We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely property...just be aware!”
Review of Adare Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Adare Manor
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely property...just be aware!”
Reviewed 6 April 2009

We just returned from Ireland, having stayed six nights at Adare Manor in the Villas. They are absolutely beautiful and quite large, accomodating up to 7-8 people. ..3 bedrooms, each with private full bath and a fourth room in the main living area which uses the main bath on this level.
The kitchen is fully furnished for any type of cooking if you choose to spend your time in there while on vacation!! We opted to breakfast there each day before heading out to tour the area.
The thing to be aware of with booking these villas is that only one set of towels & linens are provided and an extra charge is required to get more. Only one small bar of soap is in each bathroom and no other amenities. One roll of bathroom tissue per bathroom and no kleenex, so head to the local grocery and stock up on needed amenities. The annoying thing about this is that no information is provided ahead of time about what is or is not included in the villas. One assumes that when booking a 5 star property that all bathroom amenities are included.This info would certainly be appreciated prior to arrival so as to plan accordingly. The staff at the desk were not overly helpful when we asked questions about this and also seemed slightly peeved whenever we called for any reason.Also, we had some of the same problems with the heating that others have experienced and our calls for service were ignored. The service seems quite fine for those staying in the manor house. My guess is that these villas are privately owned and the owners perhaps pay a fee to the hotel to rent them out, thus the lack of services. Travel agents and anyone involved with booking this property should make people aware of the different types of lodging and what is included.
The spa is ok, not wonderful. My husband had a so-so massage and I had a facial that was supposed to be 60 minutes and ended at 45.
These are our only complaints about an otherwise lovely property with the quaint little village of Adare in walking distance. There has been a big promotion on packages for the villas, airfare and car that are VERY reasonable, making an otherwise expensive 5 star property quite affordable.
While this was a beautiful setting and quite lovely, we would not return, as we found that staying in the same place for 6 nights limited the amount the sightseeing we could do. When we return to beautiful Ireland again we will opt for staying at B&Bs or Inns along the way, allowing ourselves to see so much more and not having to return to the same place every night.
We cannot wait for our next visit!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,061
    197
    64
    30
    12
See reviews for
359
576
12
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eaton, Co. U.s.A.
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2009

My wife and I just returned from our anniversary trip to Ireland. we stayed 7 nights in Ireland and our last 2 nights were at the Adare Manor.We stayed in 5 different castles on this trip and Everything was excellent about this place! It started with the excellent service from Mary in the U.S.A. to the outstanding service we had at Adare upon our arrival. We were treated like royalty. The service desk, John the doorman and ALL the people who worked there were absolutely first class! We ate dinner in the beautiful oak room one night and had drinks in the bar another night. The breakfasts were very good and quite filling! We had an outstanding room with the view of a lifetime outside our room # 315. Views of both the river and the world class golf course. I really liked that they had a free shuttle van to take you down and back to to the town of Adare and allows you to enjoy the atmosphere of the pubs and not have to worry about driving home after a few pints of beer. Thanks Mary and to ALL the staff at Adare Manor for making this a very memorable vacation for us! We look forward to returning to this wonderful place!

Rock & Kate Hodgson. Eaton Co. U.S.A.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockHodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroudsburg, PA
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2009

Castle is beautiful! We had room 110, overlooking the river and golf course. Room was very big, clean and warm.

Service was impeccable from reception to restaurant! The staff couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast was fantastic every morning! Fresh food, cooked beautifully!

Location is good, about 1.5 hours from Shannon Airport. The town of Adare is cute, but not much to do. You can walk to the town from the hotel instead of driving, which I recomment.

Exceptional 5 star hotel. We wouldn't have ever stayed there but they were running a special.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CariStroudsburg_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
green bay,wi
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2009

loved the facilities, very beautiful gardens, great staff. had breakfast there, the food was terrible, everything was over cooked. bought bottled beer in adare and brought back to drink, did not realize we needed a bottle opener, the hotel and bar/ restaurant said they did not have one, that kind of hurt a bit. would stay there again but would not eat there. they have a good business center also. take time to walk the grounds.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alassiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenville, sc
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2009

Two friends and I recently stayed at Adare Manor and enjoyed our stay here. The beautiful setting of Adare Manor adds to the charm of the interior, and you feel instantly relaxed here. The lobby bar area is an elegant place to enjoy drinks, and the downstairs bar was fun as well. For conversation, I would recommend the lobby bar area as the downstairs bar was quite crowded with wedding parties on the night that we were there. The room was spacious and luxurious, and despite the downstairs bar being nearby, we found the room to be quiet and restful. We truly enjoyed our stay here! We also enjoyed our walk to Adare Village the next morning...a charming village that you can experience in a short time. A delightful visit!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenvillegirl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2009

Adare Manor was a lovely place and we enjoyed our stay. However, we did not enjoy the daily calls to try to get the heat or the plumbing fixed. When we arrived there was a leak at the sink in the master bedroom. We had to use towels to mop up the mess, which they replaced at a 12 Euro charge. Our friends agreed on the charge immediately , but still had to wait for 3 days to get clean towels, even after calling each day with their request. The heat in the villa never worked properly. Downstairs was roasting and upstairs nothing worked at all. We called each day, twice repairmen arrived and supposedly fixed it, but by nightfall, not even the heated towel bars would work in the bath upstairs. The upstairs bathrooms were absolutely freezing!! On the coldest day it snowed and the heating completely quit downstairs and upstairs. Workmen came and it was warm when we got back from our touring, but soon afterward there was no heat upstairs. There were also no regular drinking glasses in the villa and no extra ammenities were provided - absolutely no tea or coffee, no robes, no soap or shampoo, not even facial tissues. The management did nothing to apologize or compensate us in any way (not even a free nightcap) for the great inconveniences we suffered. The villas look nice, but otherwise it is not a good place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShawnVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2009

Had a wonderful break at Adare manor, nice room, wonderful Dinner and great wine. The only disapointment was breakfast, not 5 star quality, We both opted for cooked as we really fancied it, but it was very bland, sausage not good, along with most of the products. I have to mention the coffee was stewed, Apart from that really enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lowlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adare
1.0 mi away
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
1.0 mi away
Dunraven Arms Hotel
16.9 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
9.7 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
10.4 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adare Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adare Manor

Property: Adare Manor
Address: Adare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Adare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the lush heartlands of County Limerick, Adare Manor is one of Ireland's most evocative and spellbinding castle hotels. Steeped in exotic history and surrounded by medieval ruins, its 840-acre demesne is home to beautiful parklands, superb trout fishing on the river Maigue, and a renowned 18 hole championship golf course. Unique and individual accommodation, the best of contemporary Irish food in an incomparable setting, and the highest standards of modern hospitality are hallmarks of the Manor experience. Adare Manor is a 25 minute drive from Shannon International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Adare Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adare Manor Hotel And Golf Resort
Adare Manor Hotel & Golf Adare
Adare Manor Resort
Adare Manor Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing