, or the check in and no hidden fees. Everyone at the Manor/Castle was friendly and helpful especially Anna-Louise who arranged all our activities including fishing lessons, golf, shooting lessons and dining reservations via email before our arrival.
The stunning Villas are situated within a short walk or drive from the Manor and are set amongst the golf course and forests in a peaceful secluded area. The Villas are very large, with my family of 5 in 1 villa we each had our own large bedroom and private bath. Everything was new and clean and top of the line from granite counter tops to comfortable beds, fresh linens, washer and dryer, dishwasher, cable tv, all the amenities of home. Within the small village of Adare is a grocery which we visited upon arrival and had breakfast and lunch each day in the Villa and enjoyed the excellent restaurants at the Manor or in town each evening. I highly recommend the excellent local restaurant Wild Geese, a short walk into town from the gates of the Manor.
The Manor is a beautiful castle with impeccable service and gorgeous grounds. My teenage son enjoyed the Manor pool daily and my mother and I enjoyed taking tea each afternoon in the beautiful Drawing Room. My husband and I enjoyed nightly music in the Manor's Tack Room Pub. My husband played golf and went shooting and said both experiences were world class.
On one afternoon we watched in amazement as 2 men and a young girl on horseback rode up to the front of the Manor with dozens of hounds as they welcomed visitors upon their arrival. The dogs, the riders and the staff mingled around the Manor as guests arrived offering them hot coffee and whiskey or Guinness.
Adare is centrally located to many sites within a 2 hour drive including Galway, Rock of Cashel and the Cliffs of Moher.
We had such a wonderful trip we are already planning on returning next summer for another visit and will stay again in the Villas. From the charming village to the comfortable home like setting to the beautiful castle it was the perfect trip.

  • Liked — Large private villas and gorgeous castle and grounds
  • Disliked — Nothing, it was perfect!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank sddistel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2008

I booked 2 nights on one of the hotels special offers and a 3rd night using Expedia. Expedia came back with a confirmed booking of 270euro.
When I checked out the night booked under Expedia was charged at 363euro.Not having any printed details with me I paid and followed up the next day with the hotel.
Was told the next day that the Expedia rate did not include 13.5% tax, thats ok I can understand that.
But 270euro+13.5%tax does not equal 363euro.
It does not matter how good the stay was when you get the brush off with "make up some numbers and hope he goes away"
routine.

  • Liked — Old building
  • Disliked — Stairs to the top
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaJDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2008

Nice castle in a beautiful village. Staff very friendly and helpful. Reception area was quite cold even with my coat on! However bedroom was very well appointed with the exception of tea making facilities. Note: cold in corridors however bedrooms absolutely roasting, could not sleep that well as a result. Bathroom very spacious with lovely toiletries. (there was quite a bad draft in the bathroom from the window - I suppose it was december!)
We ate in the restaurant which was quite nice, I had the fillet of beef and my partner had the venison which was superb. Plates for main courses were cold which resulted in my meal going cold after eating the first mouthful. For dessert I chose a pear tart with blue cheese icecream was quite tasty in a weird way!
Breakfast was lovely, although I wished they had a better selection of breads especially traditional brown bread.

All in all a nice break, however I would prefer ashford castle for their surroundings and spectacular interior. I felt adare was somewhat lacking in comparison.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank eime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2008

first of all....kudos to mary in the north american office for making all the details go smoothly. this is a beautiful castle, lots of roaring fires, great dining, beautiful rooms, etc. plusses....incredible service from the doorman, concierge, drawing room bar, oak room, and valet. heck...even the guy at the gate makes you feel special. the oak room was very cool about me being a picky eater....so that was nice too. we had one goofy experience....the hot water went cold in our room. to their credit, they diagnosed the problem, and fixed it (air in the lines....
it's an old building, remember) quickly....so....no worries. overall....
a wonderful place.

  • Liked — the fine service
  • Disliked — really, no major negatives. glad i had a voucher....pretty expensive, but they do have deals.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank djtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adare
0.5 mi away
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Dunraven Arms Hotel
9.8 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
9.0 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
8.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adare Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adare Manor

Property: Adare Manor
Address: Adare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Adare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the lush heartlands of County Limerick, Adare Manor is one of Ireland's most evocative and spellbinding castle hotels. Steeped in exotic history and surrounded by medieval ruins, its 840-acre demesne is home to beautiful parklands, superb trout fishing on the river Maigue, and a renowned 18 hole championship golf course. Unique and individual accommodation, the best of contemporary Irish food in an incomparable setting, and the highest standards of modern hospitality are hallmarks of the Manor experience. Adare Manor is a 25 minute drive from Shannon International Airport. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Adare Manor Hotel And Golf Resort
Adare Manor Hotel & Golf Adare
Adare Manor Resort
Adare Manor Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing