We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dunraven Arms Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Adare Camping and Caravan Park(Adare)(Great Value!)
US$23
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,176)
Filter reviews
1,176 results
Traveller rating
668
295
115
54
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
668
295
115
54
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjunior suitebeeffour poster bedhamdressing roomlovely hotelold worldhotel restaurantno tea coffee making facilitiesbeautiful villagelarge roombreakfast and dinnerold stylelarge weddingcomfortable roomstop classwedding reception
Filter
Updating list...
721 - 726 of 1,176 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Certainly the jewel in the crown of this hotel is the food. Our package included 2 dinners, and on each occasion it was exquisite. Not so easy to maintain any kind of rappore with the non irish waiting staff, but they were both friendly and attentive at all times during dinner, though not so during breakfast, when we were never informed by the breakfast staff about eggs to order.

Our junior suite was spacious with an extremely comfortable 4 poster bed, however if was directly across from the gym, where people using the treadmill could see into our room.

One day when going to take a shower before going out, I discovered that there was no water. Only 30 minutes after I had reported this to the receptionist, who apparently was unaware of the situation, and following a 2nd call, did a manager come to the room with an explanation. I fully understand that these things happen in hotels, but the obvious lack of communication between staff just helped to make a bad situation worse.

Upon check-out I discovered that I had been overcharged, and again, another receptionist, in between answering continuous phone calls, was having difficulty in tracing the problem. She finally called for the manager who, though immediately rectified the problem, was not about to offer an explanation until I asked for one.

With the exception of the restaurant, we found the staff throughout the hotel unfriendly and seemed only prepared to greet us after we had greeted them first. This even applied to a manager who passed us on our way to check out with bags in hand, when a simple 'goodbye' would be the least we could have expected.

Overall quite a disappointing experience compared to the hotels of similar rating we have stayed at during our many visits to Ireland.

And finally, a note to management....If you prefer not to provide tea making facilities in the room, a simple note card stating that these facilities are available on request would help.

Stayed: March 2013
1  Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

The Dunraven Arms Hotel in Adare had an offer price for two nights b&b and one dinner for two people sharing.
The room was capacious, the staff superb,
The Hotel does have an unfortunate association with fox hunting.
Breakfast was the best I have ever had in an hotel, with a plentiful choice of cereals fruit, eggs meats cheeses with biscuits flapjacks and scones and toast.
The evening food was mainly over complicated, expensive, with local meat and fish.
There is virtually nothing simple or nice to eat if you are vegetarian or vegan (who wants mushroom risotto or goats cheese?).
They will cook you something like an omelette which is not on the menu, and if you ask for extra vegetables - like potato or broccoli/cabbage they will make a fancy red cabbage with cinnamon and sliced boiled potatoes with cheese.
For me a great location and great service but the evening food was too fancy for non meat and fish people or people who like simple food.
The deal with two nights b&b and one evening meal was useful, and we actually stayed for 4 nights so we got two inclusive evening meals. One of the evening meals was counted initially when I just had soup and a roll as I was not feeling well.
This mistake was later rectified by staff when we checked out and queried the bill.

Room Tip: double room was vast and spacious with a king size and single in the room with sofa and large tv and en suite and plenty of storage space - looks out on to other rooms opposite and garden
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Met with colleagues in the bar ordered soup/sandwich the sandwich that came out was very poor,two slices of brown bread with ham and cheese on top and a bit of dressing on the side, €5 for the sandwich the brown bread was bread from the shelf of a supermarket. When I was paying the bill you could see one of the waiters making up the sandwich inside the bar door would have expected a chef considering this hotel is 4 star,very dissappointed with the food.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
9  Thank 212520Con_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Spent one night in the Dunraven Arms while on business in the locality.
The room was a excellent but was disappointed that there was no bottled water, tea making
facilities or bathrobes provided.
Had dinner that evening in the restaurant which was first class and the service excellent.
After an excellent breakfast enjoyed a walk around the beautiful village of Adare.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnFerriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Having driven through Adare many times this time we decided to stop! it's a beautiful picturesque village full of charm. We got a lovely warm welcome and were shown to a spacious room that looked out over the well maintained gardens. The bathroom had everything we needed, was spotlessly clean and had a nice little dressing room leading into it. However there were things missing that one would usually find in a four star hotel, no comp bottled water or newspapers, no teamaking facilities, no kingsize bed, no robes or facecloths- the little things that make a difference between 3 and 4 star. The breakfast was lovely, and the dining room was packed to capacity on a Sunday morning in March, but if you want dinner be prepared to pay e26 +12% for a plate of roast beef! So 4 star prices and 3 star amenities in my opinion.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yammo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews