We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I,m Sorry but we were not overly impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dunraven Arms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We found this venue to be over-priced for what we could only call average fare. In my line of business I have groups of people to entertain every so often from over seas' and would have dined at this venue reglarly in the past , however, from my last two visits, I left feeling deflated, service took too long, food was not hot like you would expect, but servers were so polite and professional and were so obviously aware that we were impatient during courses. This may have changed in the last two weeks as We have not been back. Sorry!!

Room Tip: Serviced with lifts to each floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna-Maria O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

875 - 881 of 1,135 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2011

stayed for 2 nights for a conference - room was very nice, food was excellent (except for breakfast which was very poor with little choice). The old world ambience is slightly spoiled by the situation on a busy main road.
The free wi-fi is a good thing and there are lots of quiet corners. The bar does get very busy afternoon and evenings with lots of weddings and wakes. Service is friendly and reasonably efficient.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

My partner and I were on our way back from a medical conference and thought we'd stop here for some lunch. We were both well dressed in suits. The restaurant was quite full but there was only one couple in the bar so we asked for bar food. We were turned away as we weren't residents. The kitchen was churning out food for the restaurant and there was plenty of space in the bar to sit. I can never understand this business decisions. They turned away money and also any potential return business.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
2  Thank Cocoheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed in the Dunraven Arms in September last and were absolutely delighted with it. The hotel offers a wonderful combination of olde worlde charm and super but unobtrusive efficiency. There is a special ambience pervading the hotel. Food was excellent. Our bedroom was roomy, quiet with lovely linen. I personally enjoyed the little sitting rooms and gardens. I look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: a room overlooking the rear garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We were disappointed in our stay at the Dunraven Arms Hotel. Granted the hotel is a very convenient location for this charming town, however we both felt that the staff here didn't come close to meeting the expectations created by both their website as well as the price.
We booked a Junior suite, which was a very nice room, however we were not offered help with our bags and the room was a great distance (and difficult to find) from the front desk.
We went downstairs to get a drink from the bar and found utter chaos. The service staff was very young and didn't appear to know what they were doing. After waiting 10 - 15 minutes for service, we finally left. At another time, I called the front desk for ice and they told me to go to the bar to get it (no offer of sending some up to our room?). Once again when I arrived, chaos. I finally got a servers attention and asked for ice for our room and she handed me a glass with ice? I said," How about a bucket of ice?". The look I got back was that of a deer in the headlights! After some time she came back with a water pitcher of ice - not exactly what you'd expect at a 4 star hotel.
The next morning we went down for breakfast, only to find the restaurant trying to sort out service for a tour bus group. Once again service was not good. When the server finally brought us our coffee, he brought a small pot without a coaster and managed to get coffee all over the table cloth.
When I went to get toast, I found a stack of 10 -12 pieces of very lightly cooked toast piled up at the toaster. It appeared the toaster wasn't set correctly and the group from the tour decided to just leave the undesirable slices there. Where's the attention to detail?
Additionally, there were cob webs in the light fixture and lights over the art work were at all different angles.
We wouldn't stay at this property again nor could we recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SCRedOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We spent two nights in September in the Dunraven Arms. We have stayed there on a number of occasions over the past fifteen years and always found it to be well run, friendly and professional. Extra touches such as management and staff recognising you from previous visits add to the good experience. Food in the dining room or bar is consistently good - no exotic dishes but well prepared and well presented. You will enjoy it here.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter_S186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We had a wonderful night in the Dunraven Arms. The room was comfortable, great clean bathroom, beautiful furniture, great bed. Breakfast buffet was good. The hotel is right in town and has a very homey feeling despite being more upscale. Adare is a beautiful small town with thatched cottages and a big park.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perrystreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adare
0.9 mi away
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
9.1 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,482 reviews
8.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,668 reviews
9.9 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
2,010 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunraven Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunraven Arms Hotel

Address: Dunraven Arms Hotel Main Street, Adare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Adare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Price Range: £108 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunraven Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dunraven Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunraven Arms Adare
Hotel Dunraven Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing