We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Limerick, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thank you”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Dinner for 50th wedding anniversary Thank you for a lovely evening The food was beautiful and we were looked after brilliantly by the staff and management alike the room was beautiful Everyone commented on the wonderful food Our every need was catered to. Thank you again

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    984
    316
    118
    57
    31
See reviews for
548
454
23
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We traveled with a large group of high school soccer players/parents and stayed for 3 nights. I wish we could have stayed longer. The level of service from the time we pulled up to the time we left was 1st Class. The owners and managers were present all of the time and willing to assist in all ways. They were very patient with our group and didn't look at us as the bother to them. The General Manager even came to one of our local matches in the area. While it is an older building and you may need to walk to get to your room, the hotel is very clean, the rooms were spacious and the beds were very comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to everyone going through the Adare area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdPuodziunas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meath
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We stayed at the Woodlands for a wedding and the Hotel accomadation was a huge disappointment. When I booked it I was told that there was no deal being made for the guests of the wedding despite their website stating they do. When we arrived our reservation had not been made so we were questioned for about 5-7 minutes being asked if I was sure of my name for the booking. It is the only name I have. Eventually, we were offered a choice of 2 rooms - a smoking room which we declined or their modern non-smoking apartment room - which sounded lovely and we accepted. I confirmed that we would not be charged for the change in room. We then had to carry our luggage up the stairs as there is no lift in the building. Our room was spacious but was decorated with broken furniture and a tv that had a smaller screen than my laptop. There was no mirrors except for the bathroom so for the ladies, doing your hair was a nightmare. There was a jacuzi bath in the bathroom but the jets were caked in so much dirt and grime that I would be nervous of catching something if I had a bath. There was no airconditioning and the room was above the laundry room with only a skylight in the ceiling so the heat was unbareable but with the hotel booked out for the function we had no choice but to accept the one room we were offered. We tried to order room service of a sandwich for lunch but because we did not have a credit card and only use lazer, we were refused unless we paid cash at the door. We were planning on charging to our room as you do in every other hotel I have every stayed in but that is not the case here despite giving our lazer card details at checkin & being told that that was sufficient to cover charges to the room.The staff at the breakfast room seemed to be in conflict with eachother and the one of the male staff in particular was a little rude. The wedding we attended was excellent and the food could not be faulted it is a pity that the accomadation let the place down. I did raise our disappointment upon checking out and we were given a reduced rate for our stay and a complimentary upgrade for our next stay - but I cannot see myself ever going back there.

Room Tip: Choose a ground floor room as these seemed to be a bit cooler than the upper floors. Also this means...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolKingMeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JSleator, Director of Sales at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Thanks for taking the time to leave your review, while it was great to hear you enjoyed attending the wedding and found the food to be of high quality, we were disappointed to hear some of your perceptions of other parts of the hotel, I would like to address some of them.

All weddings at the Woodlands get preferential and guaranteed rates, and a minimum availability guarantee of 20 rooms for the wedding, this is negotiated with the Bride & Groom at the time of booking their wedding. If the bride & groom decide to share these rates with their guests, which is generally what happens, its on a first come first served basis.

Its not clear from your review if your reservation was not in our system at all, which is something I can honestly say never happens, or if it took us a little while to find the booking based on the information given on check in. To clarify our policy in this area further, reservations made over the phone are made in real time and confirmation emailed or posted the same day. Reservations made over the internet, also come into our reservations department in real time and our standard operating procedure is to make the reservation and send confirmation on the same day. Quite often reservations are made by people for other people, so this is why you would have been asked about the actual name on the reservation.

We do not have a lift in the hotel as the building is only one story, but we do offer complimentary porterage on check in.

Our hotel is graded and strictly audited annually to meet criteria, and upon this we receive our star rating. Part of this audit includes the quality of the furniture in the bedrooms, and there are guidelines set out, which we meet, we are currently graded under Failte Irelands TAMS star rating system. I’m not sure which room you were in, but we are undergoing a refurbishment schedule at the moment, its possible you were in one of our rooms at the end of the schedule. Whilst everyone has different opinions and perceptions on things, I would like to assure other readers that we do not provide what we consider to be broken furniture in our bedrooms.

Regarding room charges, our hotel policy is to accept room charges, i.e. room service, on credit card guaranteed bookings only, we do not offer this facility on debit card bookings. Every hotel has different policies in relation to this, our policy is one that is commonly found in other hotels. This is explained on check in to guests who decide to use debit cards. The option of leaving a cash deposit is offered if guests using laser cards intend paying for services by room charge during their stay.

I have brought to the attention of the Bistro Manager your observation in relation to communication between members of staff for review.

I hope this information goes positively to some extend, towards your perception in the matters you raise, we genuinely care about our customers, and welcome all feedback. As a family run hotel, we have been here for nearly 30 years, and have many customers coming to us for as long.

Thanks Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Recently atteneded a wedding at this hotel.I'll try keep this review short and sweet so will break it into sections..
Reception staff were friendly quick and efficient, this also goes for Bar staff and waiting staff in general. Management were fantastic and helped the bride & groom throughout the day.

Rooms: Our room was small with what seemed to be a standard sized double bed. Bathroom was spacious and clean with plenty towels provided for our one night stay. Bed was soft and comfortable with clean white linen. Only problem with the room was the room door & key (standard keys not card keys here!)..it was difficult to open at times-there certainally was a knack to opening the door when locked...it would have been helpful if we had been given this tip when checking in.

Wedding Meal,...certainally the most disappointing meal i've had in a long time.

Vol au Vent to start with seemed like packet chicken soup with a token piece or two of chicken with an odd mushroom piece floating around. Salad afterwards was ok- lettuce, a quarter of tomato, a stray piece of diced pepper and cucumber in there somewhere too...with honey & mustard dressing of the 'out of a bottle' variety.

I had turkey as my main course, very dried out no juice in this piece of meat, it was served with Roast Potato, mash, cheesy cauliflower, mixed veg & potato gratin were all silver serviced. Portion sizes were HUGE, veg were on the wrong side of al dente, potatos were ok.

Within minutes of receiving our meal extra meat & veg were offered, which I'm sure some people appreciated..i felt a bit bombared and just wanted to get on with eating the masses of bog standard food served to me.

Dessert was amazing, homemade cheesecase was to die for...outstanding. Its a pity the rest of the meal wasn't prepared to such a hig standard.

Overall if its masses of standard food that you are looking for then this is the place for you. This type of meal/food does not impress me.

Generally everything else was lovely, shortbread biscuits at the drinks reception were lovely and crumbly and gave a great first impression of what was to come...but then i was disappointed with the meal in general.

Service as i said was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JSleator, Director of Sales at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Thanks for your four star review and positive feedback. However we were particularly disappointed with your comments in relation to the standard of our wedding dishes served.

We will host well in excess of 100 weddings this year which undoubtedly makes us the Regions most popular wedding venue. We have been hosting weddings in the area for nearly 30 years now.

We understand that food can be a matter of personal opinion. I would like to point out that the Bride and groom sent two emails congratulating us on a wonderful wedding and how they got excellent feedback from their guests.

In relation to your observations on some of the dishes you had on the day, our Chicken & Mushroom Vol au vent is out top selling starter. Whilst it is a traditional a traditional dish, for weddings in general, over 70% of guests chose it. Our homemade secret recipe and the manner in which we prepare this dish is often mentioned in wedding consultations as being one of our signature dishes, and is held in very high regard by many of our wedding couples.

Our salads are tossed freshly during service, and served with a honey and mustard vinaigrette which is home made by our chefs. The salad consists of a selection of salad leaves, tomatoes, cucumber, peppers, and red onions.

We pride ourselves on offering extras for main course. Whilst this may not be what everyone wants, many hotels do not offer seconds, or will charge the Bride and Groom for this. It is something we are positively noted for.

Its great to receive your compliments on our cheesecake. Our catering facility has a designated pastry kitchen with four employees. All desserts and pastries are made in house by this team.

Once again thanks for your feedback.

Regards Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skibbereen
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2012

When playing an important golf competition for Skibbereen Golf Club at Limerick Golf Club we booked the previous night in the Woodlands as it was convenient to the course yet quiet enough so that the team could get a good nights sleep. We were not disappointed - the rooms were large and comfortable with quality linen tea/coffee and cookies etc. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay the night after the competition to utilise the jacuzzi baths to soothe away the tension of the matches. Lovely breakfast, great staff - they even managed to get us some honey to ensure a good nights sleep for a team member with a persistent cough.
We are all looking forward to returning in September for the regional final of the competition.

Room Tip: Didn't have time to use the spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NualaSkibbereen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I stayed at this hotel again for a family wedding. The staff could not do enough, the food was excellent and we the large executive room topped off our stay. The facilities are fantastic as we enjoyed the pool etc and our group enjoyed a number of beauty treatments. My youngest son also used the children's club and didn't want to leave. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnc3720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel as part of a high school soccer group trip from the US (60 people). The service was top notch! The proprietor (Mary) and general manager (David) were constantly checking on their guests and personally assisted in providing great service! The facilities are beautiful and comfortable. The food was sumptuous and plentiful. We are planning a return trip to Ireland and we will absolutely stay here again!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adare
0.9 mi away
Dunraven Arms Hotel
8.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
9.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
16.3 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,288 reviews
9.4 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel

Property: Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
Address: Limerick Rd, Knockanes, Adare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Adare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the edge of the beautifully, quaint village of Adare, Co. Limerick, the Fitzgeralds Woodlands House Hotel in Limerick, is owned and managed by the Fitzgerald Family. As a member of Irish Country Hotels, it is part of the first hotel group to be received Guaranteed Irish membership. The hotel features the Fáilte Ireland Award Winning, Revas Spa, one of the most popular Spa Hotels in Limerick, and a fully equipped gym and leisure centre.The hotel is ideal for leisure breaks in Ireland, convenient for conference meetings and not to mention a stunning venue for your wedding. Join us and let our family look after yours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Woodlands Hotel
Fitzgeralds Woodlands Adare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing