We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive and disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunraven Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dunraven Arms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
231 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Expensive and disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed here for a wedding in august 2014 .Hotel is on the main street of Adare Co. Limerick and although the building is impressive .We found the staff surly with the exception of Meamb Who was serving tea to the arriving wedding party,nothing was too much trouble and she did things with a smile,. The other exception was Cathriona who was serving at dinner, My wife asked for a plain salad with just one or two lettuce leaves, tomatoe ,onion and if possible a hard boiled egg[This is a wedding dinner remember] What arrived and I jest not was a bowl of lettuce leaves nothing else. Having sent it back with a few chosen words as to how insulting she felt ,It arrived back with and again I do not jest, a single slice of tomatoe and about half a teaspoon on chopped onion on top of the sent back lettuce.At this point my wife was fuming and about to throw a wobbley when Cathriona took matters in hand and went into the kitchen and made a salad herself and apologized to my now enraged wife.
The rooms are well appointed but DO NOT HAVE TEA OR COFFEE making facilities in the rooms. Come on people you charge top rates supply the service.
All in all not a good experience here

Room Tip: If you want quiet get a room away from front as the main road passes the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalimantsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    582
    264
    97
    43
    42
See reviews for
227
454
22
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
147 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We were looking for a hotel near Limerick and the Dunraven fitted the bill. The Adare Manor is EUR 400 a night which is a bit steep so we booked the Dunraven on a special offer @ around EUR 100 per night.

The room is ok, nothing great and it feels like a conference hotel. The bed, linens, towels and bathroom are all acceptable - not luxurious but not bad either.

Breakfast was the high point. Go for the fish - we had grilled cod one day and hake the next - both were excellent. The selection for breakfast is limited but high quality. OJ was first rate - freshly squeezed.

There are lots of great pubs and restaurants a short walk into the village - well worth the stroll.

Overall, the Dunraven Arms was great value. It could have been better in parts but for the money we could not have asked for more and I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BertBantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

This was such a surprise. A beautiful village with old thatched roof houses. The dunraven arms has so much charm. The labyrinth through to our room was a treat every time we went to our room. The room was large with the most amazing bed. The staff are very warm and nothing was a problem. Breakfast was the best and they even had gluten free bread for my hot selection. Dinner at the bar was fantastic with a beautiful view out to the gardens. Recomend this for anyone wanting to stay in a beautiful village in ireland.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
271 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Adare is such a lovely little town, and the Dunraven Arms is located right in the centre of town. We parked in the car park and had to carry out luggage into the hotel ourselves, but were checked in by a very pleasant and efficient young lady. She arranged for someone to deliver our luggage to our room. The Jr Suite was a little disappointing in terms of furnishing. Very plain and stark, although the room was very large and spacious. I was expecting a cozier more intimate room. Our luggage was delivered by a surly waiter, who didn't seem to be to impressed at having to play bellman...never mind... but he was the only staff member who wasn't 100% . The bar staff were lovely and I wanted to take the tall young waiter home with me!!!!! he was a delight.

We decided not to dine in the hotel as we were only there for one night and wanted to explore the town. The receptionist gave us good advice on local pubs and restaurants, and she was spot on. The 1826 restaurant across the street was excellent.

The buffet breakfast was very nice if a bit crowded, but the food quality and helpful staff was excellent.

I would return to this hotel, but wouldn't pay the extra for the Jr Suite and would definitely ask for a hotel away from the bins which were emptied at about 0600.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paripatetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

My 12 yr old son and I traveled to Ireland to visit a well regarded stable, Clonshire, and stayed at the Dunraven with family. It was nothing short of amazing - beyond a wonderful experience at Clonshire. The town of Adare is quaint and easy to walk, the Dunraven is wonderfully comfortable…large rooms and especially good public spaces. But nothing mattered as much as the incredible dedication and professionalism of the Dunraven staff. The Murphy family makes everyone feel like family and are incredible hosts. We were there at the height of wedding season so the hotel was crazy busy, but they do an amazing job of accommodating both hotel guests and event guests wonderfully. I can't wait for our next visit. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KEP513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Very good hotel for an over night stay, parking not to close to the entrance, but adequate, old fashioned type hotel with stairs to negotiate with luggage. The room we had was excellent, restaurant excellent and staff very good. The bar had great atmosphere and ambience. We will stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for room in old part of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Park
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We arrived without reservations and inquired as to availability. We were greeted warmly and shown 2 rooms for our approval. We needed a single and a double and that's what we got. My single was quite spacious and looked out to the gardens. Double vanity and a lovely tub/shower.
Our breakfast the next morning was more than adequate, with friendly wait staff and many choices. I am sorry Travelling global was disappointed. The three of us were very pleased.

Room Tip: I was above the bar, but is was a Monday evening and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaye S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adare
0.9 mi away
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
9.1 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
10.0 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
9.5 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,312 reviews
8.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunraven Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunraven Arms Hotel

Property: Dunraven Arms Hotel
Address: Main St, Adare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Adare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunraven Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Dunraven Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunraven Arms Adare
Hotel Dunraven Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing