We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dunraven Arms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We were charmed by the room and our welcome at reception. The view was gorgeous and the bathroom lovely - but no tea/coffee.
We didn't dine in, walking up the street to the Arches (excellent meal).
Our deal included breakfast which was very disappointing - not the normal friendliness you expect in Ireland. A pot of tea for 3 had one tea bag, and my wife's decaffeinated coffee was cold and the replacement was stewed.
The breakfast was buffet style (not the norm on our trip) with a reasonable selection on offer, but let down by DIY toasting (you had to wait and your food gets cold).
Really hotels should get rid of this toasting practice!
Finally, when dealing with customers at reception DO NOT LET THE PHONE INTERRUPT.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank keble6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

686 - 692 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2013

This is perhaps not the greatest hotel I've beenm,but it has lots of charm and excellent service.rooms are very spacious.Excellent price quality ratio.Breakfast is outstanding, with sense for detail and attention that is getting rare these days.Parking and wifi are free.the hotel has a swimming pool,something you would not expect

Room Tip: Go for an upgrade to a mini suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Although it has been 3-4 years since I last stayed in this hotel, it has lost none of it's charm and quality. The rooms are large and comfortable in a stylish retro decoration that shows care in their conception. Not retro because they have been left this way for economics! The restaurant is a gem too! Great country food at a high level. The slow roasted beef, carved at the table, is a reference for the type - excellent. However, the breakfast is also monumental and of really high quality items.
Then the most important part - the people. The staff at the Dunraven Arms are friendly and forthcoming; I didn't hear the words no or not once during my stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the landscape over the fields.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Had Sunday Lunch at the Dunraven Arms recently and was very disappointed, firstly on arriving in the Dining Room we were shown to our table by the Head Waiter who was in the process of carving in the middle of the Dining Room and he directed us to our table by pointing his carving knife to the table, not a very professional way of showing guests to their table. The waitress was very pleasant but her apron had numerous holes in it. The starter was pretty good, for Main Course we had beef which was served with mashed potatoes and pureed carrotts, no roast potatoes, yorkshire pudding and a second veg would have been nice, Desserts were fair. Our party felt lunch was overpriced and not good value for money. Unlikely to return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Having stayed in The Dunraven Arms Hotel Adare last November, we booked in under Bookings.com Not only did we get a brilliant deal but the Hotel is such a gem. We met with a group of friends and had a fabulous sit down get together with drinks in the bar. There we were served fabulous tasty nibbles--as much as we wanted!! Then, we enjoyed a superb dinner with local home produced food and perfect Vino!! The bedroom was cosy, large and welcoming.Next morning, we were treated a feast to our eyes and tummies!!!!A most spectacular buffet is a daily event --it was superb. Full marks to wonderful chef, owners, friendly helpful staff and all concerned. We can highly recommend this lovely Hotel in the beautiful village of Adare.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room overlooking the garden and we got that.It was just perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vera A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

My husband and I recently stayed in the Dunraven arms hotel in adare. We could not praise the hotel enough for there hospitality and kindness.when I requested a walk in shower for my husband who has a disability, they immediately contacted us and we were upgraded to a junior suite with proper shower facilities. Service of this kind is certainly not widely available anymore. Also, all the staff were most accommodating.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 414mariac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I have stayed in the Dunraven Arms several times and it never disappoints . I love the welcome, the fires lighting , the warmth and friendliness of the staff, the lovely old furniture, the snug little sitting-rooms, the very comfortable large bedrooms, especially those overlooking the garden, as well as the excellent food , and that very exceptional Pinio Grigio of course ! Hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerthaFitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adare
0.9 mi away
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
9.1 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,500 reviews
9.2 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
2,034 reviews
8.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
9.5 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunraven Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunraven Arms Hotel

Address: Dunraven Arms Hotel Main Street, Adare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Adare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Price Range: £112 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunraven Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Dunraven Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunraven Arms Adare
Hotel Dunraven Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing