We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“country hotel very good...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
dublin ireland
Level Contributor
178 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“country hotel very good...”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

lovely distance from limerick city....one minute to adare village.....country setting...good car park....lovely reception area....bar area beautiful....breaky area lovely.....concert area beautiful.....walk to my room not good....long long walk....poor stairs.....need a lift now....no air in long walk.....some doors in bad need of some varnish due to sun damage....room nice and big...bathroom similar....bit dated...some bright colours would be nice....modern telly would be nice....but good value.....super new spa to rear of hotel....with tarmac on car park...maybe front will be next....love my trees and plants...could do with a reduction at front door reception area,,,,let the dog see the hare comes to mind....small quibble....but i would do it..... too many plants and high trees near entrance area..........................

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomhannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    928
    291
    102
    53
    31
See reviews for
505
423
17
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for 2 nights recently and in general had a good experience. Quality of hotel information sent by email was good (though one of the automatic emails I received incorrectly stated I had booked a one night stay).

Anna who checked us in was excellent, and very helpful during our time there, as was all the staff we encountered.

Our superior room & bathroom were a bit disappointing - while spacious, functional and clean, it felt a bit old and in need of some updating. Trying to get into the room was a challenge with a cumbersome lock.

The pool was absolutely fine, and had a lovely hot stone massage in the spa. The spa facilities were great, we booked an hour in the thermal suite with its outdoor jacuzzi and sun beds which was lovely. Staff once again were excellent.

No complaints about the food or the bar. There was a wedding on the Friday night we stayed but our room was well away from the celebrations.

Whoever looks after the shrubs and flowerbeds deserves a mention - really well maintained and good first impression!

In general a lovely stay and we would return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank springle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWoodlands, Owner at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Hello,

Thank you so much for posting your review on trip advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with your boyfriend and that our staff were helpful to you.

We are particularly pleased that you enjoyed our leisure club and Revas Spa as well as your experiences in our bar and restaurants. Thanks also for mentioning our gardens. We put a lot of investment into our gardens and when we receive comments like yours, it is very worthwhile.

You may have observed during your stay with us that we are currently undergoing a discreet refurbishment of our bedrooms area so hopefully on your next visit, you will have the opportunity to experience our new decor.

Please let me know when you are planning to stay again so that I can endeavour to say thank you for your feedback and provide an upgraded room with our compliments.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Thanking you again for your business and for your feedback as this has been the bedrock of our success over the last 30 years.

Kind Regards
Elaina Fitzgerald and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We recently had our wedding in The Woodlands Hotel. I cannot speak highly enough of the team in the Woodlands. They truly made our day memorable. Our guests, most of whom stayed in the hotel, were blown away with the quality of food served and accommodation provided. Our guests are still talking about the food, almost 3 weeks later. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning a wedding or just for a break. It is a fantastic hotel, run by professionals with a very homely atmosphere. Thanks to the Fitzgeralds and staff at The Woodlands Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We brought our 2.5 year old son here for a weekend break and we had a fantastic time. It is a really family friendly hotel. The staff are all so nice and everyone working at the hotel was so friendly and attentive. Our son loved the little farm and was fascinated with the animals. The room was a lovely size, if a little bit warm but nothing keeping the window open couldn't solve. Great swimming pool, really big and great for kids. We ate in Timmy Macs on Friday night, the food was lovely and again great for kids, we stayed until 9pm with our son and the staff were really lovely. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LL1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Wonderful spa, staff, rooms and food - what more do you need. We were looked after from the start of our stay till the day we left. I can't recommend this hotel enough you won't be disappointed - well done to David and all his staff perfect

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElainaFitzgeraldKane, Owner at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Hello,

Thanks so much for posting such a kind review of our hotel. We really value our guests feedback. This has been critical
To our continuous development and success over the last 30 years.

Thanks also for highlighting our staff, spa, rooms and food as being wonderful. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience in our hotel from start to finish.

Many thanks for recommending our hotel and services. There is no greater compliment than that!

Hope to see you soon.
Kind Regards

David Fitzgerald and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

My hubby and I returned here this weekend to celebrate the anniversary of our wedding. We were delighted to return and experience the new Fieldings Restaurant. We both really enjoyed the entrire experience. We booked a suite and were in 501, a beautiful suite with a circular leather bed which was huge and oh so comfy. Our room was decorated with balloons, rose petals, chocolate dipped strawberries and sparkling wine, and rose petals scattered on the bedlinen. It was beautiful. We had booked dinner in fieldings, and we were so both amazed and impressed with the food and the gentle, unobtrusive service of our waiter, Ryann. He had the perfect combination of helpful, without hovering, which given the quiet time on the Thursday evening, his service could have gone so wrong so easily, its a fine line to walk for waiting staff, and this young gent walked the line with pazazz and utmost professionalism! The food was amazing, i enjoyed the venision with chocolate dressing while my OH had the Crab Mousse with smoked salmon, both of which were out of this world. We both had the stuffed wrapped chicken main which was super tasty with the perfect portioned size of accompanying potatoes and gently cooked asparagus Dessert was pannacotta for me, and chocolate truffle cake for himsef, served with locally produced ice cream. All together this meal was one of the best We have enjoyed together and I would certainly say one of my top 3 since our wedding meal. The cutlery, tableware and decor of the room are so different from Timmy Macs Bistro, and a really elegant experience to make a nice change of pace while staying at this super hotel. Our many thanks to everyone who took such great care of us on the short break and look forward to seeing David, Anna, Ryan and all the gang again soon, from The Doherty's.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank blondepc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElainaFitzgeraldKane, Owner at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Hello,

Many thanks for taking time out to write a wonderful review of our hotel services and staff. Congratulations on your anniversary and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us.

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience in 'Fielding's of Adare', our newly launched fine dining restaurant.

We will be sure to bring this lovely review to Ryans attention and he will be delighted with it. Many thanks for speaking so highly of all our staff, we are very proud of them all.

We look forward to seeing you again and looking after you

Many thanks
Elaina Fitzgerald and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adare
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We held our sons recent birthday party at The Woodlands. All I can say he had the best party yet. The care and attention to detail by the staff and overall 3 hour activities were fantastic. All 17 of his friends enjoyed the day immensely and I can highly recommend . Thank you again

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wild g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElainaFitzgeraldKane, Owner at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Hello,

Thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled that your son thought it was the best party ever. Our leisure and kids club team are dedicated to providing fun activities and every year we add new interesting things to the programme. This year kids will have the opportunity to learn how to make homemade brown bread so you could be having breakfast in bed next!!

Thanks again. Your positive feedback is really appreciated by our team.

Kind Regards
Woodies Fun Club and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adare
0.9 mi away
Dunraven Arms Hotel
9.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
16.3 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
8.7 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
9.4 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel

Property: Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
Address: Limerick Rd, Knockanes, Adare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Adare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the edge of the beautifully, quaint village of Adare, Co. Limerick, the Fitzgeralds Woodlands House Hotel in Limerick, is owned and managed by the Fitzgerald Family. As a member of Irish Country Hotels, it is part of the first hotel group to be received Guaranteed Irish membership. The hotel features the Fáilte Ireland Award Winning, Revas Spa, one of the most popular Spa Hotels in Limerick, and a fully equipped gym and leisure centre.The hotel is ideal for leisure breaks in Ireland, convenient for conference meetings and not to mention a stunning venue for your wedding. Join us and let our family look after yours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Woodlands Hotel
Fitzgeralds Woodlands Adare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing