We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dunraven Arms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pretty Average”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Have been aware of Dunraven for many years, but never stayed, familiar with Adare Manor, and Adare village. Hotel was pretty ok just. A real feeling of meaness throughout, breakfast in bed one slice of bacon, one sausages, mushrooms, and black and white pudding, toast and basket of 'in house bakery' but not enough butter for one slice of toast. Small average size pot of tea, so we had to ring down and wait for butter, boiling water and some more juice??? Don't know where you would find glasses as small for the orange juice, they were a little more than egg cups. Asked for cranberry juice and got grapefruit instead.. the junior suite just looked as though half the furniture had been taken out. No net/blinds on the window so you looked right into the gym at people literally looking straight in through the window. No bathrobes/slippers, toileteries really basic. Quite difficult to get a reply on the phone from reception and if there was the slightest query the answer was I will get the manager to contact you... the case in the morning I replied that I didn't really want to speak to him but would prefer just having the butter sent to the room?? A longish wait at reception also, invariably they were in the back, on the phone or dealing with other queries. Just a bit disappointing, and I would have expected an awful lot more of a four star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brackenIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    270
    99
    43
    43
See reviews for
232
466
23
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed here for one night recently and would find difficulty in seeing it as a 4 star hotel. Our room was spacious and the breakfast was quite good with excellent service. However, there were a number of quibbles. There are no tea making facilities in the bedroom and our double bed was created by pushing two singles together. Service in the bar was slow and inefficient - an order for a black and a white coffee came as two black. We were also taken aback to hear a manager berate a staff member in front of us in the lobby area - very unprofessional.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dub24046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

The Dunraven is a fantastic hotel. I have stayed here twice in the past few months both times for weddings and I have to say I could not fault it. The service, the food, the rooms and the staff were all to such a high standard. At both weddings everyone commented on how attentive the staff were especially the lovely ladies who served the top table last Friday :) they were excellent. We found the food and service outstanding. Both times we stayed in lovely spacious rooms that were spotless. The town of Adare is lovely so this is a great base hotel. I feel I have to mention Gillian at reception she was so polite and helpful both times we stayed. I cannot praise her enough nothing was too much trouble for her and the Dunraven are lucky to have such a great member of staff on their front desk. So thanks to Gillian and all at the Dunraven for a great stay. I would highly recommend anyone visiting Limerick to stay here at this lovely hotel. Also if your interested in horse riding check out the Clonshire Equestrian centre nearby its a great place to go.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Limerick2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at Dunraven Arms Hotel for the first night of our honeymoon. We arrived in Ireland at 6:30am after travelling for nearly 24 hours. We were both exhausted and not looking forward to walking around the town without having a nap first. Our check in time was at 2pm but we thought we'd go ahead and ask about doing an early check in. The staff could not have been more helpful and accomodating. They said that we could absolutely check in early for no extra charge and set us up with breakfast while the staff arrived to get the room ready.

We had a delightful breakfast, in fact of the 5 hotels that we stayed in, Dunraven Arms had the best breakfast hands down. I even emailed the proprietor to find out how they prepared their scrambled eggs because they were so amazing. He was happy to oblige.

The rooms are beautiful and the beds are very comfortable. We could not have been more impressed. We would absolutely stay at this hotel again if we return to Adare.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

When we made our reservation to stay here for a few nights during our honeymoon, we could never imagine it being a more perfect way to end our stay in Ireland. Room 43, with fireplace, frenchdoors opening to a private estate-like garden; four-poster bed; livingroom with 42"flat screen tv and a bathroom/walk-in closet/dressing room proved to be the storybook setting we were looking for. Every attention to detail was taken care of by Hugh and his staff. Breakfasts exceeded all of the dozen or so we had at other Irish hotels and castles! Divine Coffee; variety of baked goods; exotic fruits and omelets that could be cooked to your liking-- were all favorites. We loved the "pub" and "Florida Room" at the hotel with outstanding service from Ray, and a great place to have lunch. All the staff is able to help direct you to sights and other fun places in Adare. What a treat to have high tea across the street at Adare Manor and see US Independence Day fireworks there. Fiona gives a wonderful massage to unkink all the knots from driving and touring Ireland. The Leisure Center seems to be for adults only, which is nice when wanting to swim laps. DEFINITELY will return and thank you for making me feel like Cinderella with my Prince Charming!

Room Tip: Room 43 is the room fit for a Queen! Very romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLTierney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2012

have dinner in hotel at least once as its very good.only one complaint no tea or coffee facilities providedin room.

Room Tip: ask for room upstairs as people can look into downstairs bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anchor3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We were traveling as a family, two adults and two children. We had a reservation for one night. Unfortunately, we were not able to keep our reservation since our airline had to make an emergency landing at JFK. That was very scary. No airline could get us to Ireland that evening. I contacted the booking company and they contacted Dunraven Arms. They spoke with management but to no avail. The hotel charged us the full rate for two rooms while knowing the situation and our lack of any control over the circumstances. I felt that this was very poor business practice and would not recommend this hotel to anyone else.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Paula1045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adare
0.9 mi away
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
15.9 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,145 reviews
9.9 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
9.1 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
8.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunraven Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunraven Arms Hotel

Property: Dunraven Arms Hotel
Address: Dunraven Arms Hotel Main Street, Adare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Adare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunraven Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dunraven Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunraven Arms Adare
Hotel Dunraven Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing