We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice place to stay with lots of character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dunraven Arms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A very nice place to stay with lots of character”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Adare is a lovely village and there is much to see in the surrounds too. We chose Dunraven Arms because the price of Adare Manor was so high. We feel like we made the perfect choice. The hotel is across the street and you can walk up to the Manor and see the whole thing and the grounds. (you cannot, however, go inside!) Anyway - we loved our spacious room. The staff were extremely friendly - no matter who saw you in the hallway there was alway a pleasant "hello". The hotel has charm and character - its not brand new, but its very well kept and very clean, and very nicely decorated. The basic (executive) guest rooms are very large!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chandleronthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    281
    105
    47
    43
See reviews for
247
486
23
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

My husband and i attended a wedding at this hotel on Sat and it was lovely.The hotel itself is old but really well kept.It has beautiful gardens and a really cosy atmosphere.The wedding meal was really good and the staff were constantly making sure everyone had enough of everything.Im sure any couple getting married would love this hotel.It has a perfect location in the beautiful picturesque Adare with a fabulous park accross the road for pics if required.loved it!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agnesrussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Dunraven Arms Hotel was a lovely hotel I had the privilege to stay last July in Adare, the famous Irish town that I wanted so much to visit. Right from the start the receptionist upgraded me to a very beautiful room overlooking a garden. Their estate is simply marvelous, the gardens are so beautifully kept and it was a pleasure to see some of it from my bedroom. My room was very comfortable, very clean and quiet. The breakfast was a real delight (one of the three best breakfasts I had in Ireland). They had a swimming pool and it was wonderful to relax there one afternoon. I found all the staff very nice and polite. The price was great too, so even if I could return again I would prefere staying there than in a 5-star-hotel in Adare. I have very good memories of this hotel. Keep up with the good work! Remember always that people really make a difference in a hotel and not only the property in itself. The tourist office is right next door, which in my case was very helpful and I was able to visit Adare's Castle with the best guide of all Ireland, in my opinion, Mikie. I'll cherish these memories forever.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosanebroadway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Attended a wedding at this hotel at the week-end.. We were really looking forward to our one night stay.. Charming hotel and a tad shabby.. The views and the garden are lovely.. Our room was spacious,, but no tea/coffee making facilities , which is very unusual for an Irish Hotel (probably the hotel's idea of austeritiy)... The wedding itself was lovely, but the service for dinner was very slow and my table had to return our soup,, because it was cold.. The waiting staff were friendly, but most of them were students, so I think a little more training might help.... Breakfast next more was completely disappointing in fact very average... The Limerick Ham instead of Bacon on first glance looked wonderful, but the taste and fattiness was not great at 10am in the morning... Lastly.. checking in.. and checking out.. what a disaster.. The whole reception area needs a total rethink... charming indeed, old World indeed.. a little modernization would not go astray.. and the phone should not be answered when guests are checking in our out.. A total no no.. Ps.. We paid for our room via credit in advance ie January with the payment taken out immediately..

Room Tip: Rooms on the garden side are quieter....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 234liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Dun Raven Arms has gorgeous spacious rooms, a sumptious breakfast buffet, helpful and friendly staff, wi-fi in the rooms, manicured grounds, and free parking adjacent to the hotel.
We loved being in Adare, such a charming small town characterized by lots of thatched roofs.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 2dyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

We were charmed by the room and our welcome at reception. The view was gorgeous and the bathroom lovely - but no tea/coffee.
We didn't dine in, walking up the street to the Arches (excellent meal).
Our deal included breakfast which was very disappointing - not the normal friendliness you expect in Ireland. A pot of tea for 3 had one tea bag, and my wife's decaffeinated coffee was cold and the replacement was stewed.
The breakfast was buffet style (not the norm on our trip) with a reasonable selection on offer, but let down by DIY toasting (you had to wait and your food gets cold).
Really hotels should get rid of this toasting practice!
Finally, when dealing with customers at reception DO NOT LET THE PHONE INTERRUPT.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank keble6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dendermonde
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This is perhaps not the greatest hotel I've beenm,but it has lots of charm and excellent service.rooms are very spacious.Excellent price quality ratio.Breakfast is outstanding, with sense for detail and attention that is getting rare these days.Parking and wifi are free.the hotel has a swimming pool,something you would not expect

Room Tip: Go for an upgrade to a mini suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adare
0.9 mi away
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
15.9 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,331 reviews
8.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
9.9 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,948 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunraven Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunraven Arms Hotel

Property: Dunraven Arms Hotel
Address: Dunraven Arms Hotel Main Street, Adare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Adare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunraven Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Dunraven Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunraven Arms Adare
Hotel Dunraven Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing