We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine stay for a family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 June 2012

My wife and I and our two young sons (one aged 2 and the other just 3 months) have just returned from a three night stay (booked through supervalu breaks) at this Hotel and we were very pleasantly surprised by our stay.
First of all on arrival we were two hours early but that was no problem to Jackie who was a very friendly and capable receptionist (you would get the impression with Jackie that nothing would be a problem for her). We were given a non smoking room with two beds (one large double) and a cot plus a DVD player with childrens dvd's were immediately dispatched to the room despite that fact that i had forgotten to request them in advance!
The room was very spacious and the beds were incredibly comfortable. Breakfast is varied, with healthy options (not for me on a break!) and a delicious fresh hot buffet! All the food was of a high quality and the breakfast room is a pleasure to dine in. The food (from bar food to restaurant) is very good and we ate here most days.
The leisure centre has a very user friendly swimming pool which we used daily and it was spotlessly clean. That theme of clenliness was evident throughout the Hotel. the staff couldnt have been more helpful. the only surprise is that this hotel is only a three star but that wont be for long im sure.
We will be back.
Oh, and forgot to mention that Adare is beautiful too!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,590)
There are newer reviews for Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,268 - 1,274 of 1,590 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a weekend and i have to say it was a great stay, the staff were very
friendly and welcoming. We had breakfast and dinner there and the food was excellent. The
room was lovely and very comfortable. Unfortunately we didnt get chance to try out the spa but
we will next time because we will definitely be back. Great hotel and great staff. Thanks for
a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antoinette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012 via mobile

Met up at 18.30 with about 40 others to try the new menu tasting.
On arrival we were greeted by Jason , mary & the bistro manageress, red , White wine or juice was offered.
We sampled 6 starters, gluten free options & vegetarian options incl.
We rated them out of 10, all scored higher than 8.
Mains were next , again a great choice of meat , fish & veg options, all scored highly I must say.
Onto desserts next ,again great choices but my fave have to be the seasonal berries on lemon curd with sweetened vanilla cream.
Well done to the woodlands team
Can't wait for this menu to be available in the bistro!!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dgosul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

My husband and I have been over in ireland from New York over the past 2 weeks and we had began to loose hope of finding a proper Irish Hotel with a proper famous "Irish Welcome". We have eaten in some excellent restaurants, been on some great sites but just hadnt found a warm welcoming Irish Hotel - BUT - this is it!

The Woodlands is my imagination of an Irish Hotel. Family run with a hands on family. Friendly staff, great athmosphere. Good food, nice rooms and the wow - their spa!

We stayed only for 1 night but will be back for many more. We had a choce between this hotel and adore manor but decided to go with this and we are delighted we did. From the moment we arrived, it was just a welcoming and warm experience. Like being in an old friends house. We stayed in a big, spaceous room that was comfortable and warm. We were served in the bar by one of the owners (an older gent) who was trully excellent and engaging. We dined in a real irsih style country kitched (the hotels bistro) which was great and again, lovely staff, couldnt do enough. The spa blew us away, not what we expected. An international standard spa with an amazing outdoor pool. We came to see adare itself as a famous irish village but we barley left the hotel because we felt so at home.

I could ramble for an hour about this lovely hotel but in summary!

- Lovely Hotel
- Great location
- Excellent staff (although missing a few irish accents)
- Brilliant spa
- Delcious food

Proper Irish Hotel - Thank you Fitzgeralds Woodlands, we will be back!

Room Tip: All seem to be good!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riggers879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

I worked her years ago and I have to say for what it does it does very well. Nice food, Nice accommodation, nice everything really, Staff are mostly very plesent and attentive and I have been to a good few weddings here over the years and I have to say that they have really inproved in their wedding planning, food etc. This hotel is about 3 miles outside the village of Adare, so it makes sense to stay here if your over for the golfing , Not really suitable for people who want to walk to town really as its got no footpath and its all main road, cyclists might like it here, anyways..yes this is a nice place to dine and stay, but for the ultimate experience stay at the adare Manor, but be warned thats a lot more expensive.... :-)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamisad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Our Golf Society recently stayed in the Fitzgerald Woodlands House Hotel.

There were 15 of us in total and we were all very happy with the hospitality and quality of service afforded to us.

The food was also excellent. . The facilities and in particular the bedrooms were very comfortable and exceeded our expectations. It was a thoroughly enjoyable experience, and we look forward to returning next year.

Many thanks for your help in securing reduced green fee’s for the Adare Manor Golf Club.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dpfgog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

I have to be cautious as I start, or you will all think I was paid to do this review! Well here we go it was stunning! We have used the Woodlands in the past for family functions over the last 20 years and always had a great time. As our family spans Ireland and the UK its important to find a venue that caters for all, this the woodlands achieves perfectly. As it was a special birthday we contacted Sinead who organised everything for us, we went through the menus and wine lists and found just what we wanted opting for the $30 euro menu. If you are considering saving $3-50 and not having a starter think again, it was magnificent and worth every cent thats before we got to the main course! as for the desert well this family know how to eat. I am not just talking about volume here, as someone who has been fortunate to travel and try out a few 'posh' restaurants the Woodlands left them for dead (yes I like my grub). lastly the service was everything you could ask for friendly, polite, a little rustic but definitey Irish. Go for it folks1

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adare
0.9 mi away
Dunraven Arms Hotel
8.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
9.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,587 reviews
8.7 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
9.4 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel

Address: Limerick Rd, Knockanes, Adare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Adare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Price Range: £79 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the edge of the beautifully, quaint village of Adare, Co. Limerick, the Fitzgeralds Woodlands House Hotel in Limerick, is owned and managed by the Fitzgerald Family. As a member of Irish Country Hotels, it is part of the first hotel group to be received Guaranteed Irish membership. The hotel features the Fáilte Ireland Award Winning, Revas Spa, one of the most popular Spa Hotels in Limerick, and a fully equipped gym and leisure centre.The hotel is ideal for leisure breaks in Ireland, convenient for conference meetings and not to mention a stunning venue for your wedding. Join us and let our family look after yours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Woodlands Hotel
Fitzgeralds Woodlands Adare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing