We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family run hotel in a lovely setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
chicago
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice family run hotel in a lovely setting”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This was my family's second stay here. It is a nice large hotel with a friendly staff. The food is delicious at Timmy Mac's and offers a nice traditional Irish breakfast. The lobby is formal and pretty. We didn't get a chance to use the pool but it looked nice and the workout facilities were great. There is a little area on the side of the parking lot with a variety of small farm animals. Our children spent a lot of time here looking at the bunnies, chickens, and most of all the darling white goat named Martin! This added a specialness to the trip that our kids will always remember. Our room was a larger "family room" and it really lacked charm and character. We didn't even have a picture on the wall! Sounds silly but it was so dull. Needs some sprucing.The bathroom needed updating and had black mold in the shower and around the sink faucet. The carpet needed cleaning. Overall, I would stay at The Woodlands again but would hope to see a little improvement in the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittyc117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWoodlands, Owner at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Hello,



Thank you for posting your review of our hotel. Our guests' feedback has been the bedrock of our success over the last 30 years. We are particularly delighted to host your second visit to our hotel. We appreciate your loyalty.



We delighted you enjoyed our food in Timmy Mac's Bistro as part of our breakfast experience. Thank you also for commenting on our lobby as it is just newly renovated.




We are sorry to hear you did not get a chance to use our pool or gym. A wonderful experience awaits you in this regard on your next visit as we have added a separate weights area to the gym in more recent times.




Our pet farm is a great facility for young children as they love the animals. I hope that your children got to experience feeding time as part of our Woody's Kids Club. We are delighted to have shared in creating this unique and wonderful memory for your children.







Whilst we were glad that you remarked the spaciousness of our rooms, we are disappointed to learn that you considered your room to lack character and appeared dull. We are currently undergoing refurbishments in our bedroom areas so hopefully on your next visit you will enjoy a more comfortable and interesting bedroom surroundings. The comments that you have made regarding the mould are very serious and this is something that we are investigating as certainly this is not our standard.



We hope to see you again. Please let us know when you are planning a return visit and we will ensure that you get the opportunity to stay in one of our refurbished rooms.



Thanks again for your repeat stay and for your feedback.



Elaina Fitzgerald and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    951
    301
    108
    53
    31
See reviews for
525
433
18
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I recently stayed at the Woodlands Hotel with my family for 5 nights and had a wonderful time, yet again. This was my second trip to the Woodlands and they never disappoint. From the moment you check-in, to the moment you check-out, the staff could not be more accommodating. Our room was even ready early when we checked-in at 8am!
The staff is wonderful, the food is great and the property is beautiful. Great pool & gym, as well as a beautiful spa located right on the property for the guests to enjoy. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcdermottk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWoodlands, Owner at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Hello,



Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review of our hotel. We would also like to say a very big thank you for your loyalty and returning to our hotel for another holiday this year.

We are delighted to learn of your experiences with our friendly staff and that your holiday ran smoothly. We are very fortunate to have everything on site and are very pleased to hear you had such a good experience whilst staying in our hotel in our restaurants, pool, gym and spa.
We look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel. Please let us know when you are planning a return visit and we will endeavour to provide you with a room upgrade with our compliments.
Looking forward to your next visit.
Thanks again,

Elaina Fitzgerald and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Bridge, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My friends and I stayed at the Woodlands House Hotel for 5 days in July. This hotel is a hidden gem in Adare! The service by all of the hotel staff was exceptional. They really make you feel like you are a guest in their home, rather than just a hotel customer. Even though this hotel is in a great central location for many tourist activities, the hotel ground are so beautiful I spent part of the day sitting in the garden reading a book. It is so relaxing! The breakfast every morning in Timmy Mac's was delicious! I could not enough of the Chicken and Mushroom Vol au Vent for lunch and dinner there! I had it as an appetizer one day and then a meal portion the next day with chips. I highly recommend it. I never tasted anything there that wasn't delicious! Another highlight of this hotel is their spa! The massages are wonderful and the outdoor hot tub is just perfect. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWoodlands, Owner at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our hotel in Adare. We really appreciate our guests' feedback.

As our hotel is a family run business, we try our best to make each guest feel like they are at home and we are delighted to hear that was what you experienced. Thank you also for complimenting our friendly staff.

We would also like to thank you for complimenting the grounds of our hotel. We celebrate 30 years in business this year so over time our gardens have matured superbly and yes under the sunlight, there is no greater place to unwind with a book!

We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed the food in Timmy Macs Bistro. Our chicken and mushroom vol au vent is definitely one of our more popular choices and is very tasty. Thanks also for your words of appreciation for our breakfast service.

Our Revas Spa is a fabulous extension to our hotel and we are glad you enjoyed your visit there.

We would like to thank you for recommending our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you again. Please let us know when you are planning your next visit and we will endeavour to provide you with a room upgrade with our compliments.

Many thanks

Elaina Fitzgerald and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I think the service level is what really moved this hotel into excellent range for me. The property is older and the hallways could stand a little freshening up but the rooms were very pleasant, comfortable and clean as was the lobby & Timmy Macs Bistro. The food was excellent in the Bistro & reasonably priced. The thing that impressed me the most is that the receptionists were so helpful and the owner was always around and eager to talk with guests. It was also nice that since we were not part of the wedding party that was there that the staff made sure our rooms were far enough away from the wedding guests. Adare is a nice little town that was part of a tour of small villages, so we liked that is was close enough to the places we wanted to go but a bit off the beaten path

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OccaisionalTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWoodlands, Owner at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Many thanks for posting such a very kind review of our hotel. Our guests feedback has been the bedrock of our success over the last 30 years. We are particularly delighted to learn that you would have liked to have stayed longer. There is no greater compliment.

Thanks also for your compliments regarding the spaciousness and decor of our suites.

We are also very pleased to hear you enjoyed our food in Timmy Macs Bistro.

Our staff are a major asset to our business and we are delighted to hear you received friendly and helpful service from all of our staff that you encountered during your stay with us.

We agree completely that Adare is well worth a visit as there is something for everybody here.Adare is also a great base for exploring Killarney, Cork, Galway, the Cliffs of Moher and Bunratty amongst other places of interest.

We hope to see you and your family again. Please let us know when you are planning your next visit and we endeavour to provide you and your family with a room upgrade with our compliments.

Looking forward to your next visit. We appreciate your business.
Many thanks

Elaina Fitzgerald and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My family stayed here for 3 nights- and definitely could have stayed longer. Our suite was huge and had an attached twin room for my daughters.

The staff went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect. When the launderette was closed in Adare and we needed a few pair of jeans washed, they did them in the hotel laundry, complimentary. When my daughter mentioned to a staff member that she was sure faeries lived on property, we returned to find a note and faerie dust scatted across the twin room.

We took advantage of the Kids Club - the girls did the kids gym session while I pampered myself with a pedicure in the Revas Spa.

Breakfast was included in our stay and the buffet was terrific. I really loved that there were choices in eggs (not just scrambled) and everything was kept fresh.

We enjoyed dinner in Timmy Mac's Bistro on property one night. It was an unforgettable meal which included Black Pudding wrapped in Crispy Bacon and Chicken Breast stuffed with Black Pudding (I do like black pudding)...

Not a budget stay, but definitely recommended for families looking for a hotel to remember.

Room Tip: All rooms are large, but if money allows choose an Executive Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishgrl_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWoodlands, Owner at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Hello,

Thank you very much for posting such a heartfelt review of our hotel. We are delighted to learn that you and your daughters had an enjoyable and memorable stay at our hotel and that you would recommend our hotel to other families.

We are particularly delighted that the little things that our team do went beyond your expectations whether it was the fairies visiting or with our reception team members facilitating the laundering of your clothes.

Thanks also for your kind compliments on our breakfast experience. We have changed some aspects of this in recent times so we are glad to observe that it is being well received.

Thanks also for your positive review of Timmy Mac's Bistro. Our pudding is sourced from a local family named the Brouders and it is a firm favourite throughout our hotel.

We are equally delighted your girls enjoyed our free Woodies kids club and the kids gym. We hope you were equally relaxed in our Revas Spa.

Thanks again for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you and your family in the near future. Please let us know when you are planning your next visit and we will endeavour to provide you with a room upgrade with our compliments.

Thanking you again for your review and for your visit. It is appreciated.
Kind regards

Elaina Fitzgerald and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

When at a pub in Galway we told someone we were staying in Adare and they remarked, "God's waiting room???" Enough said. We were definitely the youngest folks at the hotel, next to the staff. (We're in our late thirties...) If I was with my parents, I'd stay here. With my partner? No. We checked out early and headed to Galway.

Otherwise, the grounds are lovely. The staff was wonderful, just not our idea of a vacation spot. Rooms are a bit old- they're in the process of remodeling.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristaaah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWoodlands, Owner at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Hello,

Many thanks for your review. We appreciate that you commented very favourably on our wonderful staff and the grounds of the hotel. We also appreciate that you remarked our ongoing refurbishment of our bedroom areas.

We are disappointed that despite all these positives, you only rated our hotel with three stars even though clearly your issue is not with our hotel but the larger hinterland of Adare.

We are genuinely sorry that you do not appreciate what we consider to be our vibrant village of Adare. As natives, we feel spoiled with the abundance of shops and activities in our area as well as its great heart. As a village that enjoys many repeat visitors and particularly families, we hope that in time you may have a more favourable opinion of the village that we are proud to call our home.

Thanking you for your feedback. If in time, you consider staying in Adare again, please let us know and we will endeavour to provide you with a better experience of our village.

Kind Regards

Elaina Fitzgerald Kane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
241 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My wife and I stayed overnight in the WoodlandsHotel.
We dined in the Fieldings Restaurant. We enjoyed the food..............Venison and Salad for starters. For main courses we had Aengus Steak and Hake.
The dessert of Lime Cheesecake was nice, but we did not think it was prober cheesecake.
Coffee finished off a lovely meal.
We used the very long swimming pool and found it great.
I would recommend the Woodlands to anyone looking for comfort and good service.

Room Tip: Bring your own towel with you when visiting the swimming poool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noelglee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWoodlands, Owner at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Hello,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. Our guests' feedback is important to us. We are delighted to learn that you had a great stay with us in our hotel.

We are also very pleased that you experienced our new fine dining restaurant ‘Fieldings of Adare. Just to mention that we make all items from scratch in our pastry kitchen for dessert so we are surprised to learn that you did not consider it to be 'Proper'.

We also appreciate your comments on our award winning Leisure club which really is a superb facility.

Above all, we would like to thank you for recommending us. Please let us know when you are planning your next visit and we will endeavour to provide an upgraded bedroom with our compliments.

Thanking you for staying with us and for your most favourable review.

Elaina Fitzgerald and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adare
0.9 mi away
Dunraven Arms Hotel
9.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,909 reviews
8.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
9.4 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,396 reviews
16.3 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel

Property: Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
Address: Limerick Rd, Knockanes, Adare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Adare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the edge of the beautifully, quaint village of Adare, Co. Limerick, the Fitzgeralds Woodlands House Hotel in Limerick, is owned and managed by the Fitzgerald Family. As a member of Irish Country Hotels, it is part of the first hotel group to be received Guaranteed Irish membership. The hotel features the Fáilte Ireland Award Winning, Revas Spa, one of the most popular Spa Hotels in Limerick, and a fully equipped gym and leisure centre.The hotel is ideal for leisure breaks in Ireland, convenient for conference meetings and not to mention a stunning venue for your wedding. Join us and let our family look after yours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Woodlands Hotel
Fitzgeralds Woodlands Adare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing